Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,154
    I'm only having issues because I have installed and uninstalled literally hundreds of programs over the last four years and as a result there are some issues with Windows. On my other computers, I've had no issues (and upgrades always install with no errors), aside from two minor issues on my main computer.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    anon,

    Thank you, thank you, oh thank you, thank you! Man, I wish I'd had those reg keys ages ago. On a clean install of 1903 Edge no longer bugs me. Even opening and closing Edge in 1809 I'm not seeing Edge re-opening and running in the background now. Very nice, and did I say thank you?!
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Found that blighter too!

    Settings > Devices > Hardware keyboard > Show text suggestions as I type = do not enable. Duh!
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,812
    August 14, 2018 =
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...m-automatically-starting.406358/#post-2775004
    :p
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,772
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    That is the point of clean installing, be sure that no junk are left to hamper the installation.
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,346
    yeah, and a very good point. :thumb:
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    GGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have just spent the last 4 hours installing and configuring Windows 10 1903, just restarted and I'm back at the bloody spinning dots. [bunch of swear words] Windows!
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,154
    I had the same on one computer. At least it only took about two or three minutes to rollback to the previous build, which I will leave installed for now.
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Macrium Reflect is restoring an image, but that doesn't give me back my four hours. :mad:
     
  11. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    THANK YOU.
    Now, you understand my problem about that "spinning dots"/"turning wheel".
    That's the precisely my problem!
    (At least, now I know - I'm not alone. :argh:)

    Now, we are talking.
    Congratulations - you have joined my ever-increasing team of "spinning dots".
    An update about my 1903 update.


    While I was messing up with the "hard shutdown" (unplug the power chord, plug it back, push the start button), I've got a different problem.
    Now, when I push the start button on my Dell Optiflex 9010, the start button flashes a white light for 1 sec., then, switches to pulsating YELLOW light. The fan is working but nothing else starts.
    What's more.
    Currently, as soon as I plug the power chord in, the pulsating yellow light comes automatically - I don't even need to push the start button.

    One problem led to another.:'(
     
  12. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,772
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Clean install... Clean install... :isay:
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That WAS a clean install. Why else would you think I wasted 4 hours on this machine??
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes, I ran into this from my first upgrade mentioned a few pages back.

    Edit: My fun and games started @ #4708, enjoy! :ouch:
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,812

    :isay: :isay::isay::isay::isay::isay::isay::isay::isay::isay::isay:
     
  16. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,772
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    dual-boot machine?
     
  17. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    905
    How did you do your clean install? I know neither refreshing or updating directly from the media creation tool manage to fix the issue.

    Had to do a clean install from the advanced boot option screen.
     
  18. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    73,162
    Location:
    Texas
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    We have pretty good forum admin and mods here anon. I don't think they need your help.

    Thanks.
    Nope.
    I booted to a USB flash drive made using the Media Creation Tool.
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,182
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Krusty,

    So the clean install was fine but it failed to boot about 4 hours later. Is that correct?
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,547
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I recollect that happening to me on a couple of earlier Win 10 Feature Upgrades. What I did in those instances was power down the PC. I believe this could not be done via the case power switch; I had to turn off the surge protector power. Waited a minute or so. Then power up everything and it eventually booted into Win 10 with no boot problems thereafter.

    You can also try to disable virtualization in the BIOS prior to the install. If there are no issues booting after the install, you can then re-enable virtualization in the BIOS.
     
  22. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,772
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Yes sometimes I reboot stop the loop issue.
     
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,444
    Location:
    Canada
    we had a Dell desktop at work with the same symptoms and it turned out to be a faulty PSU. Some googling just now reveals others have had same problem. It's only speculation, of course, but it seems to be a common theme with others.
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,504
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I had the impression everyone so far has upgraded via Upgrade Assistant or MCT ...

    But just got offered option :thumb: to download and install v1903 via WU Check for Updates. TP Yoga i7-4510U, Win 10 Pro v1809.

    Anyone else?

    Will image and give it a go even though some are having problems.

    Edit: Well it took 5 hours, but no issues. Just had to reconnect wi-fi, and restart to install additional updates.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 30, 2019
  25. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,154
    It is being offered to some people via Windows Update.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.