How do I Stop Edge from Automatically Starting?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Krusty, Jul 21, 2018.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    On the machines which upgraded Win10 1803 over 1709 I had this problem while Edge was the default browser. I resolved that by making Chrome the default browser and Edge no longer automatically starts. But on this machine with a clean install of 1803 even after changing my default browser to Chrome Edge is still automatically starting after Windows loads.

    Edge Starting with Windows.PNG

    Note that Edge does not actually open, it just runs in the background. I noticed this because when I run CCleaner Edge is skipped.

    I've just noticed that there are hardly any apps listed in Settings > Privacy > Background Apps. Three only, and Edge is not one of those three.
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    .
    see discussion starting here and for example #42, #46
    https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/7225-turn-off-background-apps-windows-10-a-5.html
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks Mate! That seems to have done the trick. I had to go through and reset each Store app before it would show in Background Apps. Now I can disable each individually.

    Much appreciated. :thumb:
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, that didn't last long. All background apps have disappeared and Edge is starting on its own again. :mad:
     
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...licy-csp-browser#browser-preventtabpreloading
    Code:
    rem Prevent Microsoft Edge from starting and loading the Start and New Tab page at Windows startup and each time Microsoft Edge is closed
    reg add "HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\TabPreloader" /v "PreventTabPreloading" /t REG_DWORD /d "1" /f
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\TabPreloader" /v "PreventTabPreloading" /t REG_DWORD /d "1" /f
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    .
    any progress?
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, I restored an old backup to 1709 which eventually upgraded to 1803. Edge is not running in the background now.

    The annoying thing was with the clean install of 1803 even if I disabled all background apps from the slider at the top they would re-enable themselves.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,910
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  10. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hope this will work for all instances. I have my doubts though.

    I log in as an limited admin so don't have the issue of Edge preloading at startup. However, it does startup and remains in suspended mode on Win 10 1803 when the first Win Store update occurs. Checking this out, all postings indicate this is by design.
     
  11. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Does anyone know of a way to terminate Win Store connections after an update? Win Store also remains in a suspended state with all connections allocated in a Close-Wait state.
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Confirmed that the Edge registry hacks do not prevent it from starting and then running in suspended mode after a Win Store update.

    MS is hellbent on making Win 10 as miserable as possible when it comes to using their apps and the hidden telemetry contained within.
     
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I have been doing some additional testing and research into this weird Win Store and Edge behavior. In my case, it all started after I was forced to perform a Win 10 1803 reset due to unresolvable boot issue on my previous 1803 build which had originally been upgraded from Win 7.

    I found multiple web postings in regards to Immersive Control Panel issues that can surface after a Win 10 reset install. None of my issues have been a severe at those given in the postings I have found. However, I believe it is a factor of what I have been encountering:

    1. Win Store app running in constant suspended mode. Also ports used in last update activity shown in closed-wait state but never deallocating.
    2. MS Edge starting and running constantly in suspended mode. At first I though this was due to Win Store updating. Disabled all background app updating and MS Edge still tries to start up on its own. So obviously something else is triggering this startup activity.

    I consider no. 2 activity to be a security risk and now am blocking any MS Edge execution via an Eset HIPS rule I created.
     
  14. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
  15. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    That could be the problem. I created the new key in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\Main. Will try creating it in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge per the Microsoft article and see if that stops the behavior.
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Now if I could figure out what is causing the multiple stackhash errors in lower appcontainer access Win event log I get every time I open Edge? Read that could be caused that nVidia graphics drivers. Strange in that I am using the Win install Microsoft provided nVidia driver.
     
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    That did the trick.:thumb:
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi @itman ,

    After my machines upgraded to 1803 with Edge as default browser it would run in the background until I opened it, then it would close and stop running. After changing my default browser to Chrome that stopped.

    On a clean install of 1803 nothing I tried would stop Edge from running in the background so I eventually restored that machine from a backup and upgraded it too.

    I hope you can find the root cause and a solution as I like clean installs every now and then.

    Thanks.
     
  19. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    o_O I did. Guess you didn't pick up on it in reply #17.

    Per the instructions given in the Microsoft link that was posted in reply #14:
    Leave the DWORD at a value of "0."
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,039
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, I read that but I was waiting a day or two see if it is a permanent fix or not.
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This doesn't work anymore; at least on new installs.

    I had to do a 1803 reset install yesterday. Afterwards I notice this reg. key was missing: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge. Adding it and the AllowPrelaunch value doesn't do anything.

    Also proof that Microsoft is monitoring Wildler's postings.

    So its back to my Eset HIPS rule to block Edge from running.
     
  22. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm no IT expert and regularly go for years without having to fight Windows, so I have to relearn Windows processes regularly.

    My recent simple response to tame Windows is to monitor what Win10 starts up through Voodoo Shield, then take ownership and deny anyone from executing that file in security settings. It has helped with blocking updates.

    I would like your view on this approach for the less educated, or less motivated such as myself.

    Win10 is a lying SOB as I denied access to a file to all but Admin and User, and on the first reboot Windows didn't execute it, but on the second it used my access. When denying executing to even 'me', it stopped.
     
  23. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The approach is fine. I have issues with VoodooShield. Don't want to start a big discussion on what those are.

    Yeah, it has become rather obvious to me that Win 10 1803 is using Edge for hidden background data transfer. One solution if one isn't using it as a browser is just to uninstall the bugger.
     
  24. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for that. Voodoo Shield is a good blunt instrument for people without dexterity; enough said.

    I’m still on 1709 because it works, and don’t have the emotional energy updating, to face reconfiguring and possible problems with my multimedia programs. 1709 is certainly persistent at updating and it has been a battle to hold on to it.

    Edge is unable to be sandboxed due to its set up, so I have read, which eliminates it for me.

    I will check next time to see if it is running in the background.
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,688
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Behavior started with 1803 and appears to only effect clean/reset installs. I didn't see this behavior when I upgraded 1709 to 1803 via Win Updates.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.