Question about scans

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by screamer, May 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    I did a scan and can up w/ a bunch of [file locked] [4] aside from that there were many files blocked due to:

    -error- unknown compression method
    - archive damaged
    -error- password-protected file

    C:\Documents and Settings\NetworkService\NTUSER.DAT - error opening (File locked) [4]

    C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE Personal\Skins\Ad-Aware SE default.ask »ZIP »arrow1.bmp - error - password-protected file

    C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\unyt.exe »WISE »file_00000000.bin »WISE »WISE0132.DLL - error - unknown compression method

    MBR sector of the 2. physical disk - Error reading disk sector


    Is this supposed to happen.

    TIA,

    ...screamero_O
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Thanks Snowbound :)

    Actually, on my last scan I got about a hundred of these. Most were pointing to SpyBot S&D or Adaware. I don't have anything password protected thougho_O

    ...screamer
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    You're welcome. :)

    This may explain it a bit better,

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=124774



    snowbound
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    You ,personally , don't ,but SpyBot S&D and Ad-Aware SE both password protect their back-ups so you can't accidentically reinfect your PC .

    All *errors* are normals . Don't worry .Files like :\Documents and Settings\NetworkService\NTUSER.DAT are operating and they are less likely to be infected ... I have never seen them infected ,though ;-)
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi screamer, welcome to Wilders.

    You might like to take a run through this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Thanks for the welcome Blackspear. I set up Nod according to your guide. I'm new to Nod so I'm sure it will take some getting used to. I'm sure I'll have more questions.

    Come to think of it... I have one:

    I was D/L'g an app and in the sys tray NOD popped up and monitored the D/L. This has never happened before, or since. I searched the help file but found nothing relating to this.

    TIA,

    ...screamer
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    That is due to the size of the file, once it gets to a certain size you see the popup to basically notify you why you still haven't seen the file you have clicked on (as NOD32 is still scanning it).

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.