Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
  2. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,203
    I suspect that people like Brian or perhaps Peter have not had any failures is because they absolutely know their stuff. If I had done more than 10,000 restores I would feel more comfortable too, not to mention that Brian clearly know not just the details of the programs but how settings will impact on recovery. I guess that's where experience and deep knowledge comes in. I am doing my regular backups and/or images and have done some restores with a number of different programs. At this point I feel most comfortable with SP because I know it better than the other programs. If I do a restore, I still hold my breath and suspect that if there is failure, it's most likely my fault and not the program. Having said that, I installed AX64 on 1 PC and have had just hot restores a few times without issues but given the many and varying issues reported by others, I am not updating my old version or choosing AX 64 as my default program. So despite not having had a negative experience myself, I still feel more comfortable using SP or Image for Windows on my main system. I also think this mammoth thread is not helpful for novices. Quite a while ago a new forum was hinted at where issues can be tackled individually - this was months ago but we are still adding and adding and adding to this thread. I doubt that any newcomer will start reading up on the 300 pages and 7500 posts in this thread to get started on a new program or check on an issue experienced.
     
  3. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK

    I totally agree with you on this. Had I been new to this thread and had I even gone through the posts I would have been totally bewildered! I doubt I would have bothered with it especially with the Windows 64bit users having problems....I'm glad I was an early user of AX64...My experience on Win7 32bit has been flawless.
     
  4. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Hi beethoven.
    What the hell is SP? o_O


    PS: I have uninstalled AX64.
    It is not for me.
    I want something that offers reliability.
    That is the most important feature of any backup program, and this this does NOT have it.
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    It can be discussed in the other software thread. I looked at the website and just am not sure how I'd use any of the software.

    Pete
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If our AXTM is developing the next version to be released soon, would you as a contributor please tell the people in charge to keep us, their customers informed so we can be confident we still have a working product? Thanks
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,133
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Seems realy copy and AX64 merger has spoiled the party. No more AX64.
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Stigg, although it was created on a Windows 7 system, it should work fine.

    The RECOVERY MEDIA itself will be running its own local Windows 7 RECOVERY environment (on the ISO) and it's an imager... which means it really doesn't care what's in those disk blocks that it saved, as long as it meets the NTFS file standard and it contains OS-independent partition information... which every image does. Based on this, a successful RECOVERY MEDIA made under Windows 7 should be able to recover W7, W8, W8.1 and even W8.1Upd1. I also use my W7 RECOVERY MEDIA to COLD RESTORE XP systems very successfully. If the system you're recovering has some very special hardware associated with the HDDs/SSDs you might be recovering to, you may need another media made on that specific system... but other than that, things should go just fine.

    That's why once you have a solid RECOVERY MEDIA, you should use it for everything. The only reason you would need a new recovery media is if AX64 decided to change its imaging format (which it hasn't since Build 996) or they came out with some world ruling restoration speed change for COLD RECOVERY... which I doubt. There's certain things that have to be done for COLD recoveries and you can't really avoid that work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  10. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,223
    Hi Isso, ITS REALLY GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU, thanks for the update on AX64 development, much appreciated.

    Also, good luck with your new ventures. I wish I had a need for them but maybe you will come up with something I can use down the road.

    All the best to you.
     
  11. speedbump

    speedbump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Isso, good to see you again!
    Good luck with the marketing and further development of AX64!
    I have had no problems with version 1.4.1.36 so far. It will be interesting to see what's different in the updated version.
    Regards, sb
     
  12. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,223
    While it was great to hear from Isso I just want to say that the repeated promise of a new release SOON is beginning to remind me of HDS incessant promises of a new release of Rx shortly and repeated failures to deliver. I am not saying that a release should be done before the program is ready but its very bad to promise something and then fail to deliver time after time. Some months ago we were told there would be an update a month. Does anyone remember how long ago that was, I am thinking it was 4 or 5 months ago but I could be wrong about this,,,,,and thats OK, like I said if its not ready I do not want it. But there have been at least 2 mentions of immanent releases over the past 2 or so months and now another one.

    My confidence in the folks behind AX64 is waning. Its a great shame that so much good will for the app has been squandered. Yes, Isso is a hard act to follow but ,,,,,,,,,,,,,
     
  13. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I think problems are more for the "Windows after Windows 7" users :)
     
  14. normanbg

    normanbg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Israel
    Or those, like me, who are waiting for promised features such as multi-partition support or flexible scheduling, about which very little has been said in recent months.

    Norman
     
  15. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Sorry guys, twl, BG, aigle, norman I know that you've been waiting for a long time for the new version with the promised features. Unfortunately I'm no longer making the decisions on new releases, all I can say, based on the information that I have is that the program is close to be released.

    speedbump - thanks man, it's good to hear some positive feedback :)

    Froggie, you are the best VP of support! :thumb:

    Isso
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    SUPPORT!?!?!? That's "Marketing," Boss... I don't do panty hose unless they're ON!
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,102
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Oh, shoot, several things to say here. I was chomping at my lips trying to keep silent but ...

    -- 64-bit has worked perfectly since forever on my 2 systems, but both are Win7.
    -- as to added features, partitions, etc.: KEEP IT SIMPLE as Isso originally created this program for the best. There are at least a couple excellent programs that will do that for anyone wanting such features.
    -- Froggie, don't let up, PLEASE. Almost every program has someone who becomes an expert who is not affiliated or paid by the company. FirstDefense/IR certainly had one. We all need someone outside the $$$ to give us their expert opinion, someone NOT being paid to give us their gut feeling.
    -- And finally (my opinion, so take it for what its worth, probably next to nothing) ... to the company itself, PLEASE let ISSO back into the decision making, after all, it was his decisions that brought most of all into this thread in the first place.

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  18. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    I currently have a Samsung 830 Desktop Series SSD which is 256GB, I'm thinking about getting a Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD which is 256GB to have as my System drive and then use my current 830 series as the backup drive. My question is, is it possible to take a snapshot of my current system drive which is the 830 series SSD and then restore it to the new 840 series SSD using AX64? I hope my question is clear enough to understand. =S
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Sanya, this should be no problem. AX64 can restore its saved partition(s) to one of two places... the ORIGINAL partition that it came from, or a brand new UNALLOCATED disk that is at least the same size or bigger than the original partition set.

    Since the (2) SSDs you mention are the same size, it should work just fine. BUT, the new one may be a few kBs smaller and that would cause a problem. If it's the same size or larger it should work fine. DO NOT pre-partition the new SSD, it must be completely unALLOCATED... no partitions. During a typical AX64 restore, when it cannot find it's original partition, it will offer the new drive as a possibility... AS LONG AS IT's THE SAME SIZE OR LARGER.

    Go ahead... have some fun!
     
  20. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,133
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks, I have nothing but good wishes for you. Let's hope for the best.
     
  21. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Thanks Froggie, lets just assume that the new drive is a few KB smaller, what are my options then? Also, will the hidden system partition be a problem? I assume I should restore with MBR and hidden partition ticked/enabled?

    Edit: Actually due to some other issues I might end up re-installing Windows yet again when I get my new drive... I swear to god there is something wrong with my disc, always SOME sort of problem, latest problem is that HIPS in CIS blocks all autostart applications from starting without any rules to do so... can't seem to fix it even with clean re-install of CIS... I'm getting tired of all these re-installs of everything.. -__- I think I'm on the 5th or 6th re-install this year, always some sort of system breaking issue that I don't notice until after setting everything up.
    Edit 2: Disregard the edit above, I fixed it by disabling UAC, rebooting, enabling UAC again and then rebooting yet again. Stupid but it did fix it somehow. <_<
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2014
  22. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    985
    I am about to purchase a new system. I have a choice of BIOS or UEFI. I do not want to change my imaging program from AXTM to another.

    I am running Win 8.1 64 bit.

    Has anyone been successful in restoring using AXTM, both hot and cold, with UEFI? GPT?

    Many thanks,

    Silver
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  23. michaelwileman

    michaelwileman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    plymouth uk
    Yes my machine is UEFI and GPT use time machine with no problem,i am using version 1.4.1.48 if that helps.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    same here with Win8.1 upd 1
     
  25. Reposed

    Reposed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Running Windows 8.1 and hot restore is failing about once every four restores. Cold restore has been flawless. When is the touted "warm restore" going to be available? Also, am I to understand that this product is no longer in "active" development?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.