install problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by gtb, Jun 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Hi guy's

    have a machine that is probably (or was) infected with something and i can't get the install of nod to go past the "please wait" screen.

    any ideas ?

    same in safe mode

    geoff
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi gtb, welcome to Wilders.

    What previous antivirus was on that system? In such a case always run the Norton Removal Tool. If this fails complete the following:

    Go to a command prompt by doing the following:

    • Click on Start
    • Click on All Programs
    • Click on Accessories
    • Click on Command Prompt.
    • Type "C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\setup.exe" /test (with the quotes)
    • Press enter on your keyboard.
    • This will write a log to C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\nsetup.log
    • Copy the contents of this log file here so we can look for errors.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2007
  3. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    [2007-06-17 22:31:38.484] Is program installed?
    [2007-06-17 22:31:38.515] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - c:\Program Files\ESET\Install\setup.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:38.640] Registry: old settings read
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] global.xml created
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - C:\DOCUME~1\gtb\LOCALS~1\Temp\global.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - c:\Program Files\ESET\Install\setup.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] Main settings added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] Engines nups
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.062] InstallPath added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.093] LogPath added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.328] EngineFile extracted
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.375] EngineFile extracted
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.437] EngineFile extracted
    [2007-06-17 22:31:39.453] EngineFile extracted
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.296] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - C:\DOCUME~1\gtb\LOCALS~1\Temp\nodtmpa\setupc.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.296] SetupAddComponentDescToGlobal
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.296] Component added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.296] Componet libraries
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.906] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - C:\DOCUME~1\gtb\LOCALS~1\Temp\nodtmpb\setupc.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.906] SetupAddComponentDescToGlobal
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.906] Component added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:40.906] Componet libraries
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.468] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - C:\DOCUME~1\gtb\LOCALS~1\Temp\nodtmpc\setupc.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.468] SetupAddComponentDescToGlobal
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.468] Component added
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.468] Componet libraries
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.546] XML_ACCESS: C:\Documents and Settings\gtb - C:\DOCUME~1\gtb\LOCALS~1\Temp\global.xml
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.546] Cmd: 0 Exelib: NOD32MOD_WINNT_ENGLISH_BASE
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.546] - krnstp.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.578] - ps_upd.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.578] Cmd: 0 Exelib: NOD32MOD_WINNT_ENGLISH_STANDARD
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.578] - ps_amon.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.609] - ps_nod32.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.609] - ps_dmon.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.640] Cmd: 0 Exelib: NOD32MOD_WINNT_ENGLISH_INET
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.640] - imon.dll
    [2007-06-17 22:31:41.656] - ps_nms.dll

    log as requested

    geoff
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Try doing an "Expert" installation without IMON and EMON.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    so the install can be done by command line ?

    it don't get to the choose install screen
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Are you getting to the license agreement stage?

    What previous antivirus software was on that system?

    Have you tried slaving the drive of a clean NOD32 protected system and running a scan?

    Cheers :D
     
  7. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    no - not getting to license agreement
    stops at please wait screen when unpacking

    it had AVG on it which i have uninstalled

    have taken the drive out and slaved it
    scans with VET and nod32 show no threats

    spybot shows no threats
    ewido got rid of some cookies only

    the funny thing is - VET will run from a copy on cd - but finds nothing

    nod32 will not run from cd copy

    will not install from cd or hdd

    hijackthis log looks clean
    task manager shows nothing unusual other than explorer.exe changes size
     
  8. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    machine had 4 users on it
    same problem in all profiles

    added myself as a new account - same problem
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please check that the following files exist:

    C Drive> Windows> Temp

    C Drive> Documents and Settings> (User Name) XXXXXX> Local Settings> Temp

    Do the "Temp and TMP" folders exist in "Environmental Variables" when you right click on My Computer as per the screenshots found in this link? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=764434#post764434

    When you then navigate to the folders mentioned in "Environmental Variables" are they actually there?

    Sometimes the only method is to delete and reinstall the Temp folders.

    You can also try running this file http://www.nod32.it/getfile.php?tool=settmp it will set both the user and system TEMP/TMP variables to c:\windows\temp. Just make sure the folder exists.

    I would also try repairing Winsock as described HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  10. gtb

    gtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    temp files seem to be there ok

    renamed and remade temp folder

    applied winsockxpfix

    tried install again

    no go - same problem starts to unpack then gives me the please wait dialogue box then times out - not responding
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please complete the following:

    Download HijackThis from here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12516

    Download Autoruns from here: http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Autoruns.html

    Download and run Lookinmypc from here: http://www.lookinmypc.com
    1. Select "Generate report"
    2. Wait - scan results will pop up in a browser
    3. Go to folder with LookInMyPC installed (default in C:\ProgramFiles\LookInMyPC\Reports\username\LookInMyPC.zip), and attach LookInMyPC.zip to the reply email

    Then run the other 2 programs and forward the logs from all three programs to support @ eset.sk with a link to this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.