ESET Windows home products version 14

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by FanJ, Oct 22, 2020.

  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,824
    ESET Windows home products version 14 has been released

    I got it offered via the internal updater (on regular release channel).
    Reboot required as usual.

    Changelog
    https://www.eset.com/int/home/internet-security/download/
    Go there to the advanced download option:

    Version: 14.0.21.0

    Added: WMI Scanner
    Added: System Registry Scanner
    Improved: Product change feature (without OS restart)
    Improved: Highest product on license offered
    Improved: BPP "Secure all browsers" - enables user to run any browser in hardened mode by default
    Improved: Under the hood optimizations

    The previous thread for version 13 is here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/eset-windows-home-products-version-13.422360/

    We started talking about version 14 (at that time at the pre-release channel) in that previous thread here in reply # 234:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...oducts-version-13.422360/page-10#post-2957471

    At the moment I don't see it announced at the Eset forum. That will come later.
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,824
    On my Win 7 Pro 64-bit I got this error message:
    Time;Component;Event;User
    22-10-2020 14:52:06;Device control;An error occurred during installation of the edevmon driver.;SYSTEM

    After reboot I don't get such an error message anymore.

    During the previous upgrade I got the same kind of error message.
    I have to find that post; then I will edit this posting.

    EDIT:
    Ah, I found my post in the version 13 thread: reply # 194 on 26 Aug 2020
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...roducts-version-13.422360/page-8#post-2942988
    I got the exact same error message at that time during the upgrade.
    And then nomore error after reboot.
    I have no idea why this is happening ...
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
  3. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    890
    Location:
    California
    What does this mean? I hope they are not going to start putting buttons for features not pertaining to the current license like some AV's do where if you click it, it would prompt you to upgrade
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,026
    Location:
    USA
    I don't believe that is the case. It is likely a universal installer that will install the product that matches your license. If your license is for Internet Security, it will install that instead of installing NOD32. If your license is for NOD32, that is what you will get.
     
  5. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    890
    Location:
    California
    oh that's perfect then!
     
  6. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Southern California
    Just got 14 on Smart Security - my main computer.
    Maybe this is my lucky day.
    Two more Internet Security.
    That's 4 total.
    2 more for a total of six.
    Never did this good before. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,930
    Location:
    Slovenia
  8. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Canada
    It's about 8-10 years last time I used Eset products. How is it these days? And is it light on system?
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,930
    Location:
    Slovenia
    On my system it's very light and it works great. :thumb:
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    Since updating to Version: 14.0.21.0 on one of my 7x64 machines, I am getting the Windows Action Center telling me that ESET Security is turned off (I run ESET NOD32) and despite selecting the option in AC to turn it on and trust the publisher, the status remains the same... ESET Security is turned off. I can choose to turn off messages about virus protection, but would prefer to get ESET to sync with Action Center. I've experienced this before, and usually updating the program, or a second reboot, makes AC recognize. Anyone else?

    Action Center says ESET turned off.JPG
     
  11. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you Minimalist, I may try it for 30 days free just to see how it is on my PC:)
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,824
    Hi,
    Just being curious.
    If I may ask you: Do you see error message(s) in the Eset logs?
    In Eset: Tools > More Tools > Log files > Events
    PS: See also my post in reply # 2 in this thread.
     
  13. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello, I just installed Eset Internet Security 30 days trial and I have a question for the expert. Is it normal that Eset does not turn off Windows Defender?
    Thanks
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,174
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No.

    It appears the 14.0.21 update is borking select Win installations. I thought it was related to being on pre-release updating. But recent postings at Eset forum are indicating that regular update channel installations are being borked. Or in your case, fresh Eset installations.
     
  15. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    TY for your reply! No error message in Events. Just the record of the update to v14.
     
  16. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Canada
    @itman, thank you I will reinstall Eset. Is it better to use Eset uninstall tool?
     
  17. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    When I tell Action Center to turn on virus protection, I get this dialog. And when I select "Yes, I trust the publisher...", nothing changes. I have also selected the second choice, and that fails to fix the AC problem.

    Action Center ESET dialog.JPG
     
  18. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    890
    Location:
    California
    That is because you installed a file which had a blocked status.

    Make sure to right click on the file(s) you downloaded, go to Properties, then hit Unblock from the bottom right as it may be blocked since it was downloaded from the internet, if you don't do this before you run the file or extract it, then it may not install correctly.

    To prevent this automatic blocking of files in the future so you don't have to go unblocking every file you download to ensure it runs properly, follow the guide in this thread:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/are-you-sure-you-want-to-run-this-file-yes-or-no.825668/
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    I did not install a file with a blocked status. Didn't download a file. I updated ESET NOD32 from within the program. Then the Action Center mishaps began.
     
  20. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    890
    Location:
    California
    My bad
     
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    No, TY for responding and trying to help. I appreciate it.
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,026
    Location:
    USA
    From the looks of their forum it;s not just you. I would have to suspect they messed up the digital signature for that file or forgot to sign it. I'm sure they'll figure it out soon.
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, they figured it out soon. Good call. The problem is no longer visible this morning after reboot and apparent module update. :)
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    [KB7674] What's new in ESET version 14 home products?
     
  25. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,611
    Location:
    New York City
    It seems that the cleaning levels under "Threatsense Parameters" have been changed.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.