ESET Windows home products version 13

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by FanJ, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Thank you, Thankful !
    Got it offered and updated, on regular update channel.
    At the moment (as far as I can tell) there are no official announcements. I suppose they will come later.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    I wonder if somebody who comes across new malware on a regular basis could comment on detection capabilities, especially with regard to advanced machine learning introduced in v13 :)
     
  4. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,006
    Hoping someone over at MalwareTips can test this.
     
  5. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Make sure they do it with a new ransomware sample.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    Under advanced download there is now installer for v. 13.0.22.0.
     
  7. Krond

    Krond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    I´ve no luck with this version. The first I´ve extreme network performance drops in virtual machines (see Eset 12 thread), and now, I´ve to do netbanking. And what should I say, I thought my pc is broken, so slow is netbanking. The fan is running relatively high, and the workload in taskmanager is showing 30-40% continuously.

    I think, this version is going to be deinstalled, until there are the correspond bugfixes. Long time to see such a poor version of Eset. I think the last time was the change of version 9 to 10 (or was it 10 to 11, or 8 to 9....? to long ago to remember....).
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,739
    ESET Windows home products version 13.0.22 have been released (October 22, 2019)
    https://forum.eset.com/topic/21235-eset-windows-home-products-version-13022-have-been-released/
    ESET NOD32 Antivirus, ESET Internet Security and ESET Smart Security Premium version 13.0.22 have been released and are available to download.

    Changelog:
    Version 13.0.22

    • Added: Advanced Machine Learning
    • Improved: Deep Behavioral Detection
    • Improved: Connected Home Monitor (EIS, ESSP)
    • Improved: Password Manager (ESSP)
    • Improved: Disk Encryption (ESSP)
    • Changed: supported operating systems: Windows 7 SP1 and newer
    • Fixed: many other improvements and fixes
    Known issues:
    • Error in Windows Logs may appear once fix is applied (Error appears only once - during upgrade itself)
    Download ESET Internet Security
    Download ESET NOD32 Antivirus
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    Starting uTorrent takes about 30 seconds on my system. 20 seconds before process starts and another 10 until GUI shows. During this time ekrn.exe is at 12,5% CPU ( one core fully utilized). If I pause protection it launches in 1-2 seconds.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    I was unable to reproduce it, utorrent starts instantly with v13 installed. The best would be if you report it in the ESET forum, provide a demonstration video as well as logs collected with ESET Log Collector and Procmon logs, one with protection enabled and one with protection disabled when the issue doesn't manifest.
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    When I get some more time I will create logs and report it on your official forum.
    So far it seems to me that it's related to file scanner scanning that file. Right click on exe and it needs 30+ second to show right click menu, selecting properties and another 30+ second waiting time.Clicking on details tab another 15 seconds. Opening folder in Windows Explorer 10+ seconds till icon appears on executable.During this tests ekrn.exe is maxing one CPU core.
    For now I "solved" a problem by adding uTorrent executable to performance exclusions. After that all symptoms are gone. Disabling option Scan on File open "solves" the problem also.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    Weird. I can scan it through the right-click menu instantly. Is msmpeng.exe not running? Is the SHA1 of utweb.exe B9233B05438C9011F2BE771B7D69FA1F2D1A4FCB ? I look forward to checking the logs, there must be something weird that is causing the issue.
     
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Did you bypass Eset's PUA detection of it on download? I assume you did since that would be the only way it can run without a PUA popup appearing.
     
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    @Marcos I don't have WD installed or running (I use Windows 8.1). I also don't use web version of utorrent but instead desktop version ( utorrent.exe with SHA1: bb8a66417823958651417edf5a234e344d1d0523 ).

    @itman I didn't have Eset installed when I installed uTorrent so there was no PUA detection ( which happens during uTorrent installation or update).

    For now I will reinstall Eset with default settings and see if that helps. If not I will post on official forum in a day or two.
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    Does it make a difference if you temporarily disable detection of potentially unwanted applications that are in utorrent files?
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    I tried disabling all of this and non of them helped: advanced machine learning, detection of PUA, detection of suspicious applications, advanced heuristics, HIPS.

    Two options that did help are: adding performance exclusion for that file or disabling scan on file open in real-time file system protection.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    In Eset GUI Real-time settings, check in the ThreatSense section under the Other category if "Enable Smart Optimization" is check mark. If it is not, check mark it and retest.

    If Smart Optimization is not enabled, Eset will perform full heuristic analysis on the executable each time it is started regardless of whether the file had been previously scanned.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
  18. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The ui is still the same right ?
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    It's more-less same. However, people install security software not because of their nifty gui but to get protection from malware and other threats and that's what matters. ESET is not a company that would provide you every year with a newer version that has gui changed completely but most important changes are under the hood, such as Advanced Machine Learning or improved Deep Behavioral Inspection.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
  20. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yes I like the ui , that's why i was hoping it's not changed
     
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,423
    Location:
    Here
    Yes, Smart optimization is enabled.

    I started topic on their forum and will try to solve this problem there.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
  22. Krond

    Krond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    @Marcos: something new about the network performance loss under virtual machines or the high load under netbanking (in non virtual machines)?
     
  23. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    178
    Is there any way to see the mac address of a client in the firewall log?
     
  24. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As far as I am aware of, the only thing that will show a MAC address in Eset is the Connected Home Monitor feature: http://support.eset.com/kb6268/ . And it is only applicable if you're using the Home/Office firewall profile.
     
  25. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    94

    Hi I do not know ir your problem with utorrent still excists? but have you tried switching to this instead : https://www.qbittorrent.org/download.php
    it has the same gui as utorrent , minus the crap and adds , maybe eset is getting stuck on utorrent related to the unwanted extra p.u.s. that come bundled with it?this is the main reason why I abbandoned utorrent ages ago....

    edit : qbittorent literally starts up in a second or two ( I am on Eset i.s. 13.0.22.0 atm )
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.