Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
    avira. used to be a top-tier av back in the day. no eye candy gui, no extra tools, no launchers, no fw controls. bare av.
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
  4. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    200
    Argh, I'd love to see a product update with a fix for the web filter crashing. Haven't been able to use Avira on my workstation since October because of it :|
     
  5. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,290
    ... and nowadays even old Avira fans replaced it because of all the junk. :thumb:
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
    Avira Antivirus for Windows 2018, Version v.15.0.44.139 released on February 20, 2019.
    Product version v.15.0.44.139 (Update 44).

    Changelog:
    https://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1699

     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,358
    Location:
    UK
    Off-topic remarks removed.
    Squabble via pm's instead.
     
  9. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    After the latest updates of Avira, Windows Defender doesn't disable itself automatically. In other words, Windows Defender doesn't recognize Avira.
    I have to disable Avira then enable it to make Windows Defender recognize it. Do you have this problem too? , or should I clean install Avira again?
     
  10. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    .
    Just disable WD completely and be done with it.
     
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    What does rename mean in the settings for what to do on found malware?
     
  12. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    .
    Most likely rename PE files to make it ineffective. (virus.exe -> virus.xxx)

    However I've tested this option and it doesn't seem to work (for the on-demand scanner, as it seems like they've removed the option from real-time protection settings).
    I've tried in both Interactive and Automatic options, with Automatic having Rename as first action, it still quarantines the file... same with Repair first action then Rename second.
    Also, in Interactive mode there's no option to Rename, Quarantine or Delete, only Cleanup, Ignore once, Ignore always.

    Isn't that weird?
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
    From "Help" (Help Center > Configuration > System Scanner > Scan > Action on detection) =
    ----------
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Yeah, I even unchecked quarantine after option you chose and it still sent it there with no rename.
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2019
  16. popescu

    popescu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
     
  17. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2019
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
    Spotlight Alpha
    https://betacenter.avira.com/key/spotlight_alpha_open

     
  19. ander3

    ander3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    I'm looking at installing Avira free antivirus but I read something I'm not comfortable with, so I wanted to verify it here.
    According to this review:

    https://www.tomsguide.com/us/avira-free-antivirus,review-2207.html

    It says, "The software uploads copies of suspicious files to Avira's labs for analysis. Whatever is deemed dangerous is added to the malware-signature updates that go out several times a day to Avira's 400 million users. This data collection necessarily includes customers' system profiles, computer usage habits and browsing histories. You can opt out, but you'll need to make the request via email."

    Is this correct? I do not want Avira uploading copies of files off my PC, nor do I want it to report browsing histories. No way. It says I can request to opt out, but opt out of which part? All of it? Some of it? And how would that work if I don't sign up for an account?

    I was hoping Avira would work for me but not if it's going to do things like this. Can anybody comment on this?

    Also I found this, which claims even when "Protection Cloud" is disabled, it still uploads files anyways. Several users have confirmed. This is worrying and makes me uncomfortable installing Avira.

    https://answers.avira.com/en/questi...files-when-cloud-protection-is-disabled-70616

    Also does it have pop-ups like it used to? I uninstalled Avira many years ago because of the invasive pop-ups. Is it still just as bad?
    '
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2019
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,808
    Any AV you use will have privileged access to all your files, it is a matter of mutual trust. If you think your data is too sensitive, don't use any anti malware program. I personally think they are not (AV companies) after our secrets, it is too dangerous and time consuming for them to do so, but then again, this is my take... Alternatively you can use a firewall to block any outgoing connection to the AV you are using, but it might severely reduce its efficacy in detecting new malware.
     
  21. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    USA
    I can't answer your questions specifically, but in my Avira settings under "General - Advanced protection", I have checked the option for "Confirm manually when sending suspicious files to Avira". I'm hoping that's all it takes. ;)
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,866
  24. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Nottingham
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,808
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.