"Old" FDISR, FDR & RBrx

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Teknokrat, May 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Teknokrat

Teknokrat Registered Member

Hi!
    I'm sorry if I'm dense but I haven't figured out the all the distinct features and/or differences between these three programs.

I know that (HorizonDataSys) FirstDefense Rescue is a somewhat crippled version of (Raxco/Leapfrog) FirstDefense-ISR, limited to 2 snapshots. What about RollBack Rx Pro? Isn't that more like the old FDR?

Yes, I'm quite new to backup software methods & technologies and I really would appreciate to hear a brief explanation of the similarities/differences.

thank you in advance!

/T

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

I know what FDISR does for me. I know for certain, that FDISR Rescue can't do it.
    I'm not 100% sure that RBRx can be used as FDISR with the same results, but my assumption is that RBRx can't replace FDISR, there are too many basic differences between both.

Comparing FDISR with RBRx is useless, because FDISR is dead and RBRx is alive.
    So you better find out, if RBRx meets your wishes.
    If you ask me to choose between FDISR and RBRx, the answer is FDISR.
    If you ask me to choose between RBRx and all the other ISR-softwares, the answer is RBRx, but I'm glad, I don't have to make that choice.

I have at least 5-10 years to wait for an alternative, so I'm not in a hurry to try anything else, unless it's better than FDISR. Until now, I didn't see anything that comes even close to FDISR.
    I don't work with software names, I work with functions, possibilities, combinations, ideas and then I choose the software to do the job.
    FDISR didn't meet all my wishes, but more than enough to keep it and not to replace it.

3. Woody777

Woody777 Registered Member