Winsock problem???

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jrspie, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrspie

    jrspie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    I'm using NOD32 2.70.12 RC for the past few days.
    Everything has been OK with it but I just lost IE7. Won't connect to the internet.
    I run the diagnostic that is offered on the screen and am told that I appear to have a problem with the Winsock provider catalog.
    My understanding of the Winsock is that a problem with it would keep me off the net.
    But I'm using Firefox to write this.
    I'm still very new to pcs and don't know if I should try to repair the Winsock or try to figure out what else could be wrong.
    I found Blackspear's instructions for Winsock repair but just want to make sure I'm going in the right direction.
    Hope somebody can help.
    Thanks,
    J.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi jrspie, yes, I would try the WinsockXPfix tool.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi how did you get on, never used that tool but I've seen it around.
    Havent seen that, a link?
    Do you use xp? 'cos xp depending on a couple of factors can be used to recover from Winsock corruption.
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  5. jrspie

    jrspie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Thanks to everybody for the help.
    I tried to repair the Winsock using the 3d party software and using Microsofts own repair application.
    Followed Blackspears directions exactly. They're the same as MS's tool.
    Also tried to repair NOD32.
    Still have the Winsock problem.
    I have this horrible feeling I might have to re-install XP. Definitely not happy.
    jrspie
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Try this way I doubt it makes a difference, but worth a try.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. jrspie

    jrspie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Also tried to do it step by step.
    Regedit/find didn't find what it should have.
    Fortunately I've got most of my stuff saved to discs so I just bit the bullet and did a quick clean install.
    I thank Blackspear and the others for trying to help. I blame myself for getting involved with NOD32 in the first place.
    And that's because I already know I'm not tech savvy and I'm trying to use a product that people place repair info(ie Winsock) in the forums.
    I think Eset has a superior product, but not for me if I have to go nuts trying to set it up or fix it.
    Oh well. Maybe someday they'll understand that not everybody likes to fiddle with their settings.
    Thanks,
    jrspie
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    On a fresh install of Windows there is no need to repair anything and NOD32 works perfectly, however, if your Windows Winsock layer becomes corrupt, and multiple pieces of software can be the culprit in causing this, then repairing Winsock is required.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.