Which Firewall Compatible with G-Data Antivirus?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by majid20, Jun 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Hi
    I use G Data Anti-Virus 2011
    I want to use a professional firewall that Compatible with G Data Anti-Virus
    Can you help me to know Which Firewall Compatible with G Data? (Comodo , Outpost , Online Armor , ... ?)
    Thank you
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I think all of the ones you mentioned are compatible (obviously without bundled av modules)
     
  3. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    You should then be using G Data Internet Security which is their AV and firewall. The G Data firewall is very compatible with the G Data AV. Or so one would think...
     
  4. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Thank you
    I saw this topic : Comodo Firewall not compatible with GDATA antivirus
    I think that user has G Data Antivirus 2009 or 2010 (Based on post's date)
    I want know that the problem solved in new versions or not?
     
  5. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    I know but G Data firewall is so weak
    You can see the results in there : http://www.matousec.com/projects/proactive-security-challenge/results.php
    I want the strong firewall
     
  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    They tested the HIPS features. The firewall part is good in G-Data. In the Ask Mode it has decent HIPS. Matousec tested the product in their default settings.
     
  7. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    No, it isn't. The Matousec test is a HIPS test, not a firewall test, no matter what they choose to call it. The G Data firewall is good.
     
  8. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    You are wrong

    firstly matousec is very famous Firewall outbound test ... not only for HIPS
    for example kaspersky 7 didn't has any HIPS Technology but reach good results
    or other firewall that didn't have HIPS

    Secondary matousec explained the products settings in their test
    The products are configured to their highest usable security settings and tested with this configuration only
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @majid20, I am a little wrong though. It indeed has some Firewall tests but mostly it is a test for proactive defense. Download any of the PDF reports and identify how many of them are for Firewall part.
    Kaspersky has an excellent HIPS and that's why it scored well.
    View the score for Sunbelt (formet kerio) firewall. No one can doubt that it is an excellent firewall, but scores poorly as it has not that strong HIPS.
    I may be wrong about the configurations used for testing but The after turning on the Ask mode and HIPS features G-Data scored decent in CLT test. So, I have enough doubts about this.
     
  10. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    The first time Kaspersky used HIPS in their product was in 2009 (Version 8 to above)
    Old versions of kaspersky didn't have HIPS (Kaspersky 7)
    But the old versions in their time reach good result
    Why kaspersky without HIPS reach good result if it only for HIPS?
    Why matousec tests is very valid for firewalls?

    I don't know , maybe you are right and I was wrong
    If it true, can you introduced the other site for firewall testing?
    (I mean for outbound testing not Inbound)
     
  11. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  12. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    2009 was the first time Kaspersky called it HIPS and had a full scale Application control GUI element but many of the features you might associate with HIPS products were there in version 7. Pro-Active Defense (particularly if you put it in training mode) alerted you to all types of potentially malicious behaviour including code injections, key logging etc. It still does though many mistake the alerts for HIPS alerts.

    I think you might find it was those features rather than the firewall that led to the Matousec score. Matousec even then had little to do with classic firewall capabilities.

    Cheers
     
  13. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
  14. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    majid20 might be worth looking here http://www.matousec.com/projects/proactive-security-challenge/level.php?num=1 and running through the different levels of tests Matousec runs.

    Many of those used in your Kasperky example will still be there. You will see from what they are trying to exploit that they are are some firewall tests (Echo, Yalta, TCP/IP filtering etc) but most are pro-active defence for autoruns, application launch, process termination, keylogging etc. It is not your firewalls job to deal with those. I would be any pro-active, behaviour blocking or HIPS functionality that should take care of these (according to Matousec at least).

    As noted Kaspersky 7 may not have had HIPS bit it did have Pro-Active Defense.

    Back on topic. In the short while I ran G-Data anti-virus Online Armor worked seamlessly with it.

    Cheers
     
  15. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    I have been running GData A/V with Online Armor Paid for a few months & the two work great on by xp box.
     
  16. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    ِThank you so much
     
  17. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    If I want use Online Armor firewall , Is free version good enough or I must use Pro version?
     
  18. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I think there is no difference between tham in the firewall part. Pro version has some added HIPS features. IMO free version is enough to do the job.
    You can also try Private Firewall.
     
  19. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Been using G-Data I.S. 2011 for the past couple of weeks, and the firewall works flawlessly so far. Prior to using the suite I auditioned G-Data Anti Virus 2011 with P.C.Tools Firewall Plus and both worked harmoniously with one another. Sincerely...Securon
     
  20. fasteddy2020

    fasteddy2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    I have used GData IS for a couple of years now and in my experiences it is top notch. It just works. I have many licenses to other AV's but I keep coming back to GData. I also trialed GData AV with PC Tools firewall and Online Armor Premium and had no issues. I like the Suite and that is what I use. Fewer programs, to me, is less hassle.
     
  21. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Thanks a lot
     
  22. sylreston

    sylreston Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    On my Win 7/64, G-data 2011 Outpost 7 FW are giving me corrupted downloaded files. Avira and Outpost 7 work great, and G-data and Win 7 FW work. Seems to have conflicts with Outpost and G-data, only.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.