What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,306
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Correct, not a lifetime license, but annual, else no updates.

    Re whether if / how it will work without license renewal, maybe ask in the AppGuard thread here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/appguard.414376/
     
  2. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,670
    @blacknight
    AppGuard v6 is yearly, not lifetime.
    AppGuard will do a license check when starting, so no current license I believe it simply will not protect.
     
  3. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    152
    There is 3 comon scenario which can happen to you when license expire
    1)Software will launch but will not protect you (feature wll be disabled)
    2)Software before lanuch will ask you for renew /enter license - if refuse software will auto-exit/quit
    3)If producent offer Free and Premium version like in Antivirus some features will be partial disabled and you will back to mode "free version"

    Yet another Unique situation which amlost never happen but exist in few software like Winrar
    Software will work but will show all time some annoying ad-popup /nagscreen
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,064
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,307
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Real-time: Evorim FW, SecureAPlus, EXE Radar Pro, OSArmor
    On-demand: HitmanPro, Kaspersky Virus Remover Tool, AdInf file integrity checker
    Browser Protection: MalwareBytes Anti-Exploit, Emsisoft Browser Security, Java Script Switcher
    Image 3x/week, retain 3 months
     
  6. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    152

    So much exe monitor scanner but 0 virtual and sandbox solution.
    You can use Sandboxie its free since few months
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,738
    if you have a lifetime license for v4, it'll work for v4, you get no updates.
    for v5 and above:
    when your license expires, it won't work / activate after installation.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2020
  8. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,064
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    Thank you !
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,738
    you're welcome, night.
     
  10. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    Operating system
    Win10 Home 64bit ( version 1909, build 18363.815 )

    Realtime protection

    CleanBrowsing DNS (Security Filter)
    Comodo Internet Security v12.2.2.7036 (Firewall + Antivirus)

    On demand

    AdwCleaner, HitmanPro

    Others

    NoVirusThanks SysHardener

    Privacy

    Windows Privacy Dashboard, O&O ShutUp10

    Browser

    Chromium-Edge with the following extensions:
    • Blocksi Web Filter
    • Cookie AutoDelete
    • Dark New Tab
    • Join windows
    • uBlock origin
    • WebRTC Control
    • WebRTC Protect
     
  11. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    My old 4Gb RAM laptopie with Win-10 seems to bear any rig, unlike when it was with Win-7. So vast room for experiments is open.

    Macrium with boot console
    I make an image before delving into a new setup.

    Comodo FW:
    - FW: Custom
    - Auto Containment: block all Unrecognized
    - HIPS: Safe, all boxes in Monitoring Settings are checked
    - VirusCope: off
    - Website Filtering: off

    For a couple of days I used Panda Dome free, installed it on my android as well.
    Though it must be some overlay in protection of its Behaviour blocking and analysis with Comodo's hips & containment.

    Now changed PD to Kaspersky free.
    It found a rootkit just after installation. I doubt if it was a real threat but let them uproot it.
    Then it recommended to show file extensions. I let it fix it.
    At least no overlay here.

    It feels as light as it was with Malwarebytes WFC and Windows Defender.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,624
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't think I could be blasé about a potential root kit. :cautious:
     
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    I agree. Though I had WD from the very installation of Win-10 and Panda found nothing. And I launched some progs a few months ago I don't recommend others to launch. So it may be a real threat.
     
  14. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,223
    Location:
    US
    Just curious, how would Raxco's Instant Rescue interfere with Windows updates?
    Thanks, Acadia
     
  15. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't know, I was just asking the question, I believe I read somewhere once upon a time that some of these type of programs had to be turned off for Windows updates.
     
  16. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,223
    Location:
    US
    Ahhhh, ok. Raxco's Instant Rescue and Instant Recovery need to have the Pre-boot Screen turned off whenever you image your system with another backup program.
    Acadia
     
  17. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    Had to change my setup, needed something that requires zero maintenance for other users. So from Windows Defender with Configure Defender and Hard Configurator I went to Configure Defender, OSArmour and Malwarebytes paid. OSArmour and Malwarebytes are basically set and forget, I have lifetime license for MB. Hard Configurator has some tweaks that non-nontechnical users would be lost. In any case with the above combo I think I am protected well enough.
     
  18. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    152
    You can try yet Add SpyShelter Silent will work silent in background and encrypt your keystroke
     
  19. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    Yah, tried Spyshelter a couple years ago, will have another look.
     
  20. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    152
    Yea comon spyshelter have HIPS and other functions but these is more for advanced user definity ...
    but spyshelter "silent" have only encryption module which work silent and not requrie at all user atention :)
     
  21. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Tried Spyshelter again. As usually, its freemium HIPS is rather limited. Its firewall blocked some staff, I couldn't find out how to unblock.

    Windows 10


    Comodo FW:
    - FW: Custom
    - Auto Containment: block all Unrecognized
    - HIPS: Safe, all boxes in Monitoring Settings are checked
    - VirusCope: off
    - Website Filtering: off

    Hard Configurator: recommended settings

    Windows Defender tuned at max by Hard Configurator

    The config is rather light for my 4 GB laptop.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2020
  22. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    The same laptop

    Comodo FW + MBAE premium + AVAST free = awful drags and complete freezes, Comodo's and MBAE's icon got disappeared from the taskbar .

    I had to remove MBAE, now the laptop runs smooth.

    When I run CFW virtualization, the laptop gets dragged.

    Anyway I don't like that I cannot use all features of CFW and there's some overlap of CFW and AVAST core shields.
     
  23. StealthyTrojan

    StealthyTrojan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Portugal
    Avast Free with Hardened Mode enabled + Malwarebytes free.
    Chromium Edge with Smart Screen, uBlock Origin, Avast Online Security and Malwarebytes Browser Guard. Avast Password manager.
    Avast Secure Browser's Bank Mode for banking sites.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
  24. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Wigan
    There aren't many mentions here of using a NAT router. I have used one for more than 20 years. Perhaps that is a major contributory factor in my Internet security having not (yet) been successfully compromised.
     
  25. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,350
    OS: Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
    Account Type: Admin
    UAC: Default
    SmartScreen: Enabled
    Firewall: Windows Firewall
    Windows Defender: Enabled with ConfigureDefender (High)
    Real-Time:
    • Pumpernickel (FIDES)
    • AdGuard Premium
    Password Manager: Keepass 2.x
    Browser: Edge x64
    • All partitions (data and system) encrypted with Veracrypt
    • Daily data backup with SyncBackPro
    • Monthly system backup with Macrium Reflect WinPE Recue Disk
    • All data uploaded to cloud encrypted with Cryptomator
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.