Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Rakanisheu

    Rakanisheu Guest

    Those files were white-listed yesterday, although I didn't notice any tickets from users with issues. I`ll test it in a VM now, If anybody has any further issues please let me know.

    Looks like everything is working OK in my VM with Anti-Exploit
     
  2. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    412
    Out of curiosity, do you guys wait for tickets to drop in before you sort out the u files?
    Seems to defeat the purpose of a cloud antivirus?
    The non savvy users depend on you, the pros at Webroot, to sort this out, they will never even know if a file is monitored.
    Don´t get me wrong, I really like this product, but this is what I see when these users running WSA.
    This seem to be a area to improve, to be faster sorting out the u:s, without the help of users.

    Cheers

    /E
     
  3. Rakanisheu

    Rakanisheu Guest

    We have a number of queries that we look at on a 30 minute basis (usually less than that), common files, new files, updated files,monitored files, system files updated,files seen on a certain amount of PC's etc.

    MBAM Anti-exploit was actually already installed on a test VM and was working perfectly for me. I haven't seen any issue with in our support system, a lot of people use MBAM so if there were an issue we would see it fairly quickly.Generally speaking a program shouldn't have a problem even if its being monitored, and a file that is U doesn't mean that it will be monitored. That is one misconception that people sometimes have about our software. In the case of the malwarebytes files that were mentioned in here only one of them was being monitored and it wasn't causing an issue in my VM.
     
  4. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    412
    Good to know that a U does not always mean it is monitored.
    In that case I was more speaking of monitored files, I have been called out to fix faulty software installations, were the installation file were monitored by WSA, stopping it from install properly.

    This has been legal, but unknown software's to WSA, monitored for days and more until I did allow them by hand, to get them to install or in case they did install work properly.

    /E
     
  5. Rakanisheu

    Rakanisheu Guest

    Some custom software or software that isn't very popular may slip through the net and will require a customer to send in a ticket to support. I have seen customer software used by companies that may only been seen on 3 or 4 PC's. Generally though installation programs being monitored wont stop them from installing unless there is a file that is detected bad in the package/installation process. It's worth noting that monitoring isnt an on/off process either, there are multiple levels of monitoring depending on what the process is trying to do. Very light monitoring will realistically never cause any issues.

    For instance here log snippet's from a test PC:

    C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\FlashPlayerUpdateService.exe [F79623288F2A357AB20288B5DC4F452A]. Type: 1

    This is only type 1 monitoring (checking net connections) for the flash updater service. Service works fine and Flash will update perfectly.

    Monitoring process c:\users\admin\appdata\local\temp\ovobivqz.exe [---------------------------------------]. Type: 9 (11272)

    Here however is a fake AV that is getting a bit more attention from the client (sandboxing,analysing etc) :)
     
  6. bandaid

    bandaid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    Actually the counter shows 1 when I open google chrome and the logs page shows protected. What happens is Chrome just hangs and will not function. Thanks for your help vojta.
     
  7. bandaid

    bandaid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    You are too quick for me! I didn't get a chance to contact webroot yet but thank you. At first I thought I had to adjust WSA and MBAE would work but I think my issues with MBAE are not connected to WSA. I uninstalled MBAE and when I have time I will contact support for MBAE.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  9. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Will you please give me some examples of programs, besides browsers, that you have added to application protection?
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  11. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Thanks, TH.
    One more thing, have you seen the following error? See attached.

    Go to Active Connections and double-click any process.

    version 8.0.6.28
    W8.1 x64
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you rebooted since WSA updated? Also how about Windows Updates?

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  13. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Yes, I rebooted and all Windows updates have been applied. The problem didn't start with 8.0.6.28, it was also present in the previous version. I manually updated to the newest version to see if it would take care of the problem.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please do a clean reinstall of WSA and Please follow the steps closely!

    • Make sure you have a copy of your Keycode
    • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
    • Download a Copy Here
    • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
    • Install with the new installer, enter your Keycode and don't import any settings as you can set it up as you like once it's done
    • Let it finish it's install scan
    • Reboot once again
    Please let us know if that resolves your issue?

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  15. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    I followed your instructions and still receive the error message.
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Okay now you have to contact Webroot Customer Service so they can look into it deeper as I have not seen this issue but if others did then support would know. But please come back and let us know how it went.

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  17. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    I submitted a ticket and will let you know what support comes up with. Thanks for the help.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great and it's my pleasure!

    Daniel
     
  19. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Now that I think about it, I don't think the GUI is supposed to open any options to allow or block connections since I'm on Windows 8.1. Could it be that the error is there because the option in Windows 8 is not there? Maybe, it should be non-clickable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  21. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,907
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Thanks for the link.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    Is there a way to make WSA work together with WFC?

    How can I be a betatester of the 2015 edition?

    Is there any reported incompatibility with MBAE
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As far as I hear it works fine with Windows Firewall Control and no issues with MBAE as Roy tested the 2 fully: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...ion-update-thread.364655/page-33#post-2435370 . Also they don't use the year anymore they decided to go via a Road-map of things they want to do for the year so it's a continuing process! As far as I can say they are improving the Web Shield the Rollback and Remediation engine for new threats the UI is staying the same and 1 or 2 new things for the coming year.

    Here is the Link for anyone that what's to be a BETA Tester: https://community.webroot.com/t5/An.../Looking-for-Webroot-Beta-testers/td-p/175350

    Cheers,

    Daniel :)
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    I'm on windows 8 with WFC and the latest version of WRA and WFC doesn't work, It doesn't save apps allowed and the list of allowed apps has been wiped out after WRA installation.
    I will uninstall and install WFC to see if it works. If you need any other information let me know, or where should I report this bug?

    BTW I see that WR doesn't appear in almost any test, AVC or AVtest, is there any report about the performance or detection/protection?
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.