Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    If you recommend it so much, I might have to try it another time then coz I trust everything you say
     
  2. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Installed WSA AntiVirus after being away from it for 1 year due to crazy FPs, let's see if it has improved
     
  3. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Sigh......dunno how can anyone use this junk, I have MPC-BE installed to play my videos, I tried launching a video, no audio/ stuttering and jerky motion / seeking through diff. parts of the movie causes MPC-BE to freeze!

    So I checked the system monitor and MPC-BE was in a monitored state, I set it to allow, then tried re-launching it, no joy.

    Then I shut down WSA completely, still no joy, tried different videos, same issue. Never had a problem with it before. So I uninstalled WSA and the videos are playing normally!

    bye bye WSA! If an AV comes in the way of using my computer, out the window it goes!
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    that is very odd. im going to test this now. i normally do not see this behavior at all from wsa. give me a bit im curious to see what is causing it, honestly i dont see issues like this with it. i would never have recc it to you if i did..

    edit: okay installed and see the issue try this to solve it (its not just a webroot issue with mpc-be from what i can see im seeing this behavior testing with a few different av's (i have multiple test systems here). try this: there is a svp setting that says turn off on seek, change this to turn off by 2 sec instead and let me know if that works. it fixed it here for me. and i have sent in a request for them to add this program so hopefully it will not be under monitor. but the freezing on seek is a common issue from what im reading webroot or not. (not saying your issue is not from webroot just that this seems to be a common issue) it seems mpc is very picky about anything filtering or messing with it at all. there are some other fixes i also found. seeing same thing from using with eset, avira, panda, and avast also. actually with wsa im seeing the least amount of lag vs the others in playback. eset for me is the worst here its very choppy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014
  5. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Hi bro,

    firstly, SVP was not running, god knows what might've happened if SVP was running with MPC-BE and Webroot

    Secondly, I use Shark 007 ADVANCED Codecs 4.8.7 + MPC-BE 1.4.3.5588 (madVR 87.10 Edition) which I also downloaded from the Shark 007 website, the issue of this freezes was not there with any AV I have used, be it NOD32 or KAV, or Avira, etc.

    Now this was a very bad start, if something so simple such as an MP3 player is not whitelisted, then god knows what else I was gonna face.

    Additionally, what interests me is, why after adding MPC-BE to ALLOW rather than MONITORED and even completely shutting down WSA I continued to have the issue is beyond me, but what I know is the moment I installed WSA and rebooted my system started acting normally.

    Mind you, it also had my VPN (Private Internet Access) which is one of the most popular VPNs out there as (monitored) which again, I have set it to ALLOWED.

    Sorry, I respect your opinion and exprience, but WSA is not for me :(
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no problem its not for everyone. ahh okay most people use svp with mpc-be and usually this is the fix for that. its interesting though that even the vpn was monitored. ill look more into this as well. mpc-be is not a super common program which is probably why it in not in the list yet. i honestly only know of a small handful of people who use it. one thing after setting to allow did you try to reboot the system? i have seen on a few occasions after setting to allow i had to reboot if the program was running already in the backround. again just curious to try to figure out what caused it. i will say (without saying who here per your email) imo your other choice will be worse then wsa on the system thats for sure i refuse to run that one at all anymore. also i have 3 videos running on mpc now and man eset and avast make the video very choppy. i was a bit surprised by that. testing with kis now.
     
  7. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Yes man, did reboot, even shut down WSA after the reboot, something that was running in the background related to WSA was not letting MPC-BE work properly.

    Although it isn't as popular as say MPC-HC, but still, it is not unknown as a lot of advanced people who prefer to tweak everything in their player prefer it rather than MPC-BE since it doesn't come prebundled with its own LAV decoders so you are free to install the latest LAV decoders. I have no issue contactiny Webroot, having it whitelisted and so forth, but you see man, the issue is, I don't wanna waste my time doing this everytime it gets updated which is very often. Secondly, the whole way of how WSA works surprised me, as in, if I shut it down, it should be shutdown, meaning my system should function as if no AV was there but nope!

    Also trying the WSAClean to remove WSA, removed all registry entries and stuff, then asked me to reboot, WSA was there! What the heck! I had to manually uninstall it and then run the tool. Very confusing. Not happy at all.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    its cool. was worth a shot imo is all. i dont use the clean tool normally. i find i just uninstall reboot and run something like ccleaner and all is good. i had a issue with the clean tool before similar to what you saw with older webroot versions. odd that when you shut it down it didnt shut down. for me it totally shuts down fully. these things are what bug me and drive me nuts i always like to find out the cause lol. im a bit ocd like that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014
  9. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    welcome to the club
     
  10. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    This is great, is there a similar way to delete old consoles that are not in use anymore, or do you still have to contact support for this simple task?

    /E
     
  11. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,309
    Thanks Triple Helix, I am looking forward to test 8.05 :D
     
  12. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,309
    I have found a terrible bug with WSA, in portuguese version it simple doesnt protect browsers against keyloggers, but if I install the english version everything works.
    In portuguese version even the captcha doesnt work (when you try to unistall it) :eek:
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Where is this WSAClean? Never heard of it Webroot does not have a removal tool for WSA but it does for the legacy products 2011 and earlier but that tool doesn't work on WSA.

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you do still. Just think if every user had control of the consoles and deletes it in which they should not of been done in there first place? Bigger issues for the user IMO.

    Sorry,

    TH
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well that sounds like a big problem and it's best to report it ASAP to Webroot. Webroot Customer Service

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    you know i was thinking about this after i responded to him this morning i was about to come here to post that i thought the wsaclean was for legacy versions. i dont use it as i said and i rarely used to use it either so it slipped my mind at the time. if i remember right it was only for software older than 2012 as you said. i have personally seen more then a few times though when i went to uninstall webroot even after a reboot it would either still be there or reinstall itself somehow. i even talked with joe about this a while back and a few others reported this also but that was a while back. i dont think off the top of my head i have seen that issue in a while.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  18. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    125
    I recived version 8.0.5.107 today – can someone shere with a change-log ?
     
  19. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    • Further scan engine improvements.
    • Compatibility with Dropbox overlay icons.
     
  20. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    125
    Thank you siketa – a short one this time, so I asume that everything basicly must work as intended. :)
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    125
    Thanks Triple Helix for further information – I haven`t had the time to catch up with the latest news.
     
  23. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Not too many changes in this New version. Too bad.
     
  24. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    370
    Keep up the. Good work. Yes I can feel the power from webroot its make me fly with lightness. And run faster then a nascar car
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Like I said they are not doing big Program Updates every year but via a roadmap as to what they want to do for the next year and I like all the Idea's but I can't share but I know everyone will like them IMO.

    TH :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.