Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    The link in the beta email I save from a long time ago doesn't work anymore.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Look for a PM!
     
  3. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Everytime I am about to install my WSA 3 year license, I read the Webroot forums and get scared away with the horrible false positives and high CPU usage threads! :(
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    if you read any support forum for any security tool you will never install any software :D.
    This is the nature of support forums, you mostly find problems, the majority of users will not think to come to a support forum to post about the fact they don't need support because everything works well.
     
  5. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Fair enough, you have a point :D
     
  6. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Excellent point fax. I never thought of it that way. :)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also that's why we encourage users with any issues to contact support to get things fixed that others don't see and the support is second to none IMO.

    TH :)
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    I logged into the web console today and noticed that there are multiple entries for some of my PCs. Do you know why that is and is there a way I can remove the duplicates, or do I need to contact Support for that? And by the way, is 8.0.4.131 the current release (non beta)?
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you done OS reinstalls or Clone VM's?

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    I cloned the hard drives in my desktop and laptop when I replaced them with SSDs. Would that cause the multiple entries in the web console? In any case how can they be removed?
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Do you have Admin right's? Go in there and click on your email address then Account Settings and make sure you set to Admin and save and try again and if it doesn't work wait 30 to 45 minutes and try again and in the end if it still does not work contact support about it! Webroot Customer Service

    Daniel :)

    2014-11-07_11-19-24.png
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    That was it! Thanks :thumb:
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You're very welcome!

    Cheers,

    Daniel :thumb:
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    mortal just a thought i would try it out yourself. or do what i do in a consumer environment. buy even just one 3 pc or 5 pc lic and give it out to that amount of people for testing for free. and let them know this is what you are doing. (if its free 99% of the time they will not say no lol) and choose people you deal with and can work with to talk and keep track of how its going etc and that allow you to remotely check those systems to see how its working. when i first offered it this is how i tested it in a real world setting. i had 50 people as testers and had all feedback logged and kept track of everything to see how well it was working or not. i always do this with every new av even if i personally like it does not mean average users will and this is a perfect way to find out.

    as far as fp's my email had info on that and high cpu use i VERY VERY rarely see. i think maybe twice i saw that on a clients machine and a wsa reinstall for whatever reason fixed the issue. i did get your email ill respond back when i get home for the day its a very busy day for me again.
     
  17. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    zfactor,

    Do you use Eset , Webroot and Avira togheter or just only Webroot WSA. I wan't too try WSA again with no other antivirus thats why i ask it.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no i only use them separate not together.
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I think it's his "top 3 AV products" but he doesn't use them together no :)

    See above!
    Hmmm..I hate posting at the same time :ouch:
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  21. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    How good is WSA too you? I now have Avira pro
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i really like wsa i use it on some of our own home systems and i have it in place on hundreds of clients machines currently if that tells you anything. however i do think avira is a bit better at prevention though.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would not say that WSA's Monitoring of unknown files and it's Rollback feature has to be taken into account the only area that needs attention is for PUP's or PUA's but we are pushing to see if we can get Webroot to listen to us! If you can please Kudo this feature request on the top left of the page: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Ideas-Exchange/Block-All-Bundled-Software/idi-p/156643

    And here they explain the Ransomeware:
    Webroot Webinar - Evolution of Encrypting Ransomware Oct 23 2014
    https://www.brighttalk.com/webcast/8241/127363

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    let me explain my statement. with wsa i do see at times where a client has something being "monitored" and as we wsa users know normally eventually (usually pretty quickly) this will be stopped and removed. imo the blocking should be done first then if found to be safe allowed to run this way would prevent having to even use rollback normally. very rarely i do see wsa "miss" something (but we both know it doesnt really miss it per say) it does however monitor it for later. this is the only area of wsa i had to bring myself to get used to. im of the old fashioned idea that anything thought to be malicious should be blocked up front or at least stopped from running till deemed safe. head to head i stand by my statement that avira does have a bit better up front "prevention" and dont take that the wrong way because i dont have avira installed on over 500 machines at the moment if that tells you i really like wsa.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.