µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    860
    Location:
    California
    Ahh now it works, First, I enabled the Fanboy's annoyances list, Facebook still showed me ads and people I may know

    then I added the facebook annoyances list from this list: abp:subscribe?location=https%3A%2F%2Feasylist-downloads.adblockplus.org%2Ffb_annoyances_full.txt&title=facebook%20annoyances%20blocker

    unlike before, now it prompted me to add it to my custom filters list in uBlock and it works :)
     
  2. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    How do I block this ad from windows deal?

    2016-10-25_092752.png
     
  3. Petrovic

    Petrovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Russia
    Code:
    /wp-content/plugins/arscode-ninja-popups/*
     
  4. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks :thumb:
     
  5. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Does these command line (disallow-doc-written-script-loads & enable-framebusting-needs-sameorigin-or-usergesture) currently have effect? I can't find source about them...
    It seems many of were-once-useful commands are removed, tho enable-strict-site-isolation was marged to site-per-process and there're some new switches like enable-strict-powerful-feature-restrictions. It's almost impossible to keep up with latest changes...
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,174
    Some information about this:
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,401
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, what about my idea to make uBlock block Flash and HTML5 Video? Also, what about an option to only block scripts? I still would like to block scripts on Google, but I can't figure out how to do this with uBlock without breaking the page, like with NoScript.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The right click context menu doesn't seem to be working in FF / CF on one of my machines since updating to 1.9.16, and yes I have that setting enabled.

    It works as normal on my other two machines and in Chrome on the machine with this issue.

    Any ideas?

    Edit: Resetting to default then importing my setup file seems to of fixed it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2016
  9. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,171
    Is that this? https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/issues/308. Looks frustrating for users and developer.
     
  10. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,171
  11. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,865
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,401
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I totally forgot about this, it was already mentioned earlier in the thread. But it's a big problem for me, since there aren't any good script-blockers for Vivaldi/Chrome strangely enough. Google with scripting enabled feels a bit choppy and for some reason I can't turn off "auto-suggest".
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What's wrong with ScriptSafe?
     
  14. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,865
    ... or better yet uMatrix?
     
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,174
    This will never happen, because:
     
  16. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    719
    Slightly out of topic: It is possible to install µBlock Origin into Ungoogled? If yes, than how? Thanks!
     
  17. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,865
    Yes, see here.
     
  18. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,171
    http://www.ghacks.net/2016/10/30/firefox-ublock-origin-webextension-released/
    @gorhill: I noticed WebExtension capture exceptions being mentioned in the chrome.webRequest docs:
    and on the Firefox side I saw a couple of capture related bugs plus comments that indicate Mozilla is intending to prevent WebExtensions from capturing at least Firefox's own background traffic. So under both platforms, and I'm guessing others, it appears that it will not be possible to... even on an admin-configured-exception basis... have a WebExtension that can monitor or block all traffic.

    Is that your understanding? Would you happen to be documenting these limitations, somewhere, for your own extensions? I, maybe others too, would like to know what you've found.
     
  19. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    do you need to deactivate uBlock Origin or will both work along side each other?
     
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,174
    You can use uBlockO or uBlockO-webextension, not both at the same time. And if you want to try the webextension you must have a nightly version of Firefox (52+).
     
  21. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Thanks, so it will be enabled by default in future version.
     
  22. I always thought uBlock0 was the extension with the lowest memory footprint?

    upload_2016-11-1_7-53-28.png
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Size does not equal RAM. ;)
     
  24. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,849
    Location:
    Slovenia
    This shows how much disk space extension occupies. It doesn't tell us how it behaves once it's loaded.
    I see that Krusty beat me to it :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.