µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    I tried Redmorph free version default settings on latest Comodo Dragon browser.

    Dont know about privacy/tracking but blocks lesser ads compared to uBlock Origin defaults. And also blank space in the place of ads. It was just a quick try with couple regular sites I visit.
     
  2. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    As of now, the ability to define the resources are restricted to be created by author only..
    So, for you to redirect this resource (..library-14.5-1.4.0.1.js), a dummy resource has to be defined by Raymond at-least for now..
     
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
    hey raymond,thx for jumping in. i use firefox latest (and only firefox for my needs - chrome, when some ask me)
    and the latest RC is already installed, i read about the new feature, eg usable on chip.de to avoid leading ad-videos, work like charm.

    but i did not yet understand this new redirect option
    which part of it is the source and which one the redirect server with surrogate?

    example
    http://www.focus.de/digital/videos/...rtphone-angebot-von-aldi-sued_id_5139071.html

    to bad my try from above dont work.
     
  4. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    gorhill,

    Why Chrome Store has UO 1.3.3 version? Latest stable version is 1.3.6.
    Will my UO automatically upgrade from 1.3.3 to 1.3.6?
     
  5. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't understand what you are trying to do. At your URL to focus.de, there is a video which seems all fine -- no ads.
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
    not sure, what you improved last days but now no ads like last days, thx
     
  7. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    Stopping the nasty pop-up window of Imagebam
    with
    Code:
    imagebam.com###sponsor-modal
    Original Post
     
  8. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
  9. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Location:
    Canada
    I didn't change anything related to this site. However I know this site will have ads if you use the Flash-based player -- I had forgotten about this, see this.
     
  10. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't have Iceweasel, but it's the same thing as Firefox, right? The site worked fine in Firefox. Use the logger to find out what is being blocked which prevents the site from loading.
     
  11. pasmal

    pasmal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    The new redirection infrastructure feature in v1.4.0 is going to be pretty cool once filters and additional resources are added.

    Can't wait to see this getting even better! Thanks gorhill!
     
  12. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
    OK. It is because of my intensive filters.
     
  13. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    @gorhill

    As Imagebam has been a popular image Hosting site,
    it would be helpful to include
    Code:
    imagebam.com###sponsor-modal
    so that the nasty pop-up window will disappear.

    I hope you add the above in one of the next updates..
    .

    Check


    http://www.imagebam.com/image/5f2726452233834
     
  14. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,905
    This should be rather included in Easylist. You should contact them here.
     
  15. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,207
    Why is there no temporary rules for say allowing popups or remote fonts?

    I myself have blocked both of these in global rules:
    no-popups: * true
    no-remote-fonts: * true

    On some sites I need to allow these, but would not want permanent rules to be made unless I padlock them. Which is not now possible because the UI has no padlock for them.
     
  16. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Location:
    Canada
    Because the padlock/eraser are not accessible in basic mode. In basic mode, all switches are sticky by default.
     
  17. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    FYI, 1.4.0 is now live on the Web Store.
     
  18. @gorhill

    Thx for redirect. Documentation was a bit hard to figure out, hope I understood it correctly (added a redirect rule in bold in My Filters).

    See post (Noscript thread), where I had to allow google analytics for nu.nl with uMatrix

    Now it works while blocking google-analytics, see picture with NO Third Party Filters and only My Filters containing two rules (block third party scripts andf redirect google-analytics)

    :thumb: videos play


    upload_2015-12-15_8-45-39.png
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2015
  19. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Thanxx for the info.
     
  20. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    Why Not in one of the uBlock filters
    dealing with pop-ups? :isay:
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  21. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    So, every one (uBlock and ABP+ users) can benefit.. :)
    Also, general rule is that, any filter list issue, should be fixed by the filter list maintainers. This would reduce burden on the Raymond, and all the users can benefit. Unless, it can't be fixed by filterlist maintainers. (such as things like inline tag scripting, redirect resources)
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  22. Chway

    Chway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Hello,

    I'm really tired of all these terrible fonts on a lot of websites these days, so I added no-remote-fonts: * true in my rules, it work as expected, now I want to allow some specific fonts (Awesome Font) who can "break" the design too much if blocked. Any ideas ?
     
  23. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    Not sure, if i could allow specific fonts. Maybe there is a static filter rule for it.
    However you can disable no-remote-fonts switch per site. sth like
    Code:
    no-remote-fonts: www.wilderssecurity.com false
    Just open uBlock popup UI --> unselect the 4th icon at the bottom.
     
  24. Chway

    Chway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Yes, that is what I did until today, sadly while icon fonts can be necessary, other fonts on the same page can be awfull. :'( Basically, Font Awesome is the only font I need.
     
  25. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    Can you give me an example of the site, where it uses?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.