µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    930
    That did not work for me. At first I thought it was okay, but the filter seemed to only delay the pop-up from showing. I'm still using v 1,13,8 with FF ESR, because of the ublock settings problem mentioned here, but I'm assuming this should not matter for the filter.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
  2. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm using the AAK-Cont Filters For uBlock Origin together with Tampermonkey (see https://gitlab.com/xuhaiyang1234/AAK-Cont#installation-instruction) and have no problems with The Windows Club.
     
  3. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    278
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
  4. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    930
    I was hoping to avoid another FF addon. Is the user script mentioned the only way to get by the add blocker detection now used by windowsclub?
     
  5. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    278
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
    Blocking the "Inline Scripts" did the trick for me and i don't see the adblocker detected warning in thewindowsclub.com anymore.
     
  6. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It could probably be solved by a filter rule, but i'm not good at that, maybe other can help you with that. Or by blocking inline scripts for that site like @Nanobot mentiones.
    For me the most hasslefree/reliable way is the user script soon to be replaced by AdBlock Protector 2 when that comes out of beta. Thanks @Nanobot :thumb:
     
  7. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    930
    Thanks, that doesn't seem to break anything else on that site.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,896
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, I'm still using an older version, that's why I didn't see some of the filters. Will the newest uBlock version work correctly in Firefox 50? I just downloaded it in FF 54, and seems like all settings disappeared. And it also seems like these filters can't block all of the cookie alerts, as if they have become more aggressive, I wonder what's wrong with the people who came up with this! And lastly, it seems like uBlock doesn't work correctly in Vivaldi, can anyone check?
     
  9. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    289
    Location:
    USA
    I don't think the newest uBO will work in FF versions older than 57. Gorhill recommends using 1.13.8 and disabling updates on older FF versions. I'm using the "firefox.xpi" version of 1.13.8 in both FF ESR 52.5 and Waterfox 55.2.2 with no problems.

    https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/releases/tag/1.13.8

    https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Firefox-WebExtensions#read-carefully-if-using-ubowebext
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,488
    I use it with Vivaldi and works well...
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,577
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Does anybody encounter problem with 3rd party filters status on Firefox 57 with 1.14.18.
    If I update filters and then restart Firefox it again shows that filters are out of date:

    upload_2017-11-21_18-59-21.png

    I can't find a way to get to "updated" status.
     
  12. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    Italy
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,577
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Thank you Sampei for that link. That workaround didn't work so I changed settings in FF, disabled private browsing mode and reconfigured History settings. That solved the problem. Thnx again.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Just playing with Advanced Settings of uBO in Edge. I have enabled blocking of third party frames as suggested, but is it advisable to also enable blocking of third party scripts?
     
  15. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    UK
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  17. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    Italy
    :thumb:

    The "AAK - Cont Filters For UBO" List should have disappeared?
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,739
    Location:
    .
    @Minimalist Think I may have similar #3161. What History setting did you reconfigure. I do not use private browsing.
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The No Coin filter list currently has 31 entries while the list the No Coin extension uses currently has 53.
    Hmm,

    I do use Private Browsing mode and do not have that problem. :doubt:
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2017
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,577
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Here are my current settings which don't cause a problem to me:

    upload_2017-11-25_5-9-11.png

    Did you set up special permissions for uBlock as described at ghacks?
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,577
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Hm. Then I don't know. It just didn't work for me, until I allowed cookies to be set.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,891
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Don't know, Mate. I did reset my FF profile not long ago.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,896
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, so it's best not to update uBlock, but then I won't have some filters. Will do some testing.

    OK thanks. What a bummer, then something might still be wrong with my Vivaldi profile. I hoped I had fixed that already.
     
Loading...