TrueImage 8 and vista

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by david banner, Jan 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    As a test, using the version 8 build 937 Rescue CD, I did a backup and successfully restored a Vista system. However, I don't think you can install version 8 on Vista.
     
  3. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    It installed for me and it will run but gives a warning of being incompatible
     
  4. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    How do you make the rescue CD without installing
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    You don't ... you install on a non-Vista system.
     
  6. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    Use your old true image boot cd to make the backup.
     
  7. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    What old true image boot cd? I do not understand this
     
  8. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    So I can install on my XP computer but how can I copy the vista disk then?
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The bootable Rescue CD that you make on your XP system will work on the Vista system.
     
  10. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    So I make the bootable cd on xp and that cd will backup vista?
     
  11. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It will backup the disk; it doesn't care what data is on it.
     
  12. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Oh I am beginning to understand. I make a bootable cd in the xp computer? Then boot from that in the vista computer? when booted i use that cd to make a backup of the disk with vista on it? And if I need to recover from a crash put the bootable cd into the vista pc and restore the image from that? Is this correct?

    There is one problem if above is right.My XP does not have a cd rewriter, can it be done on a USB as at
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,2041234,00.asp
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If TI 8 supports booting from a USB device, then you should be able to get it to work.

    Does TI 8 have the Acronis Media Builder program?
    Does it give the option of creating a bootable USB Flashdrive? (Make sure the Flashdrive is FAT or FAT32 and plugged in before you start Media Builder.)

    Also, if TI 8 allows you create an ISO file, you can create the ISO and then burn it to a CD using a different computer and a program like Nero that allows buring of ISO files.
     
  14. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    It does actually

    I do not see any reference to that

    It says memory stick, they are alll flash drives aren't they?

    Don't see any mention of ISO not really sure what that means.

    Thanks for the info
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    A Memory Stick should be the same thing as a USB Flashdrive.

    With TI 9 and later the Media Builder program shows the devices like this:
    media_builder_devices.jpg
    In this example, the A: drive is the floppy drive and the I: drive is a USB Flashdrive. The "ISO Image" option lets you create the CD ISO image that can be burned onto a CD using Nero or another ISO capable program.

    TI 8 may have a different name for the program or it may need to be started from inside TI as "Build/Create Rescue Media" or something like that.
     
  16. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Yes there is a Personal Rescue Media Builder but there is no mention of ISO in my TI8. And clicking on properties brings up a Norton Save And Restore tab. I have Norton 360?
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello david banner,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that Acronis True Image 8.0 does not support Windows Vista. The support for Windows Vista was implemented starting with Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  18. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    ATI8 doesn't run under Vista but it runs under the linux that is on the ATI 8 boot cd. Note that the newer your hardware, the less likely that the BootCD of an older version or build of ATI will be able to deal with the hardware -- that is, it might not see on eor more of the drives or not be able to properly read write from/to them. If you have such disk probs with ATI8, then you should think about updating to version ATI10, if you can find it for sale, or to ATI11 once the bugs in ATI11 are worked (something later than build 8053).

     
  19. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    what do you think of the idea of making a rescue cd on a non vista pc and booting from that to make backup?
     
  20. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Read messages #2, #9 and #11.
     
  21. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    I wanted to see what the Acronis support poster Marat Setdikov would think of that idea, to see if there is any official confirmation it will work and not mess up this -new- computer
     
  22. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Their official answer is in message #17.
     
  23. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Do you speak on behalf of Acronis support?
     
  24. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The official position is that version 8 is not supported with re to Vista. They're not going to spend resources trying to make a version work with Vista they never designed to work with Vista. Others have offered very good answers to your questions.

    I don't mean to be patronizing but if you read the above posts and the manual you will have all the info you need. Again, I don't mean to offend but it looks like you need to do some more homework before going further posing questions because the answers, correct as they are, don't seem to be helping you. You need a certain basic amount of information before additonal info can be really helpful.

    You've probably spent more value in time writing questions, reading answers, doing installs, and making disks than the cost of just upgrading to Vista compatible version of ATI that you could load right onto your Vista PC. But even if you did that, it still wouldn't assure that you could do backups, because first you have to read the manual and understand what a BootCD is and why you need to make one with any installation of ATI.


    good luck,

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.