Trial version : image not found on DVD used for full backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Browser_ice, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Today I installed the True Image Home v 9 Trial edition.

    I did a full HD backup of my 2 HD to 2 DVDs with True Image Home Full and safe.

    Upong booting the first DVD, the True Image boot menu loads but no matter which options I use, it cannot see any image on my 2 DVDs.

    What is wrong ?

    Did I forgot something ?

    Is the trial version buggy ?
     
  2. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Am I suppose to create a Rescue CD to use my 2 DVD containing True Image Home and my Image ?

    I only did a full HD backup on streight to my DVD (when asked for where to put the archive file, I pointed at my DVD burner).

    Is the archive file supposed to be the actual image ? If not, then I don't understand and even after looking at the Docs, I still believe that the archive file is the actual image and therefore, to be put on DVDs.

    In other words, if I do a full HD Image onto a DVD with True Image Home Full and Safe added, do I ONLY need to boot from THAT DVD and pick Restore option o_O?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2006
  3. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    If I look at the DVDs through XP, I only see the 2nd (last) DVD as containing any files at all. It contains a *.tib file but the first one shows nothing.

    I know the first has something since I can boot from it and access a True Image Home menu. But shouldn't the first DVD show the same *.tib file ?

    The image process took 16 minutes, it only took like 2 min for the second DVD to be burned. The first DVD took like 14 mins.
     
  4. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    No answers even if a bunch of people looked at it ?
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Browser_ice ,

    What's the build number of True Image that you installed (click on Help > About)?

    Regards
     
  6. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Acronis*True*Image*Home® Trial version 9.0 (build*3,633)

    I had set the following default options :

    password
    compression level=maximum
    backup priority=normal
    archive spliting=4.7Gb fixed
    Madia components : True Image Home Full=CHECKED, One-Click Restore=CHECKED,True Image HOme Safe=CHECKED
    Additional settings: Validate backup=CHECKED
    Restoration Priority=Normal
    Additional settings: Valide=CHECKED, Check File System=CHECKED

    To indicate what I did, I am repeating the procedure now but the only difference to how I did it, is that now I didn't installed my Linux on my partitions of my first HD (drive U and X):

    -Did backup
    -Entire disk contents
    -checked both my HD so all partitions would be picked up
    -When asked for Backup Archive location, I gave new name and pointed at my DVD burner (HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-31638 A102)
    -Create new Full Backup archive
    -Use Default options
    -Entered small description in Archive Comments
    -then it gave me this list of operations (this is from now:

    Create Full Backup Archive
    From:Disk 1, Disk 2
    To:CD- RW Drive (L:)\Bkp-Full-PC.tib
    Password protected
    Compression:Maximum
    File Split:4.34 GB
    Description:
    "XP Basic installation"

    Operation 1 of 3
    Creating Bootable Media with selected Acronis products
    Components:
    "Acronis One-Click Restore, Acronis True Image Home (Full version)..."
    Operation 1 of 11
    Saving partition structure
    Hard disk:1

    Operation 2 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:1
    Drive letter:C:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:
    Size:40 GB

    Operation 3 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:1
    Drive letter:U:
    Type:0xE (FAT16 LBA)
    File system:Ext3
    Volume label:
    Size:25 GB

    Operation 4 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:1
    Drive letter:X:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Linux- Swap
    Size:11.31 GB

    Operation 5 of 11
    Saving partition structure
    Hard disk:2

    Operation 6 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:S:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Swap
    Size:9.997 GB

    Operation 7 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:D:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Data
    Size:20 GB

    Operation 8 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:G:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Games
    Size:20 GB

    Operation 9 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:R:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:ReceivedFiles
    Size:25 GB

    Operation 10 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:O:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Other
    Size:50 GB

    Operation 11 of 11
    Creating partition image
    Hard disk:2
    Drive letter:Z:
    File system:NTFS
    Volume label:Backups
    Size:108.7 GB

    Backup Archive Validation
    Location:"L: \Bkp-Full-PC.tib"​

    I hit proceed
    it asked me for the first CD (I used DVD)
    progress went on for 16 min or so and used 2 DVDs
    removed DVD
    whiped out both my HD
    booted with first DVD
    True image home menu showed up where I think I had 4 options :
    - True image full
    - one click (description at bottom of screen was cut off)
    - true image safe
    - windows

    I tried the first 3 options and it couldn't find an image file
     
  7. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    If in Windows, I start True Image 9 Trial and go to RECOVERY, when asked for an archive location, I insert my first DVD and select my DVD-Burner, it doesn't list any archives. But if I insert my 2nd DVD, it sees it.

    The file on the second DVD is about only 72Mb. Since it recognizes it, I select restore selected files and at original location. It then asks me for the first DVD. I insert it and it keeps telling me to insert "volume 1" all over. I click retry and it still asks me. I click Cancel and it still asks me. I have to do Cancel a couple of times until it gets out.

    So it seams that even it if burned SOMETHING for 15 mins on my first DVD, it didn't set it up so the image would be visible.

    As this is a trial for 15 days, the trial periods slowly gets to that expiration time and I still didn't managed to make a successful image !!!
     
  8. nater351

    nater351 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same exact problem but i am not using the trial version.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Build 3633 which was the first to support direct-DVD burning has a lot of problems one of which is not finding the archives on the DVDs.

    Download 3677 and try it. There are still some issues but it at least works supposedly in many cases. For what works and what doesn't see Menorcaman's thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=137764

    Build 3677 primarily fixed scheduling issues and the DVD problems that existed in build 3666 are still present. There is a link in Menorcaman's post that references these problems with 3666 in more detail.
     
  10. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
  11. Browser_ice

    Browser_ice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Acronis says build 2677 fixes this problem but the trial has 3633.

    So when will there be a trial version with 3677 ?

    Since I already installed a trial version, when 3677 comes out, will I be able to install it anyway ? Won't it recognize I already had one ?


    I wanted to create a basic XP Installation and image it. If I have to wait days or weeks for it, I can't keep a basic installation for that long when I have a bunch of stuffs to re-install. Doing an image of my fully built PC will take like 6-8 DVDs (or maybe 3-4 Dual ones). So if you guys tell me a few weeks, then I'll simply re-install everything.

    Right now, I don't have the money to buy the full thing so having a working Trial to create a functional Image will ease my mind because, having to re-install everything witout a backup or image, takes a few days. I can't work full time on restoring everyting.
     
  12. Arnold_Layne

    Arnold_Layne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    This is really lame. I am trying to move to ATI after getting disgusted with Ghost.
    I'm the same prob with ver 3633, which I just downloaded last night, so I think it's the lastest trial version.
    My DVD's all show a *.tib file unders XP, but but nothing in the Recovery Console.
    One point from the above discussion- the Help directions state that after the console is booted, insert the last media to begin. And at least you are seeing that .tib file.
    If I insert a CD into the drive, Rec Console shows its contents.
    So even though I could boot from the DVD, Rec Con cannot read the DVD.
    It is DVD-R; maybe +R will work?
    But that means another backup sequence and 4 more DVDs to try it.
    Shouldn't Acronis do a decent amount of testing before releasing this? Especially a trial version? It's just disgusting- and people complain about Mr Softee!
     
  13. Arnold_Layne

    Arnold_Layne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Here's the answer from an earlier thread.
    (Question: why is 3633 still a trial download then?!)

    Hello selkov,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download and install the latest build (3666) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available in the Product Updates section of our web-site.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 3666.

    Please note that the problem with .tib files recognition on DVD in rescue mode was fixed in the build 3666.
    Please note also that your image created on DVD with the previous build will be restored by the latest one without any problems.

    Please restore your image with the latest build and see whether the problem still persists.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.