Trend Micro?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tomdy2k, Jan 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Trend came preinstalled on my sons Asus Laptop which was a nice change other then norton or McAfee but it was not Titanium for me but more like Tungsten, So no I dont use it for that very reason.
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I switch between that and others and for me its appeal is its lightness ,i find it on par with Bitdefender free.The free offer for the antivirus is another plus.
     
  4. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Thank you..
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Light? When I asked about it a few weeks ago people said it's heavy :rolleyes:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=334158
     
  6. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's great, I'm using their AV 2013 without any single issues so far.
    I created a thread about TrendMicro days ago: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=338999
    Btw, there's currently a 1y-free promo going on now for the AV and it's still alive yet I think, so if you are interested google is your friend or pm me for details.
     
  7. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    They say that about Bitdefender.I have only used the latest antivirus.I have tried both and others like Kaspersky,norton,avast.
    On my system Trend and Bitdefender run the lightest.Run another security product with them and things change.Your and others may be different .
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Last time I used Trendmicro Titanium, it was running kind of heavy. I believe it was running around 75K. It also slowed down browsing a little bit. The web filter is outstanding though.
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yea I tried just the AntiVirus and it sucked the life out of my system.I guess everyone system is different but I got the same results on two different systems. Some say bitdefender is heavy yet it runs light as a feather on all my systems 4 machines windows 7 laptops
     
  10. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    i got the exact same results like u on my system bro
     
  11. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    I actually came here with the same observation and question! I've got two months left on a three PC Norton AV license. This being the second year that it was free at Newegg after rebate. If, in the next two months the deal is there again, I'll use it again as Norton is fine on this system and I would only have to enter the # the day before expiration as opposed to un-install, cleanup and install of a new product. If it isn't offered and the reason I was posting, I to discovered this morning how well TMT is testing, believing it wasn't that good. The thing is, my cable company provides it free. So from the thread I have the basic information, however, does Titanium mean it's a firewall too, as I haven't even checked their site yet?
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i also tried Trend Micro for the first time and my system feels like if i am infected :) very slow and system freezze alot and the browser opens after like a 1 or 2 minutes :) so no way jose:thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    No way Jose. Bet you love using that line. :)
     
  14. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! Have used Trend Micro Titanium I.S.2013 on my system on and off over the past year...and I believe I still have a month or two remaining before it expires. On my system the 2013 was way more responsive...very little lagging while browsing...and minimal slowdowns on my Opera and Firefox browsers. I enjoyed it's layout and user friendly experience. Now with it's dramatic performance improvement...over the last quarter of 2012 and 2013...in regards to detection...I'm seriously considering purchasing a new license for 2013. Sincerely...Securon
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ofcourse :)
     
  16. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yes v.2013 is awesome! I can't tell for past releases though, last time I tried a TM product was around 2001, their antispyware iirc.
     
  17. auron12

    auron12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Greece
    Trend micro 2013 is using integrated cloud security and is very light.I use it for a long time now(Versions 2011, 2012 ,2013) and NO system slowdown no impact at all.And my system is 5 years old.Onse upon a time yes, it was heavy but the latest versions(2011+) has cloud engine with top performance and security.I test it many times in REAL time via browsing and local scans and never had a virus or malware issue.(and i have scan my system numerous times with malwarebytes and super antispyware)
     
  18. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I think people slowdown was with past versions
     
  19. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    So this is what I can get: "Join the thousands of Armstrong customers who are already using Trend Micro - Titanium Maximum Security 2013 FREE with their Zoom Internet subscription. That's a $89.95/year value!" Firewall too? I hope not, but why so expensive?
     
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Purplus...Trend Micro I.S.2013 3P.C.user...$16.95. Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just watch purplus some people have had bad keys from them.... i never had a issue but many have even some from wilders.
     
  22. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Lightness? Seriously? I tried on a 'fresh' snapshot on a fast gaming PC and the thing literally dragged the PC to a standstill. It was so intolerable I uninstalled it without even threat testing it. We're talking a 3.2Ghz+ Quad Core, 8GB DDR3, generally a very quick machine, and Trend made me feel like my machine was infected like the other guy noted above. Only thing worse on it was Trustport or Coranti.
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,091
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  24. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Performance as in fast browsing and security and its hard to beat.
     
  25. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    im currently using trend micro titanium AV. Its not very light as compared to others like nod32. Its taking too much time to start its protection..
    working ok in my systemo_O
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. JerryM
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    3,065
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.