TI 11 will not restore from within program

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cocteau48, Sep 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cocteau48

    cocteau48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Having used TI 10 faultlessly for over a year I have upgraded to TI 11 but find that it will not restore from within the installed program. Backups are OK and it will restore using the boot disk which I created (so I can complete a restoration) but when I try to restore from within windows it goes through the reboot sequence and gets as far as the normal Acronis screen with the two progress bars and then just hangs and eventually reboots back into windows.

    Running XP /SP3

    Everything works OK on my Vista laptop.

    Any ideas please.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    My first try would be to uninstall and reinstall TI if you haven't already.
     
  3. cocteau48

    cocteau48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Been there - done that.
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I realize now that you are referring to the Acronis main screen which means that the PC rebooted and fired up Linux and the TI program. The program might be checking the partitions on the HD or some similar activity. Please don't ask why it doesn't fail when you boot the CD manually :doubt: . Try running chkdsk X: /f on all your partitions in case TI is choking on something. Replace the X with the drive letter of the partition being tested. Normally, I would use the /r but I doubt it is un-used space giving any problem.
     
  5. cocteau48

    cocteau48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    What I have noticed is that when using the boot disk I get to the "Acronis loading please wait" screen and then some lines of script along the lines of Acronis is checking partitions,and those lines of script are visible for long enough to read them.
    When I get to the same screen after the reboot from within the Acronis program the script is gone in a flash. It then progresses to the main screen ,as you refer to it,and I get one flash of green on the progress bar and then it just hangs there - and subsequently reboots into the normal windows boot sequence.

    Strange that TI 10 worked faultlessly on the XP machine but when I loaded it into the Vista laptop it would only restore using the boot disk.
    Having bought TI 11 to hopefully cure this - the situation has completely reversed - works perfectly on the Vista machine but only restores using the boot disk on the XP machine.
     
  6. aqus555

    aqus555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I am having the same problem, and idf I may add that I have a dual boot system with xp and vista and the same thing happens on both OS's. And like original poster CD works. I tried writing to Acronis and the hard headed tech there keeps on saying that you can not restore an active partition unless you absolutely use the CD. Although I keep on telling him I could have done it with version 10, and that my neighbor who also upgraded to version 11 can restore his active C drive with no CD. My system does exactly as the original poster.
    TIA
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Hopefully, somebody may come up with the answer but it might be interesting to see if both of you are using the same motherboard and any special disk controllers.
     
  8. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    You should have read the posts I have posted over the last few weeks regarding TI 11 - I have gone back to TI 10 as 11 was just dreadful, far more trouble than its worth. I couldn't boot a recovery from Windows either, it started off for a few seconds then booted back into Windows, though it would boot OK from the rescue disk.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Anything of interest in the Windows Event Viewer at the reboot time.
     
  10. Ranger Bob

    Ranger Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    I have the same problem with v11 and have posted about it in another thread. I would like to find a replacement for TI if anyone has any suggestions.
     
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I was looking at Active@ Disk Image a few days ago ... seems to have possibilities. But since True Image ver 9 is working well for me, I didn't want to throw any more money at backup software.
     
  12. cocteau48

    cocteau48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Comforting as it is to find that I am not alone with this problem there does not appear to be a cure-all solution.
    In the meantime I have gone back to TI 10 on the XP machine which is now restoring as it should,and always did.
    I have left TI 11 on the Vista laptop where it also appears to function correctly on that machine.
    It's a solution but it's not right - is it ?
     
  13. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    One thing is perfectly clear - we aren't going to see any time soon a version that works correctly on all 'standard' PCs. In my case v10 gave me a number of unacceptable problems and Acronis gave me a free upgrade to 11. That was better but build 8053 still had problems. However build 8101 cured those and now it seems to be satisfactory.

    So my advice would be if you can find a version that works for you, even if you have to employ one or two workarounds, then stick with it and don't be tempted by the latest release, as it may or may not work well in your environment.
     
  14. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    I agree with much of what you say Earthling. However, what annoys the hell out of me is the fact that there have been various builds of TI 11 now and yet they can't even fix the progress bars the percentage or time remaining indicators when performing a recovery, not to mention the yellow warning that you have not yet scheduled any backups even when one has. These should be simple bread and butter fixes and yet Acronis can't be bothered to fix them. This all smacks of sloppy work ethics and a contempt for the customer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2008
  15. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    or a marketing department pushing for something new from a development team already overwhelmed by problems with existing products. It does not bode well for the integrity of v12
     
  16. aqus555

    aqus555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Just noticed version 2009 is out. Has anybody tried it to see if same issue as above posts is still happening. BTW I have never heard from tech support again. HORRIBLE SERVICE.
     
  17. woodie

    woodie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2
  18. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    ATI10 and ATI11 used diff linux engines and so whole diff sets of hardware drivers. The set of hardware setups on which each will work overlap but neither completely encompasses the other. Some that ATI10 worked on ATI11 wouldn't and vice versa. ATI12 seems to boot and to recognize the drives on all the machines I've tried it on, although version 12 has other problems of its own, but it does seem to have a beter set of drivers than either of its last two predecessors. I haven't checked whether the linux version is the same in 11 and 12. Anybody know that?


     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.