This is what the new Chromium-based Edge looks like

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by stapp, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Such a thing shouldn't be used by anyone, never.
    Besides, there is absolutely no need to use it.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,288
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :argh: No comment!
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Kendall, I don't know how missed this post when you posted it. Perhaps it was because I uninstalled Edge after having it for only a few hours, and havent been putting much attention to Edge but anyway, I answered your PM about Edge and SBIE today, and for other users who might have same questions as you, here is a link to a post by me related to Sandboxie and forcing Edge at the Sandboxie thread.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-acquired-by-invincea.357312/page-243#post-2888139

    Running Edge under Sandboxie is simple, there is nothing special that has to be set for Edge to run under SBIE. I ll add, as far as I can tell, all about running Edge under Sandboxie worked as can be expected, it ran just fine. Sandboxie messages are generated but again, they are to be expected.

    In your particular case, everything you are doing as you described is the way things are supposed to be, the only thing I can think of is perhaps you are not forcing the correct exe. So, make sure to force Edge's executable in Forced programs, look at the exe I forced in my picture. Also, dont force the entire Edge folder in forced folders. Do the exe only.

    Bo
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,863
    Microsoft is Adding Classic ‘Edge Mode’ to New Edge Browser
    January 24, 2020
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...adding-classic-edge-mode-to-new-edge-browser/
    [Updated] Chromium Edge will soon allow users to open websites in Legacy Edge Mode
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2020
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks.

    To be honest, I still don't know for sure if all Chromium browsers have got the same strong sandbox as Chrome. But all of these browsers are based on Chromium which offers sandboxing, so Edge should be quite secure. Same goes for Vivaldi, Opera and Brave.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,735
    Location:
    UK
    Does anyone see under Applications in the Windows Event Viewer..

    The description for Event ID 0 from source edgeupdatem cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted.
     
  7. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes. I have a couple of similar entries.

    Btw I installed the following extension

    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/proper-menubar-for-google/egclcjdpndeoioimlbbbmdhcaopnedkp

    but it seems that About => Help is leading to

    edge://edge/

    instead of

    edge://settings/help

    I reported this to the developer and I hope he can easily fix it.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I only had the new Edge for a few hours but in that short period of time I saw quite a few of those Events in the log. I thoght that perhaps they were generated like that because I disabled the check for updates tasks, but via PM, a friend , another member of this forum told me he was also getting same Events (he doesn't disable the tasks).

    The Event that really bothered me and pushed me to uninstall new Edge is an Audit Error 4625 that was generated every time I opened Edge. This Event is a Logon error, scares me a bit because is the kind of Event thats supposed to tell us that something is wrong. It concerns me because I dont really understand what it really means, why I am getting it and why the developers of Chromium dont do anything about it. They dont seem to care.

    This past few days, even after uninstalling Edge, I tested sandboxed other Chromium based browsers, including the ungoogled version of Chromium, to see if I also got same Audit errors with this browsers, and I did. So, this error is in Chromium, and is not generated because of anything Microsoft did to the code.

    Perhaps some of you long time Chrome/Chromium based browsers users are familiar with this error, know something about it and can put my mind at ease if this is something that can be safely ignored.

    This is an screenshot of the error.

    5s2U0R0.jpg

    I found this bug report for Chromium about Audit Error 4625. It tells that the account can get locked after getting so many of this errors. That scares me. I don't want to get locked out of my computer because of using Edge. I ll appreciate getting comments from Chrome users who are familiar with this error and if you know, please tell me, whats the bottom line about it? Thanks.

    https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromedriver/issues/detail?id=1258

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Yes sir, seeing a ton of them on my system.
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    71,608
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,376
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Actually stapp should be addressed as Madam...
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,735
    Location:
    UK
    @bo elam
    I have received that security error 4625 for a long, long time.
    I get it when I start a browser sandboxed. I don't worry about it anymore and I have never had my account get locked.
    I believe that I may have mentioned it on the old Sbie forum at one time.

    As for the original Event ID 0 that I asked if others had seen, I suspect it may be to do with the fact New Edge is so new they haven't audited the event viewer messages for it yet.
     
  13. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
    Who are you guys kidding? What are you downloading warez and torrents at every turn? You don't need Sandboxie, and the users that do need it won't make use of it.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,735
    Location:
    UK
    This thread is not about Sandboxie, It is about new Chromium Edge, and we are at the moment discussing errors in the Event Viewer related to it.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks, Stapp. Appreciate your response. Glad to read your account has never been locked, thats what scared me. You said, you get it when you start a browser sandboxed, do that means you get it with every browser you run, and only get the message when you run the browser/s sandboxed. This is important for me to know, please confirm.

    I never seen Event 4625 before (running browsers sandboxed or unsandboxed, but I never used any Chromium browser). With new Edge is the first time ever I see it. After reading your post, I am thinking that perhaps the error only happens in my computer when running Edge sandboxed, I thought about that, that perhaps the cause was the SBIE AnonymousLogon. The error code I get is 0xC000006E that translates as the reason for the error being "Unknown user name or bad password". So, it might be it. If you can confirm that the error only happens for you when you run Edge sandboxed, I ll probably reinstall Edge.

    Bo
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,735
    Location:
    UK
    @bo elam
    I get same error code. I get it with New Edge, and Vivaldi when starting them Sandboxied. (my default) So I don't worry about it no more.

    Event Viewer error codes can get you in a twist. If you look under System you may see DCOM error 10016. So many people have/had it that Microsoft put this page up, I don't worry about them anymore.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4022522/dcom-event-id-10016-is-logged-in-windows
    New Edge is performing okay for me when I use it. I think it is a good second browser to have on hand.
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks @stapp. Vivaldi has same Chromium engine, so I guess the error is expected. I saw the 10016 errors with Edge, I ignored those. The one that concerned me was the Audit error.

    When I tested Edge, I liked what I saw and how it felt.

    Bo
     
  18. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,428
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Can Edge-Chromium play Netflix in 4K?
     
  19. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,688
    So far I like Edge on Android, looks like a possible replacement for Chrome.
    May have to give the Windows version a spin.
    Currently still using Chrome on my laptop.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  20. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    When I start Edge unsandboxed I get the Warning "DistributedCom" . If I start Edge in Sandboxie, no warning. Any ideas anyone,
    as to how to get rid of this warning? DistributedCOM.png

    EDIT: Stapp has already addressed this problem. Disregard this post.
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,735
    Location:
    UK
  22. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    @stapp thanks for the reply. I noticed your post after my post. I'm with you that the new Edge is good secondary browser. Sticking with Firefox as my default browser. No warning or error alerts with FF in Event Viewer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  23. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,688
    Taking Microsoft Edge out for a spin.
    Haven't ran Edge in quite some time.

    Edit: I'm liking it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  24. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
    Yes, at the moment. That wasn't the case in posts 161-169 however, when some members were stating their need for Sanboxie, as well as comparing Sanboxie to AppContainer and legacy Edge, legacy Edge vs ransomware, the notion that Win 10 updates break Sanboxie while AppContainer never breaks, and the compatibility of Win 10 apps and Sandboxie, none of which seem to have much to do with the new Chromium Edge.
     
  25. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,447
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Google Chrome Gets Improved Tab Feature, Thanks to Microsoft
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...ets-improved-tab-feature-thanks-to-microsoft/
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.