Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    252
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Good to know new Edge is working with SBIE Current, this a good news for Edge users, but I am a FF fan girl, I love FF, I don't like Chrome, but at this moment and with this knowledge, If something goes wrong with FF and SBIE I know I have an alternative... yup new Edge... :cool:

    Camelia
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,381
    Location:
    .
    Task Triggers remain Disabled after machine Restart.
    png_3928.png png_3929.png
    Help > About > still checks for update.
    png_3930.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    That worked for me also. I would also see the white screen if I did not disable Hardware acceleration. :)

    Bo
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I updated Edge, and it feels pretty nice under Sandboxie. The only Sandboxie messages I gotten so far is when I open Settings.

    I disabled the 2 check for updates tasks the update puts in Task scheduler. Likely, disabling this tasks eliminates getting more SBIE messages.

    Bo
     
  5. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,080
    I wouldn't consider it good news per second, since it means in sandboxie Edge is not running in appcontainer.
     
  6. matra

    matra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello, could someone please explain briefly how I add the Edge Chromium Sandboxie.
    Thank you
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Matra, see picture for setting Edge as Forced program.

    11.jpg


    See here, navigate to Forced programs window (top picture), if you click Add program, the window below opens up. On the left side, you ll see programs you recently ran sandboxed, if you see Edge there, you can select it from there. Or go to Open/ Select file for navigating to Edge's executable, and select it to make it a Forced program.

    22.jpg

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes thanks. Seems like the newest version of Edge is running quite well in Sandboxie from what I've been reading. I'm not going to install it though, because seems like v79 hasn't really been improved. So I'm sticking with v75. I use it only for testing.

    It's not a big deal, since Sandboxie is now protecting Edge. So AppContainer isn't really needed then.

    BTW, is it possible to actually install Edge inside the sandbox? Or do you simply force it to run sandboxed?
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Trying that out didnt even cross my mind. But I doubt that it can be done and IMO, it shouldn't be tried, specially right now (early new Edge, replacing old one, bad idea trying it sandboxed)

    Bo
     
  10. matra

    matra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Germany
    @bo
    Thanks for the help. The Edge Browser now runs under Sandboxie. If I want to delete the content as I do with Firefox, I get the answer that the sandbox is empty!
     
  11. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    252
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you very much Bo

    :-*

    Camelia
     
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,736
    Location:
    Canada
    This is what a VM is for.
     
  13. Bellzemos

    Bellzemos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Freki123 & Bo - thank you for replying (on previous thread page).
     
  14. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,204
    Just wondering if anyone can try to run sandboxed the following site login.live.com
    Just recently it seems to me no matter what browser I use (chrome, FF, Edge (new) or Vivaldi), once I put my cursor onto the data entry field, the program freezes. So for testing you don't even need to have an account, pretending to enter a login should do the trick. I can access the site without issues unsandboxed.
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,381
    Location:
    .
    Um, the issue with M$ accounts was fixed ... first as workaround and then as added code. 5.33.1
    https://community.sophos.com/produc...07/sandboxie-5-33-1-is-available-for-download
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  16. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,204
    bmj - thanks for that. While I had updated to the "free" version earlier, I am still using Ver 5.31.6, did not even notice that there was a new update. Then again, I did not have that issue before. Hopefully this will solve the problem.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,381
    Location:
    .
    Hoping, your login.live.com issue is fixed.
     
  18. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,204
    Bjm, thanks again - all fixed now. I had to download the latest version manually, the internal updated did not show any new version being available :(
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Aren't you a former Sandboxie user? Then you should have known that it's indeed possible to install browsers sandboxed. I've managed to do so with Chrome, Vivaldi, Opera and Edge v75. I've also installed portable versions of Brave and Firefox. But there is one problem, updating browsers installed in the sandbox sometimes doesn't work. With Opera it's possible, but with Vivaldi I get errors.

    Yes, like I said above, it seems that during sandboxed installation, installers will always read files from disk, and this may cause installation errors. I had to install the newest Vivaldi in a clean sandbox, but it simply copied settings plus extensions and bookmarks from Vivaldi installed on the real machine. So seems like a complete clean install is not possible inside the sandbox. Updating portable Firefox didn't cause any problems, I really think portable apps are the future.
     
  20. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,736
    Location:
    Canada
    For testing software, unless it only requires user-space to run (does not need to install anywhere in protected directories), there's no substitute for a VM.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's the thing, Sandboxie makes it possible to test certain software without using a complete VM. All of the browsers that I mentioned work perfectly fine. But of course, my main browser Vivaldi is installed outside the sandbox in order to avoid any problems.

    I have been thinking about my updating problems, and I believe it may happen when you have installed a browser like Vivaldi inside and outside the sandbox. So if you want to update Vivaldi inside the sandbox, the installer gets confused. I'm guessing you might not have this problem with portable browsers, so I will do some testing.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    For Sandboxie users who use NoScript, I found Edge saves NoScript settings in this file:

    AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Sync Extension Settings\doojmbjmlfjjnbmnoijecmcbfeoakpjm\000003.log

    Thats the file we need to give msedge.exe access to if you want to save changes in NoScript settings out of the sandbox.

    Bo
     
  23. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    94
    After a long time away living in Linux land (a journey long planned but finally undertaken by concerns over the Sophos aquisition of Invincea and therefore SBIE) I was curious to hear about the move to freeware and eventually open source. A move that I hope will signal a user led brighter future.

    I always kept an essentially default Win 10 partition up to date for family who just woudn't make the switch (and for MS Office ) but have found recently I'm the only one ever in there. Since the kids left education thev've joined their mother living entirely on their smart phones. Thought I should use it or lose it so taking it for a spin. SBIE performance/capabilites on the latest version will likely be the decider on whether it goes for good (or becomes a VM in a Linux host).

    It is now a very long thread, and I'm simply not registering on the Sophos forums, so I hope someone can answer a few quick questions I have:
    • What's the deal with having to register for a free product? I managed to get the latest version elsewhere but will it update via the application as usual or will I have to find an alternative download source each time?
    • Are there timeframes for the move to open source?
    • Are Curt et al still working on the project or have Sophos moved them on?
    • Any major functional limitations in the latest versions on the latest OS?
    • Anything a long-time user who's been AWOL for a coupe of years should know before using in anger again (for info I like to sandbox browsers, media players, document readers, office apps and P2P usually)
    Oh yeah and when did Bo start using Chromium based browsers !? :)

    Thanks in advance to antone who takes the time to respond.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,499
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Chris, nice seeing you. You are not alone, one thing most of us Sandboxie users have in common is that we stayed away from the Sophos forum. :D

    Regarding the form that has to be filled in order to download SBIE installers from the Sophos website, as I understand it, it is a US requirement. Personally, to me this is not a big deal. If it was from a non Western country, then I would be suspicious. But not here.

    The current Sandboxie version was developed by Curt. As far as I know, he ll continue to be in charge of developing SBIE at least till it becomes open source. Based on what I know, is not likely SBIE will go open source before the end of May. Personally, I hope and wish it takes a lot longer than that, as that would mean that we ll still have Curt fingerprints in the SBIE code. In my view, the longer this process takes, the better

    The only limitations that I know of that affect many if not all SBIE users as of right now is that we cant run MSI installers in the sandbox, and there is a problem opening files (like pdf, office, jpg) when you are browsing sandboxed and there is a dialogue with options to Save or Open. You can save the file, but it wont open if you click to open it.

    For me personally, I am using SBIE like always. The limitations I described mean nothing really to me. I cant open PDFs while running the browser sandboxed, to me thats nothing major. In your case, I remember your issues with Office C2R, this issues are probably still there.

    About Chromium. Using new Edge is really a no brainer for me. I never used old Edge, not because I didn't like the way it looks or anything like that but because you couldn't use NoScript or Sandboxie with it. Edge, I cant do nothing abot t as it is forced on us, so with the change in Edge to using Chromium, at least now I have something that I can use with NoScript and run it sandoxed. This change is a big win for me, as now I have a second browser. I am not used to having an emergency browser or using anything else other than Firefox.

    Greetings

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
  25. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    94
    Thanks Bo, hope things are going well with you. Good to see you still flying the flag for SBIE on this forum.

    Curt being involved gives confidence for now. I suppose who grabs the code and runs with it will determine if there is a long-term future. Lets hope so. As for the registration I just have a thing about Sophos and TBH governments that require to know what users download and use legitimate safe software but I get it is not a big deal

    I'm building my new SBIE setup slowly. Browsers are OK so far as are PDF and P2P. Not tried Office or added explorer box yet but will give both a go likely, although thinking of the future if something will go off it will be the C2R modifications required to make it work so may not bother with Office. We'll see.

    I dropped Chromium based browsers as got so used to FF in Linux and it just doesn't seem possible to tame the telemetry fully in Chromium without undue effort. I appreciate MS have culled the Google elements from the new Edge but if their current approach is anything to go by they[ll have or will add their own. I'll wait till those more skilled have a good look about and take it from there.

    Getting used to Win 10 as well. Its turned into a really decent OS (privacy concerns aside),

    Best wishes
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.