The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,109
    I've emailed Tony today 8 Jan 2018 about the meltdown/spectre issues and how that might effect Shadow Defender. I will post here if/when I receive a reply.

    Patrick
     
  2. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    607
    Patrick,

    From my perspective the Meltdown/Spectre issue isn't a matter of whether or not those vulnerabilities affect Shadow Defender. Even if those vulnerabilities do not affect SD's integrity, Shadow Mode does not protect our systems from exploits capable of stealing private data.

    Sure, after a system restart SD can return the system to a clean prior state and that works great for viral infections, but in the case of Meltdown/Spectre that's like 'locking the barn door after the horse is stolen' (because Shadow Mode does nothing to protect the system against exploitation during system operation)!

    JA
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  3. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,109
    Hi Jo Ann,
    Thanks, Yes I know how Shadow Defender works and my post came across as a bit stupid but I suppose I was wondering if the patches/fixes could/would effect the running of Shadow Defender itself. I read the posts when I didn't have much time to fully digest them.
    Anyway, I wrote to Tony and this is the reply which confirms what you say.


    ........................
    Hi Patrick, I don't know how to explain it in detail. Meltdown and Spectre can steal information from users' computer. SD is used to protect the computer from unwanted changes but it cannot prevent information leakage. Best regards, Tony

    On 01/08/2018 17:34, Admin wrote: Hi Tony, Best wishes for 2018. Some members of the Wilders forum asked the question
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...hadow-defender-support-thread.293075/page-212 #5298
    Will Shadow Defender work ok with the meltdown/spectre windows vulnerability and Microsoft patches?

    https://www.theverge.com/2018/1/4/16848976/how-to-protect-windows-pc-meltdown-security-flaw
    https://mspoweruser.com/meltdown-sp...emergency-patch-official-statement-microsoft/
    best wishes

    Patrick
    ...................................

    Patrick


    ..................................................
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  4. Bill S

    Bill S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I have used Shadow Defender many years and never had a problem. My entire C:\ is in Shadow mode with all data on either another local drive or a network drive and the OS is Windows 7. Yesterday after a reboot with C:\ in Shadow mode, the Quick Launch tool bar was missing. I checked to be sure C:\ was still in Shadow mode and it was. I then rebooted two more times and each time there was still no Quick Launch tool bar. I then did a complete system restore from a backup to bring back the Quick Launch tool bar and I have had no problems since.

    Anybody else seen this or have an explanation why it would occur? I would have thought Shadow Defender would have prevented this.


    Edit: As additional information, prior to the loss of the Quick Launch tool bar, I was trying out a new extension for Firefox from a non Firefox site. Is it possible that malware bypassed Shadow Defender?

    I do run AV software and periodically leave Shadow mode momentarily so that the AV updates become permanent, but I do so mostly for informational purposes. I have always considered Shadow Defender the ultimate protection from malware etc on any drive that is protected by Shadow Defender, but perhaps this is not the case. .
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2018
  5. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    607
    @Bill S - Which Windows edition are you running? Which SD version are you running?
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi
    Windows 10 SD 1.4.0.672 rebooting to leave shadow mode, causes windows to believe disk damage, reboot 'again' no more disk problem. Two boots Ok! Started latest ver of win 10
     
  7. Bill S

    Bill S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    @Jo Ann
    Windows 7 Pro SP1
    SD Version: 1.4.0.648
     
  8. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    607
    @Rico, that's a minor Windows 10 - related bug.

    @Bill S, any particular reason for not updating to latest SD?
     
  9. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Jo Ann! Fixed in a future update?
     
  10. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    607
    Sure, but Microsoft makes it very difficult for software devs to keep up with all of their Win10 upgrades (& patches)! :eek:

    ....that's the main reason I'm still running Win7. ;)
     
  11. Bill S

    Bill S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    "@Bill S, any particular reason for not updating to latest SD?"

    @Jo Ann, The same reason I am still running Windows 7. If it is not broken, why fix it. In addition there is always a chance any upgrade can bring unintended consequences such as improvements and features that are neither, at least in the eye of the user.

    Is there a particular reason that I should no longer use SD V….648? Is there a known flaw in 648 that is responsible for SD occasionally not preserving the Quick Launch tool bar on reboot that I am not aware of that an update would cure?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2018
  12. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Hey Bill, not to answer for JoAnn (as she is far more SD savvy than me), but I think that Tony continues to corrects bugs as they are reported and reproduced by him. He doesn't always enumerate them, so while I don't know what caused your quick launch issue it's my opinion that the current version is the smoothest running SD version that I've run (on W7), Why not give it a go and see if it solves the problem? You can always revert back to 648.
     
  13. Bill S

    Bill S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Well the icons disappeared in the Quick Launch tool bar after a reboot a second time, even though there were numerous good reboots in between, so apparently it was not a fluke the first time. As a result I tried ….672 as suggested but it complained about not having certain Windows updates and indicated that it might not work as it should. Unfortunately it was right. I ignored the warnings but when I rebooted Windows, it did not start up normally and immediately went through a repair process. After a few minutes it gave up and indicated that it could not accomplish the repair so I ended up doing a restore from a backup that.

    My next question is, does anyone know a web site or URL where I could download the …665 version? All I can find are sites where the download comes with a crack and we all know that is not all it probably comes with.
     
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Try this link:
    Code:
    http://www.shadowdefender.com/download/SD1.4.0.665_Setup.exe
     
  15. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hello,

    Randomly I get this notification when "Enter Shadow Mode" :eek:

    Why I am getting this notification?
    What does it mean?
    How do I fix it in order to no see it anymore?
    Since the notification appears Randomly, I dont know if SD is active or not :cautious:

    W10 latest
    KB4056892 Installed
    EIS latest
    MBAM latest
    Sandboxie 5.23.3 Latest Beta
    SD latest

    Thanks
    Came

    z.jpg
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,438
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I'm sorry but I can't see what notification you are talking about. If you want to know the state of your computer you should hit "system status" and it will tell you whether you are in shadow mode or not...
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,801
    Location:
    UK
    @camelia
    If you are asking about the ''System Reserved Z'' popup at the bottom of your screenshot, Shadow Defender mounts a virtual drive in order to enter Shadow Mode, and then un-mounts it to exit Shadow Mode.
     
  18. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Yup, I am talking about the ''System Reserved Z'' popup at the bottom of my screenshot...

    What is weird is that usually I don't get this notification, but sometimes I do...

    As you can see in screenshot, the notification prompts "Select to choose what happens with removable drives"... and I can select 3 options.. but since I am in "Shadow Mode" nothing is going to change...

    Came
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,801
    Location:
    UK
    I tend to just ignore that notification because as you say ..nothing is going to change anyway. For me the notification just serves as a reminder :)

    I also get a notification from Emsisoft Anti-Malware when I go into Shadow Mode, as it too sees it as a removable drive.
     
  20. Bill S

    Bill S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    @mood:

    Thanks for the link. I installed it the ...665 version over 24 hours ago and it did not hiccup for not having some updates. So far I have also not had a repeat of the "missing Quick Launch icons" but it is, or was, an intermittent problem. Fingers crossed. Thanks again.
     
  21. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks :thumb:

    Came
     
  22. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hello

    Once in Shadow Mode...

    Is there any difference between click on "Exit All Shadow Modes" and Only "Shut down" Computer? :cautious:

    Because every time I click on "Exit All Shadow Modes" when my computer restarts MBAM stops working, and usually I get a notification saying "Microsoft account problem"

    If I Only "Shut down" Computer everything is OK :-*

    W10 latest
    KB4056892 Installed
    EIS latest
    MBAM latest
    Sandboxie 5.23.3 Latest Beta
    SD latest

    Thanks
    Came
    02shared experiences.jpg
     
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,801
    Location:
    UK
    Just checking that you are running with FastStartup disabled (as recommended)
     
  24. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Where do I check that?

    Thanks
    Came
     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,801
    Location:
    UK
    It's a Windows setting in Settings...System....Power and Sleep....Additional Power Settings (right-hand side of screen)....Choose what the power buttons do....Change settings that are currently unavailable (near the top next to the badge) ....Then untick FastStart up.....then press Save Changes at bottom of screen
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.