Start Menu Broken Down After Upgrading to Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Krusty, Oct 20, 2017.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Seems people are quick to blame just about any software for this bug.

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=211833.0

    For me, since I've had it happen on a machine with no third-party software installed at all, the blame lies firmly with Microsoft and Fall Creators Update.
     
  3. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,129
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    I had this kind of issue with CU , and fixed in less than 10mn of investigation....Just create a new account, set it as admin, and delete the old one. issue solved. I think it is related to how Win10 set the default account at first use after upgrading.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That is one thing I haven't tried yet but I seen where plenty have and it didn't solve the issue for them.

    I'll keep it i mind though.
     
  5. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,129
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    And it is easy to check without risk, if the new user account's Start Menu works correctly, then you can delete the old one.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Here we go again.
    Code:
    Source
    Windows Shell Experience Host
    
    Summary
    Stopped responding and was closed
    
    Date
    ‎13/‎01/‎2018 5:49 AM
    
    Status
    Report sent
    
    Description
    A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.
    Faulting Application Path:    C:\Windows\SystemApps\ShellExperienceHost_cw5n1h2txyewy\ShellExperienceHost.exe
    
    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name:    MoAppHang
    Package Full Name:    Microsoft.Windows.ShellExperienceHost_10.0.16299.15_neutral_neutral_cw5n1h2txyewy
    Application Name:    praid:App
    Application Version:    10.0.16299.15
    Application Timestamp:    59cda974
    Hang Signature:    ab9b
    Hang Type:    2097152
    OS Version:    10.0.16299.2.0.0.768.101
    Locale ID:    3081
    Additional Hang Signature 1:    ab9b89468e42e86e068aa614329a60d9
    Additional Hang Signature 2:    0097
    Additional Hang Signature 3:    00972e897edcd74df23e70292ec83545
    Additional Hang Signature 4:    ab9b
    Additional Hang Signature 5:    ab9b89468e42e86e068aa614329a60d9
    Additional Hang Signature 6:    0097
    Additional Hang Signature 7:    00972e897edcd74df23e70292ec83545
    
    Extra information about the problem
    Bucket ID:    43a00c1b815b0614b2b86bc70e701302 (133556577791)
    
    This time I ran the Windows Update Troubleshooter and got this result.

    Windows Update.PNG

    I then ran the Windows Store Apps troubleshooter and got this result.

    Hanging or Crashing Apps.PNG

    I fixed that by typing WSRESET into Search and ran the Command as Administrator.
     
  7. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,352
    That's why I stay on LTSB. I favor rock-solid reliability over new features.

    Every new Windows build brings new bugs with them. I just want Windows to work.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I had this bug on two machines today. On one I opened Malwarebytes and found it somehow missed it's weekly scheduled scan set for today. I open MB on the second machine and found while it did scan today it had reverted to the free version. o_O

    I disabled all MB protection and disabled it starting from Windows. Both machines are working noticeably faster and the Start button / Menu is working.

    Malwarebytes = :cautious:
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,424
    Don't get excited to soon :ninja:
    Edit: Typo
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Oh, I know.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,721
    Location:
    A sh*thole country
    I still get this issue intermittently, and have to reboot.

    Must be really problematic if MS haven't fixed this by now, #206. :isay:
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Perhaps HMP.A is a contributing factor, even though I've had this issue on a machine with nothing but Windows installed. :doubt:
     
  13. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,176
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    I had a game installed that could detect the machine and my account name. It was installed when I upgraded a machine to the Anniversary Update. Following that, it didn't launch and nothing would fix it. I installed it on another machine, put in my key and it worked. Maybe since Alert is tied to the machine's ID, something got corrupted there? Alert was running when I installed the Fall CU and three clean installs didn't fix the Start problem. It's uninstalled now and there are zero problems.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  15. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    I found this fix and it has been working for me, no menu starting issues since.

    Open Regedit and go to;
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\WpnUserService

    Add
    add a DWORD (32bit) "DelayedAutostart" and set it to 1
    add a DWORD (32bit) "AutoStartDelay" and set it to 10 (this gives it a 10 second delay you could go higher or lower but 10 seems to work just fine for me.)

    Then reboot.
     
Loading...