SpywareBlaster 5.6 released! - (Google Chrome, Firefox, Windows 10, and more!)

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,470
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Awesome @javacool!!!

    You been around for what seems like ages. With purpose! Great job! :thumb:
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    1.) Win10 Pro x64 v1909 Build 18363.476
    2.) UAC = Max setting
    3.) Emsisoft Anti-Malware, HitmanPro.Alert, Blackfog Privacy ... (no messages, but will try disabling these one by one).
    4.) Not that I can think of
    5.) No
    6.) Local account

    Edit: In v5.5, Google Chrome didn't show up at one point, and you advised to add a registry setting ...
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...indows-10-and-more.385942/page-2#post-2646085 (... and prior posts)

    Maybe this is now the culprit?

    Disabling all security softs, or lowering UAC, and opening SB: Google Chrome still shows as 'Admin Required', but as I say it started happening recently in v5.5, so it is not a v5.6 problem.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  3. Hijin25

    Hijin25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    México
    When I want to install version 5.6 on windows 10 I get this:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    No problem, just click 'More information' and then 'Run Anyway'
    SmartScreen just blocking it due to its rarity, or 'newness'.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I still can't visualize it. Will it add rules to my hostfile for example? Or will it make blocking rules in the Win Firewall?
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,389
    Location:
    .
    png_3117.png | png_3116.png | png_3119.png | png_3120.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  7. thefly

    thefly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for that.
    Cheers.
     
  8. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,321
    +1 :thumb:

    I would buy a licence to support SpywareBlaster but I think it's really too expensive ... :blink:
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,416
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I see we are still only receiving updates for Internet Explorer. :rolleyes:
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
  11. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,321
    ... so there is no enhanced protection for Firefox and Chrome? What a pity! :doubt:
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,389
    Location:
    .
    IMO NO
    I lost interest in SpywareBlaster, long time. I only installed 5.6 to see whats what.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2019
  14. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumb: Just trying to support the old soft, but agree, it probably has had its day. :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2019
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK cool. That's exactly why I asked, because AFAIK a tool like uBlock will block trackers and the browser itself should block third party cookies if configured correctly. So I don't see any advantage.
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I assume when each time you refer to 'UBlock' you are referring to uBlock Origin:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock-origin/
    and not
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock/

    Edit: OK, I don't think you are a Firefox user, but the question still applies.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  17. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,321
    SpywareBlaster and SpyBot, best protection 15 years ago ... :thumb:
     
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  19. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Any projection on a release date with MS Edge Chromium protection
     
  20. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    I don't have an ETA I can share, but I'll let you know when a beta is available. (And if anyone else is interested in testing a beta, please feel free to send me a PM.)
     
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  22. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Apologies for the delay in getting back to you - we have not been able to reproduce this yet on our systems at all, so we're trying to track down potential causes. (The registry setting should not be the culprit, but we've improved Chrome detection so it should no longer be needed.)

    (SpywareBlaster does various permission / privilege checks - those haven't changed between 5.5 and 5.6. Since it started happening at one point while using 5.5 on your system, clearly something changed - on your system - that's leading those checks to fail with insufficient permissions. It's a bit curious, and I do still wonder if it has to do with third-party software.)
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,800
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Probably. :thumb:
     
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Will reset hosts file with Malwarebytes AdwCleaner v8.0.2.0 cause any problems with the way SpywareBlaster works.
     
  25. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    There should not be any issues. The only aspect of SpywareBlaster that even potentially touches the HOSTS file is the "Hosts Safe" tool.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.