SpywareBlaster 5.5 released! - (Google Chrome, Firefox, Windows 10, and more!)

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, May 18, 2016.

  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,022
    @paulderdash: What version of Chrome are you running? Is it the stable release, or one of the beta/dev/canary release channels? And how did you install it?

    In the interim, you can force SpywareBlaster to display Chrome settings by creating the following registry key:

    Windows, 64-bit:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\SpywareBlaster\ForceDetect\GoogleChrome
    Windows, 32-bit / x86:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpywareBlaster\ForceDetect\GoogleChrome
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,500
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I am running 55.0.2883.87 (64-bit), which is stable I think. Installed in Program Files (x86), and kept updated by Ninite Updater.

    It was working before, but then I noticed Chrome had dropped from the list. Will try the reg hack and report back.

    Edit: Thanks! Added that key, and Chrome is back on the list, with all protection enabled, so it seems it was just not listing Chrome, but all protection was actually enabled. Strange. But I guess I owe you a license, as I've been using SB for years :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  3. Tomwa

    Tomwa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Posts:
    165
    I previously owned SpywareBlaster and although I haven't used it in what seems like a trillion years I figured I should drop by and say that it was always a fantastic piece of software :)
     
  4. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    The DB updated yeaterday for me when i checked to see.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,500
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Nearly always updates for IE only, which I don't use ...
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,192
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Why are Chromium browsers not counted as Chrome?
     
  7. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Chrome is dropped from the list for me now. Maybe because i uninstalled and then installed Chrome again a few months ago.
     
  8. psicop

    psicop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Spywareblaster not detecting WATERFOX. Probably it would be the same with other FF forks like Pale Moon, Cyberfox, etc.

    Could you please enable it?
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,966
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    sb.jpg

    It detects SeaMonkey, Pale Moon and K-Meleon.
     
  10. spryte_ly

    spryte_ly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I just updated my PaleMoon to Version: 27.8.3 (64-bit) and noticed in the SpywareBlaster window it says it is only "partially protected".
    I am presuming some PaleMoon issue but not sure.

    Under PaleMoon all the sites are unchecked and in red.
    Clicking on the "Protect..." button has no effect.

    Any advice greatly appreciated.

    Win10 Home, HP Pavillion, i5 laptop
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    Hi
    Where does SpywareBlaster cookies n' scripts protections show in Chrome. I can find SB cookies listed in Firefox Cookies Exceptions. Where are SB protections listed in Chrome?
    Thanks
     
  12. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    When i disabled all protection in SpywareBlaster, the AdwCleaner scan was clean.
     
  13. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    Greece
    If u enable all the protection for ie11 in windows 10 the internet explorer makes 5 second to visit every page. Is unplayable.
     
  14. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    167
    not abandonware have updatr from 01/21/2019 , and thanks been using this for years ,support is always quick to respond to any questions spywreblaster has saved my computer many times
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    does SpywareBlaster still only update Internet Explorer ?
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,783
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    Thanks!
     
  18. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    How come chrome never gets updated.
     
  19. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    Dubai
    how come Spyware Blaster is still at version 5.5 since years?
     
  20. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Chrome does not show up under protection list anymore after the last update.
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    4542.png | 4539.png | 4541.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  22. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,732
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I should have said since about the update to V5.5, i have not seen chrome under protection list anymore.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    SpywareBlaster 5.5 Released - May 18, 2016
    I should have mentioned:
    4543.png
    Edit: Okay. I think it's been mentioned that "protections" don't populate to Chrome. #26, #27
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  24. gwt

    gwt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Hello

    Using version 5.5

    Two issues, here:

    1) Chromium not showing up in the protection list as others have mentioned (about Chrome) up above. There is already a "Settings" folder below the
    "SpywareBlaster" folder with a number of keys in it. The registry hack doesn't work since no folder is there called "ForceDetect", and even if I create a new folder called "ForceDetect", I don't know what kind of key (and it's value) to put in there.

    2) Ever since I updated my VPN I can't connect to Brightforth's servers, even with the VPN turned off (which I never had to do in the past). It just freezes the program and I have to kill it in Task Manager in order to get it to close. I've tried both "Use a direct connection to the internet" and the "Use the system connection/proxy settings" to manually update and the programs freezes with either setting. It could then be a firewall setting but I'm not sure. Any ideas?

    I'd hate to uninstall it after using it for so many years.

    Thanks

    ~

    PS: I hope the mods are still around and haven't abandoned this forum. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2019
  25. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,022
    You can force SpywareBlaster to display Chrome settings by creating the following registry key:

    Windows, 64-bit:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\SpywareBlaster\ForceDetect\GoogleChrome
    Windows, 32-bit / x86:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpywareBlaster\ForceDetect\GoogleChrome
    (You need to create the "ForceDetect" folder, as it won't exist by default.)

    Enhanced detection for Chromium (vs Google Chrome) is a good suggestion for a future release.

    It sure sounds like something on your system is blocking the connection. The only reason the program would freeze like that is if something (like a firewall) is intercepting / interfering with the connection attempt. Please make sure that spywareblaster.exe explicitly has full access through any and all security / network / firewall / VPN software. You may want to try "whitelisting" it in said software.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.