spyware terminator

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bamaman66, Apr 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I ran spyware Terminator and it detected moneytree.DyFuCa . I have run spybot search and destroy, adawarw2007, AVG antispyware,AVG anti-virus and none of them detectedthis. Is this a problem with spyware terminator? If it is actually on my computer how can I remove it?
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    Seems to be a porn dialer normally if not a FP.
    Did you look at the ST site how to scan/remove it?

    Gerard
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You can also create a HijackThis Log and post it in a Malware Forum, but read this thread FIRST and follow the instructions :
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=42148

    In the future, use Returnil or at least a sandbox application, to avoid this kind of infection and ignore/delete your spam-emails and don't download objects from an unknown source.
     
  4. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    I've had the same problem, in the end I just moved it to the ignore list.
    For me, at least, it was detected in
    C:\windows\downloaded program files □□□□□□□□□□□\\moneytree,
    and no such folder exists on my computer. If i scanned downloaded program files directly, no detection was made.
    If ST is detecting moneytree in the same location as it was for me, i think you can safely move it to the ignore list.
     
  5. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    It was in c:\\windows\downloaded program files
     
  6. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I downloaded the previous version of spyware terminator and scanned with it. The malware wasn't detected. I'm not sure if it is a false positive or the newer version is improved the reason I started getting it.
     
  7. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I neglected to mention that the problem showed up on a vista computer. I am thinking it might be an incompatibility between the new version of ST and vista.
     
  8. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm on xp. o_O
     
  9. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Working like a charm till now on my Vista. I just think the database got bigger and well that means also more false positives, if they trully are false positives.

    Check here -> Report ST false positives
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.