SpyShelter 11

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,840
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    16,167
  3. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    167
    thanks , updating now
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,879
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Decided to upgrade, but GUI won't show up. So back to the old version.
     
  5. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    167
    how do i allow cut and paste into firefox , all of a sudden i can no longer cut and psteuser name and pasword into FF , DON'T remember what could have caused this somehow SPYSHELTER SWITCHED TO HIGH SECURITY AUTO ALLOW INSTEAD OF AsK USER ,THAT'S WHEN THE CUT aND paste stopped working .
     
  6. co22

    co22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Location:
    router
    allow clipboard protection for firefox
     
  7. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    167
    THANKS , I 'LL GIVE IT A TRY
     
  8. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Poland
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    16,167
    SpyShelter v11.6 Released (April 25, 2019)
    Announcement
    Download
     
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,840
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Thanks @mood :) They reverted for limited time Silent version also.
     
  11. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Spyshelter 11.6 is causing Keepass 2.41 to type in the wrong characters when using Perform Auto-Type to fill in passwords into Firefox 66.0.3. I did not experience this with Spyshelter 11.5.
    If I disable Keystroke encryption then it's no longer a problem. I'm using Windows 10 x64 Pro.

    edited 4/29 @ 4:39
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,561
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    From your sig, I see you use HMPA ... it may be related to that? See: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/hitmanpro-alert-beta.394398/page-60#post-2824121

    Though I'm sure you wouldn't be using keystroke encryption in both programs ...
     
  13. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    Which is way too overkill..
     
  15. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    167
    Thank you , so far working well , no troubles .
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I agree, I was just seeing what was different with SpyShelter 11.6.
    I normally only run Eset, AppGuard, and ERP, or Eset, SpyShelter, and ERP.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    @Cutting_Edgetech my advice:

    if you think you have safe habits: Appguard or ESET or ERP is enough.

    if you need a balance between decent security and convenience: ESET IS.

    if you need more control: Spyshelter alone.

    if you think you need strict Homemade serious default-deny (no cloud, no whitelist): AG + ERP

    But what i won't do is too mix AG or ERP with HIPS (SpS or ESET). With those HIPS you won't need AG or ERP.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2019
  18. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using Eset, AG, and ERP together for years. I've never had a problem with them working together. Eset's HIPS are very minimal. If you don't change Eset's HIPS from default to Smart Mode then it's like running Eset with the HIPS disabled. I've seen AG miss threats that ERP caught, and AG catch threats that ERP missed. For Example: the SMB exploits that were leaked from the CIA were out of the scope of AG, but ERP was able to stop them from doing much damage. At least with ERP you knew something was trying to execute, but you wouldn't know with AG since it didn't have to escalate privileges in order to gain access to the system space. I've seen Macro Viruses in weaponized documents that AG did not mitigate, and ERP blocked them right away. I will continue using them together since I don't even see a slow down in performance on my system.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
  19. guest

    guest Guest

    @Cutting_Edgetech AG by default indeed.

    ERP by default already block many LOLbins so you feel it more efficient than AG.

    AG is all about custom policy, if you don't know how to make a tight one, then AG loss much of its efficiency.
    Reason why AG isn't for home users but for businesses that have an admin.

    My policy is difficulty bypassable. Every LOLbins I'm aware of are blocked.
    So I don't need ERP to backup AG, the only situation I may need it, is when im installing a new software.
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    To clarify so that my signature below does not confuse anyone, those are just products I use, but I don't use them all together. My main setup is Eset Internet Security, AppGuad, and ERP. I use to have 2 other machines with Windows on them, but the mother boards went bad. I use to run Eset Smart Security, Spyshelter, and ERP on one of those machines. Hopefully I will replace the machines I lost soon. I use Fedora, and Ubuntu Linux on one of my Laptops and Kali Linux on the other.
     
  21. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, that's enough for most people. The biggest threat I deal with are network attacks. I would really encourage Eset to continue working on their default firewall rules, and continue adding rules to their IDS/IPS. I will be pen testing Eset soon. I just finished school so I have more free time now. I think I will see how Eset Firewall stands up against Kali Linux.

    Sorry, I forgot what thread we were chatting in. I will make this my last post. I don't want to spam SpyShelter's thread. I actually will be getting a new license for Spyshelter soon. I expect I will have replaced one of my machines within the next month or two. I will be running Eset, Spyshelter, and ERP on it.
     
  22. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I know I saw your policy a while back! You almost block Windows itself! LOL

    Have you used SpyShelter Lately? I like it other than the fact that execution control only comes with the firewall version.

    I think there is a bug with keystroke encryption making it incompatible with the latest version of Keepass. If I disable keystroke encryption then I have no problem then. I did not experience any problem with keystroke encryption in the previous build.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    It is a bit the goal :p

    I had the previous build installed. SpS is the best HIPS to me, you really have full control and monitoring.
    It is why i see no solid reasons for you to use ESET (powerful firewall isn't needed for home users) or ERP with it.
    In that case, you must adjust its settings , I don't use keypass but bitwarden. No issues with it.
     
  24. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    16,167
    SpyShelter v11.7 Released (May 13, 2019)
    Announcement
    Download
     
  25. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,840
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Thanks for sharing :thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.