SOMEONE HELP ME PLEASE THINK IT'S MALWARE

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by frannysattic, Jul 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frannysattic

frannysattic Registered Member

I am not the most literate on the computer but this one really has me stumped and I do not know what to do. Over the weekend my son made a "MySpace" page for me. I am new to this so I thought I would see what he had done. I saw emaild from all of these people asking to be my friend. I clicked on one of them and up came the "New Malware J Virus" through my McAfeee software. I tried to clean it, and I couldn't. the msg said to make sure the file wasn't read only. Then I tried to delete it too and could not that either. I lastly tried to quantine and that failed as well. So, I continued what I was doing. Then all he** broke loose. My computer had all kinds of pop-ups come up and then it froze. When I restarted my system, there was the dreaded yellow triange with the explanation mark. The box around it though was grey and had no words it in. I tried to click on the Program Error and then my whole computer froze again. I then ran Brave Sentry just to see what was going on and it told me that I had a "Wild Trojan Dropper that infects all .exe files and the level was "sever". Then I got another window that said smss.exe was potential virus. No, I can go in to safe mode but I can't open up anything and have no way to click on any of my software programs because they are all .exe. I am running Windows 2000 and cannot figure out what to do to fix this mess. I don't want o reload the op because I don't want to lose everything I have but at thsi point it may be my only hope. Does anyone have any advice for someone like me who has gotten themselves in to a real mess!?!?!? Thanks! Oh and I am writing this at work so no one has to be worried that this email is infected. My email address here is francine.schmidt [at] citigroup.com