slow start up vista

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by larryb52, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    any suggestions in a slightly slow boot up in vista?
     
  2. Pfipps

    Pfipps Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Posts:
    181
    I am 99% sure it is because of the startup scan. To find out, just disable it and see if it boots up faster.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i have the same issue with ess with or without the startup scan enabled
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    or just lower its priority to "When idle"
     
  5. galloot

    galloot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    how do you do that exactly?

    thnx
     
  6. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    yea Hi Tech how does one do that? thanks in advance...
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    please someone let me know how this works. i have for the time being uninstalled it. id like to reinstall it though. thanks
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This may well help or not . It will still perform start-up scans but will do it when the machine is idle . When everything else has "calmed down"
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    see what i see that happens on my system is in the tray it loads the audio, then video, then touchpad, then defrag then av... but while booting with ess it gets up to the audio and loads the audio then sits there i see the ess splash and it does go away but then i cant do anything like open my computer or a program and after maybe 60-90 seconds the rest of the items in the tray show up along with the ess logo and once the are all loaded everything is fine. when ess is not installed and i boot up all the tray icons load almost instantly with no wait timeo_O
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    OK , I understand your issues but I cannot change it
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    do you think the start up thing you mentioned may help that?? any idea whats causing my issue?? id like to put ess back... lol
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am not sure , I am just suggesting some things that must be changed before contacting the vendor . These things are all stuff that can be changed in the settings and may help.

    If it doesn't help , it is not in the program's settings and should be looked at different place.

    You may Contact ESET from the internal form in the product (Help > Contact Customer Care) . Allow the program to get machine info (processes , registry info) . Otherwise , return back to v2 (which is working great) and use any other firewall of your choice :)
     
  14. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I have the suite don't think the av will work from the usename...
     
  15. maltsi

    maltsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I't didn't help to delay the scan of startup objects :( Any new solutions in your minds? :doubt:
     
  16. maltsi

    maltsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Seems that latest updates from Windows Update helped, now ESS starts a lot faster than before! Good job MS! :)
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I am noticing a slowness in logging into my wife's PC since installing ESS. It sits there and hangs for quite awhile before getting to the desktop. Did not do it with NOD32 2.7.

    Specs are:

    Windows XP Pro SP2 (Fully Patched)
    Intel P4 2.8 Ghz
    1 gig of RAM

    I tried high tech's advice with the startup scan setting it to idle etc to no avail. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  18. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I also have this problem, as opposed to starting a new topic thought I'd just add onto this one.

    I disabled the startup scan, and I also have a delayed/slow startup in vista. It'll boot, then it takes about 1 minute for ESET to come up and during that time I can't do anything else.
     
  19. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Trooper / Logan

    Hello

    I had the same problem (startup lag) and spent hours messing about with the ESS settings.

    It's not ESS, it's the Windows workstation service. If you disable this, ESS opens as it shoud on startup.

    Disabling the said service is a royal pain if you're networked, so you'll need to find a workaround.

    I used Hamachi to set up a VPN "dummy LAN" which allows ESS to find a network quickly enabling fast internet connection and lag-free access to shared files.

    I haven't got Hamachi to work as it should because I have no idea about port settings, forwarding etc., so I can't ping machines and find out what the software can really do.

    I have, however, got the programme to speed up boot time, which was the objective.

    Let me know if this works for you, because I'm interested in understanding this...

    Hope this helps.

    Philby
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  20. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I'm really not interested in using third party software like Hamachi for things to work properly.

    Is this planned to be fixed in Vista SP1? Are there any other options?

    If I disable the service I won't be able to connect to a home network at all, therefore no internet connection right? Or will it just not allow me to see other computers on the network and shared files?
     
  21. Pows

    Pows Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    http://xpworld.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!3110BDF94643CB31!326.entry

    'Windows Vista has a number features that are supposed to improve the user experience during system startup and logon. One of these is Boxing. Boxing is a feature that makes sure that programs that start while you logon are no longer able to start fighting for all available resources eating all disk resources and CPU.

    Windows Vista lowers the thread priority level for startup applications to " Below Normal" and will not allow them to raise their thread priority during the first 60 seconds after logon. In this way Vista slows down the execution of these applications and leaves resources available for programs that the user actually wants to start.'

    More info and a way to switch this off in the above link.
     
  22. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Hm, that made sense and I had high hopes for that fix... however, no, that did not fix it either. There is still a long delay for Eset starting up.

    I don't need the firewall aspect of Eset, as I'm behind a router... I'm going to try just using the antivirus. Maybe it's an issue with the firewall in Eset.
     
  23. shansmi

    shansmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Posts:
    130
    I tried the instructions above to lower the priority of ESS but those options are not there in ESSv3 as in previous versions as well as the standalone AV product. :(

    Yes disabling the workstation service only affects seeing other PCs and networked devices. Your Internet service will still work. I was having a very long delay as well but things did not improve for me when I tested that fix. I noticed the LAN connection was taking a long time to see the Internet, Sidebar was getting errors and my UPS was taking a long time to load as well. For the UPS I went into the Device Manager and deleted the device and then scanned for new hardware. For the Sidebar, DUMeter was giving all the errors and so was the weather - at least those were the two gadgets that were not where I put them after shutting down Sidebar and restarting it. I started with DU Meter and just removed it totaly then re-installed it - things are now alot better over a restart.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2008
  24. shansmi

    shansmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Posts:
    130
    I was having this problem and as I watched my system finish the boot process, I noticed the UPS was slow to connect as well as the Internet connection was slow to start and connect to the Internet. I ran the installer again using the repair option and this helped but the most bang for the buck came when I disabled the Superfetch task and the Windows Search task. I read another article on how to tweak Vista and Superfetch was specifically mentioned - worked for me and hope this helps others.
     
  25. whereisglenn

    whereisglenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I think this thread is linked to issues surrounding Intel Raid and ESS. The original poster has a RAID1 volume and I had similar issues, see this post,

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197248

    Would be interested to know if ESS is uninstalled will your system responsiveness and startup speed return.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.