Slow booting after installing NOD

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by pharold38, Apr 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I removed NAV 2005 & installed NOD & now my system takes a LONG time to start up. So far I have tried the following:

    edited the registry to remove all NAV entries
    used the Symantec removal tools
    run Microsoft bootvis
    defraged C & D drives
    run Registry Mechanic

    the system runs fine after it boots. My last resort would be to reinstall XP however I would like to avoid this if possible.

    Any other ideas on what to try would be appreciated. Thanks.:D
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi pharold38, welcome to Wilders.

    Can you please try repairing Winsock as described HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  3. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Hi
    I just tried running Winsock however the problem remains.....o_O
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you try repairing IMON

    Nod32 Control Centre> IMON> Setup> Miscellaneous> Repair Now

    Cheers :D
     
  5. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    The 'repair now' button is greyed out & I am unable to click on it...
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Is IMON started? If it isn't please restart IMON and then "Repair".

    Failing this: Please download a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    REBOOT your Computer.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above using “Typical Settings”.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    I'd suggest that you check your start up programs. Startup may be trying to run something that isn't available. I suggest the utility, Autoruns, over at www.sysinternals.com. It's free.
     
  8. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I have removed & reinstalled NOD & the startup programs was one of the first things I checked.....however the slow startup problem remains.....I'd appreciate any other suggestions....thanks.:D
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Is IMON running or greyed out?

    Cheers :D
     
  10. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Imon is running
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you now try a "Repair" of IMON as described above, you will need to reboot after it has finished.

    Cheers :D
     
  12. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I have repaired Imon however the slow boot problem remains....
     
  13. epoxpro

    epoxpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Geelong. Australia
    Hi there

    Welcome to these forums :D

    Have you tried booting without your DSL modem plugged in?

    Cheers
     
  14. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Hi
    I have tried booting without my modem connected to the net...are you suggesting I remove the modem connection to the computer & try booting?
     
  15. epoxpro

    epoxpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Geelong. Australia
    Hi there

    Yes, remove the ethernet cable from the back of your system and try that please.

    Cheers
     
  16. pharold38

    pharold38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I removed the ethernet cable & rebooted however the problem remains...
     
  17. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Have you tried the suggestions from post #7? Something is starting up or windows is trying to start something up, which isn't there......and gives you this trouble. To make all startup processes visible, you'll need a program, as suggested by DTHIGPEN, to get your finger behind the problems. But you'll need to know a little about what's what......otherwise it's difficult to see what the problem is.

    Another great little util: HijackThis!
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

    Push the scan button and you can clearly see what's starting up and the trick is: picking the things that shouldn't start and deleting them. But again, you'll have to know a little about the programs you are using.
    I suggest you use Hijack This and send me the saved log and I'll see if I can find something that's bothering your system.
     
  18. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    I'll take a close look at this log tomorrow, but I can tell you right now......it's a tremendous number of start-ups and I can imagine that your system is taking a while to start.....and it's hard to believe, that this slow starting problem took place after installation of Nod32.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2006
  19. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  20. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    In that case, I would recommend the great program: Hitman Pro......fully automatic scan with both and more! If you are Dutch, you should know about this.
     
  21. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just in case, have you tried repairing Winsock & TCP/IP per Blackspears instructions at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=37509&page=4 ? (make sure to enable IMON then)

    Should the problem persist, does it actually go away after disabling automatic startup of AMON and rebooting the computer?
     
  23. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    OT:

    Hitman is not THAT great. PLease be VER VERY carefull using this program, as it has the potential to automatically remove critical (system) files from your computer (and yes, I've seen that happen).

    /OT
     
  24. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Pharold38

    As the Hijack This logs have been removed, I won't be able to take a look at it for you, unless you mail it to me!
     
  25. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Which part of Hitman Pro would do that? Never heard anything about it when using the separate parts, like Ad Aware and Spybot!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.