Serious Internet Probs

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Albinoni, May 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I dont know what the hell has gone wrong here with my laptop but since yesterday I cannot get some certain pages when I go t them. What happnes is when I go to the appropriate website the page opens up, and just stays blank/white while the firefox tab on top says loadiing and waiting for a receving signal from the other side.

    Also what happens sometime is that another tab would automatically pop up and some spam page will load up.

    The same goes with IE7, if I try to open up IE7 and go to the home page, it will say connecting at the top top while the bottom will say website found waiting for reply, but I'll wait and wait and wait and no hme page will be found, it will just keep tryiing anf trying.

    Sorry forgot to add here are the sites for eg I can't aaccess:

    www.whirlpool.net.au

    www.google.com

    I can open Google but cannot search in it.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
  2. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    You could try clearing the dns cache.

    Open cmd and type " ipconfig /flushdns " no quotes - enter.

    If still no go it could relate to malware and I would try a scan with SuperAntispyware.
     
  3. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I tried the dns cache and I got a msg saying "the requested operation requires elevatin"
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
  5. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I've ran spybot no luck, ran windows defender on a quick scan and still no luck.
    Whats web address to Super Anti Spyware and some other ones?
     
  6. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    If Vista right click cmd and run as administrator and try to clear the dns.
     
  7. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
  8. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Sorry no luck with the hijack this log as Wilders no longer supports it.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That's true, that's why I gave you a link with other forums at the bottom.
     
  10. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Sorry bit lost there, cmd is command promt i.e like a DOS based command so how can I right click CMD >

    Also I'm logged in as an Admin already.
     
  11. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    With Vista you still might need to right click and run command prompt as admin in order for some commands to work regardless if your logged in as admin.

    Go to cmd (command prompt) through the start menu and right click - run as admin.
     
  12. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Sorry but I cant seem to find a CMD in the Start Menu, the only way for me to access CMD is to press the windows key folowed by R key and than the cmd box will pop up.

    I'm using Vista Ultimate

    PS: Forgot to mention so far I'm scanning using Super Antispyware and its found 11 threats, these all being a Vundo Variant.
     
  13. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Ok some good news here, Superantispyware had detected and killed/deleted all threats. Well so far everything looks good and back to order. I must admit that this is one fantastic antispyware software.

    Thanks everyone who helped me here.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Glad SAS seems to have sorted it for you but I would still post a Hijack log in one of the forums from ErikAlbert's link just to be sure.

    SAS is way up there as one of if not the best in my books anyways.
    Vista Run CMD as Admin
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,220
    Hello there,
    I can read in your signature that you have Nod32 and Bitdefender as antivirus (presumably one resident and one on demand), didn't you scan your system at all with them? Nod32 should be able to take care of that. Kudos to SAS.
     
  16. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  17. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Those AV's are excellent for virus's but spyware such as vundo and smitfrauds seem to be more prevalient these days.

    SAS is the best! IMHO
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.