SecureAPlus vs. Voodoo Shield

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by atunis5804, May 20, 2015.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,794
     
  2. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    VPN city
    Yeah, the free version of SAP sucks now. Paid versions are still good. I've had that position on SAP ever since 6.0.0
     
  3. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    VPN city
    @Buddel was responding to something you said. As can be seen by the post you ( @imdb ) quoted.

    What are you even trying to do?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    90,412
    Location:
    Texas
    SecureAPlus vs. Voodoo Shield is the thread title. Any other software is off limits for discussion in this thread.
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    Proof is in pudding, so to speak...

    I am a long time tester of both since the beginning. I have both paid versions of them. Complimentary, of course. :) That, doesn't make biased in the least. They just work!!!!!
     
  6. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    VPN city
    Yeah.
     
  7. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    I would agree that a tweaked KIS provides a superb defense, but if you use VS with a free Anti Virus you will also have superb protection.
    VS is magnificent there is nothing mediocre about it
     
  8. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,480
    Location:
    USA
    Thought I would give SAP a try. During installation Malwarebytes threw up a Trojan Warning. False positiveo_O
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,890
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have used SAP for several months. It scans clean with all of the many AVs on VirusTotal.

    Security software, such as SAP, must be able to access/scan all areas of a computer's structure, which is similar to what trojans do. Thus, Malwarebyte's behavior blocker may be sounding an alert on that basis.

    If you have a valid copy of SAP (check its hash), it is not a trojan. Report it to Malwarebytes as a false positive. If that doesn't work, contact SAP's support by email to:
    Code:
    secureaplus@secureage.com
    Optionally, you can post this issue on SAP's support forum HERE.

    By the way, SAP's main forum thread at Wilders is located HERE. Questions & comments that relate primarily to SAP will often get more responses if posted there instead of in a thread which is mainly concerned with comparing SAP and VoodooShield.

    I am a long-time user of SAP, as are my friends & family. It has always given us excellent protection. I hope you get this issue with Malwarebytes worked out to your satisfaction. :thumb:
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,480
    Location:
    USA
    Great! Thanks bellgamin for complete response.
     
  11. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,431
    Location:
    Paris
    Just a quick note on SAP- be aware that the detection rate on Scriptors (eg. Worms) is not the best of the second opinion scanners. Also SAP will not check in those areas of the computer were where persistent values (meaning a value that will direct the malware to restart on computer reboot) exist (like the Registry, or Roaming, etc).

    My suggestion is that at a minimum the user be aware of any and all Startup items that exist, as persistent scriptors otherwise can be a Forever type of thing.

    M
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,913
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Where have you been, my lady? I was beginning to believe you went into permanent dark mode or something worse happened to you.
     
  13. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,480
    Location:
    USA
  14. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,575
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Tried SAP some time ago after Comodo Firewall v12 took a nutty and screwed up my laptop. I did not care for it. I'm sure it does a good job, but it wasn't for me. I settled on Hard Configurator. Maybe SecureAPlus with Andy Ful's H.C. would be a nice pairing. Hmmm.....have to think about it.

    And CruelSis.......we miss you. Quit being such a stranger.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,893
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumb::D
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,890
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I posted this issue in the SecureAPlus forum at HERE. It is discussed by a SAP representative at HERE.
     
  17. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,431
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi Guys! Sweet of you all to remember me. I've been quite well, but still a bit miffed that La Thuile closed right before I was to arrive. Global Pandemics really are quite burdensome for a ski bum!

    Hope all of you also are well and please stay safe!!!

    M
     
  18. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,480
    Location:
    USA
    Ski bum! Ahh yes, once upon a time. Very serious. Miss the Golden Years. 20's and 30's :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.