Sbie+ Firefox .89+ compatybility

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Jun 4, 2021.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Viena
    Some users reported issues with Firefox .89 and later,
    please post your experiences with running said firefox versions in the latest Sbie+ version

    Please descripe problems if thay apear in detail, pay attention if the issue happens aways, randomly or only on specific pages.
    Also please test if the issues may arise only in combination with some extensions (unlikely though)
     
  2. Monica2000

    Monica2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Spain
    I just fixed my problem with Firefox 89 deleting this line from my Firefox sandbox config:

    Code:
    ClosedIpcPath=\RPC Control\LSARPC_ENDPOINT
    Never had a problem before, Firefox 89 works fine now.
     
  3. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Poland
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,008
    Location:
    UK
  5. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Poland
    Yup i can confirm now work good :D
     
  6. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Austria
    Here no problem at all with Firefox 89.0 (64 bit) and Sandboxie Classic (version 5.49.7). :thumb:
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Same here. I've had no problems at all with Firefox 89 and SBIE 5.49.7. I am, however, not able to get any Chrome version 90 derivative to launch in Sandboxie, not Brave, Chrome, Vivaldi, Chromium, or ungoogled Chrome.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2021
  8. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    Just updated to firefox 89.0.1 and to sbie classic 5.50.2 and I can't run firefox at all (no problem with edge): it says impossible to run firefox ... error 14001

    windows 10 pro 20H2
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,932
    Location:
    .
    Sandboxie+ v0.8.2 & Firefox 89.0.1 ....okay, for me.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021
  10. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    New Zealand
    FF 89.0.1 + Sandboxie 5.50.2 also running well on our 7 machines. (Not doubting you Dirk41 - just pointing out that it's not the same for everyone therefore may be something particular about your system, or a glitch somewhere).
     
  11. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Firefox 89.01 works fine for me with SBIE classic 5.50.1 x64. I do notice that every once and a while I get a crashed tab, which never used to happen before. But that might be unrelated.
     
  12. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Austria
    All o.k. for me too (Sandboxie Classic 5.50.2, 64 bit, Firefox 89.0.1.).

    @Dirk41: especially in case that you use Bitdefender:

    Perhaps you can find something useful here:
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/651 (especially this comment: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/651#issuecomment-798783873 )
    in combination with here:
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/715 (especially this comment: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/715#issuecomment-808401733 )
     
  13. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22

    I use windows defender (windows 10 pro build 19042.1052, version 20H2)
     
  14. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Dirk41 did you check to make sure that your sandbox was completely empty before you updated firefox? Sometimes launching a new version of a browser when the sandbox had not been completely emptied first and had remnants of a previous version inside, can cause errors.
     
  15. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    sure, the sandbox autodelete automatically when closed
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,892
    issue "error 14001" with bitdefender
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/715

    are you using a full featured profile or a new one? try first with a new firefox profile, no addons, nothing.

    go
    Code:
    about:profiles
    and create a new one.

    #edit:
    20H2, sb 5.50.2 (plus or classic means no difference to core files), firefox 89.0.1, full featured profile, no error, nothing.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
  17. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Mine does too as I've made my settings in Sandboxie to autodelete, however every now again there is a glitch and Sandboxie doesn't get fully emptied, usually if something is preventing FF from fully closing. To check if this may have been the case, I would suggest creating a new sandbox within Sandboxie, and try running FF in that (right click on FF icon, choose run sandboxed, and then select the new sandbox you've created). If that doesn't run either, then creating a new profile without altering settings or adding addons as per Brummelchen's advice. I note above you stated you are not using Bitdefender, so the error in your case must refer to something else.
     
  18. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    thank you but, as I said, I don't use bitdefender and I've never installed it. I use just windows defender
    not sure what you mean with full featured profile or new one: I am not logged in my FF account, and I use just ublock origin and https everywhere
     
  19. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    wow, I've just created a new sandbox and launched firefox in it and it works
     
  20. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Profile Manager - Create, remove or switch Firefox profiles | Firefox Help (mozilla.org) - this article may be of help in explaining what is meant by Firefox profiles. Scroll down the page to where it talks about creating a new profile. A new profile will help determine if your current profile is corrupt (nothing to do with being signed in to a FF account or not), and it will hep determine if it is a setting you've changed or an addon you're using that is the problem with Sandboxie. So when you create a new profile, don't change any settings or add any addons. Just try it as it comes out of the box. It's just for testing purposes, you don't have to keep it if you don't want to.
     
  21. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Excellent. No need to create a new profile then. This means either your Sandbox became corrupted or as I wondered, it may not have been fully emptied, in spite of your settings. I still like to check and manually delete my sandboxes from time to time to make sure they are emptied. As I said above, sometimes something will prevent a browser from fully closing and therefore prevent autodeletion. I do that routinely before I check for browser updates, and also before updating Sandboxie.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,892
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.