Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
    Uh oh, that sounds bad, my best wishes for your restart. If you are going that journey, please let us know to help you out in case of troubleshooting. Please have in mind to use a backup program e.g. like Macrium Reflect Free or Aomei Backupper Pro (can tell you about free license) using right after the first windows startup to have basic image. And please have in mind NOT to install any additional security software. Windows defender is really strong.

    I know that the windows firewall design has not been improved since XP, that's a pity. if you need additional security feel free to ask again, beyond windows pro there a lot under the hood.
     
  2. brunos

    brunos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    I do not know is this the right Sandboxie thread to post this problem, but I hope that I am doing the right thing and apologize in advance if I made mistake...

    First of all, thanks to all great developers who will continue to develop the great Sandboxie software as free and open source software! :)

    And now, about one of mine huge problem with Sandboxie software...
    AdGuard is a globally famous and popular ad-blocker software, but on 26th May 2020 AdGuard for Windows v7.4 came with a new "AdGuard Browser Assistant" for Firefox, Edge, Chrome, Safari, Opera, Yandex Browser...:

    https://adguard.com/en/adguard-assistant/overview.html

    In my case, it is the "AdGuard AdBlocker Assistant" for Mozilla Firefox Web browser:

    https://static.adguard.com/extensions/browserassistant/release/firefox.xpi

    It can be installed and operate, only if you have AdGuard for Desktop payed version...
    And, when you install it in a Mozilla Firefox, it cannot work at all, using the Sandboxie v5.33.6 (64-bit) software, because when you try to engage it within Mozilla Firefox, it wants/needs to sandboxed the whole AdGuard for Desktop application also, but which runs in Taskbar/(System) Notification Area, so he cant... :(

    https://forum.adguard.com/index.php?threads/7-4-beta-2-problems-when-running-sandboxed.38176/

    So I hope that the future version of the great Sandboxie software will correct this bug.

    Thank you in advance and best regards to all here!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
  3. UnrealPc

    UnrealPc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    I would like to continue using sandboxie v3.76 in XP as I have been doing for over a decade. Unfortunately it is no longer possible to renew the license for another 180 days and there are only 5 days left until it expires. Is there a way to continue to use v3.76 without having to upgrade to the latest XP compatible version?
    Thank so much for your great work ;)
     
  4. Videogamer555

    Videogamer555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    How secure are the files deleted from the sandbox? Is it just a normal deletion, or a file wipe (all bytes in the file set to 0x00 before running the normal delete command on the file)?
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,327
    Location:
    UK
    See here
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-sbie-open-source.428156/page-11#post-2942394
     
  6. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    890
  7. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you, sir :thumb:

    I will report if I encounter any problem in my journey

    Macrium Reflect Home Set -

    Formating HDD in 3.2.1 :p

    Camel

    <System out>
     
  8. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    Your only choice atm is to use the "Legacy Assistant", they wont fix it. So either sandboxie got a kind fix from the Sandboxie dev or Adguard will be a problem when they drop the "Legacy Assistant"
    https://forum.adguard.com/index.php?threads/7-4-beta-2-problems-when-running-sandboxed.38176//
     
  9. UnrealPc

    UnrealPc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Posts:
    5
  10. brunos

    brunos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Thank you most kindly for help and advice!

    I apologize once again, I made some today's correction in my original post here, because last night I was mistakenly put the freeware AdGuard AdBlocker.pxi name/link in all this story, which further complicate my post... :(

    You see, there is even another one AdGuard Web Browser Extension called "AdGuard AdBlocker".
    - It is free to use for everybody, but it differentiate from the fully payed AdGuard for Desktop app -> Settings > Browser assistant -> "Use the legacy non-browser extension version (works in all browsers)" option, which will be after all, soon fully replaced by this whole new "AdGuard Browser Assistant", and which they just created on 26th May 2020...

    An again, in last 2 weeks, even this AdGuard "Legacy non-browser extension version" do not work anymore, it is miraculously disappeared and it is not present anymore as an icon at all in my Mozilla Firefox Web Browser, and despite the fact that it is engage in AdGuard for Desktop app..., so I am now desperately forced to use only the free "AdGuard AdBlocker" extension here, despite I have a fully payed AdGuard for Desktop app... :(

    It is all an AdGuard bugy mess in the first place here, but for too many users it is so much vitally important to use the AdGuard for Desktop software in parallel, as same as Sandboxie software for other reasons, so it must to be a way soon to fix this all thru.

    After all, we all now see the way where AdGuard corp. is going, and that this whole new "AdGuard Browser Assistant" it will soon become the only option for its users, and on that way it will not be possible at all to use the AdGuard for Desktop software and the Sandboxie software together, if Sandboxie will not think about something here, to further coexist.
     
  11. Monica2000

    Monica2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Spain
    That message was like 4 months ago. Any news about the date of the first release?

    Thank you for your effort to keep Sandboxie alive. :)
     
  12. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    @brunos The only thing I can tell you that for me the "legacy assistent" still works in windows 10, Version 1909, sandboxie 5.33.6 and Adguard 7.5.1. Afaik I just installed the ""legacy assistent" while Firefox was unsandboxed and never tried the "new browser Assistant" ever again.
    Untitled.png
    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Another suggestion: Open Adguard>settings>Extensions>"AdGuard Assistent" (click the "gear" icon and try "reinstall")
    Better do it while the browser is unsandboxed.
    Thats all the ideas I have. Good luck :)
     
  13. brunos

    brunos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Dear Freki123, I am so grateful that you give me a hint, that I have obvious an individual problem with the old and legacy AdGuard Assistant here, and that the AdGuard Corp. still did not silently remove this from their AdGuard for Desktop app., as it is expected that they will do eventually...

    And, when I try to figured out today, with your hint for orientation to compare now..., it just cross my mind on first, what I did on this PC in last 2-3 weeks differently or new, with the applications here, that this of mine old and legacy AdGuard Assistant simply and puzzled just vanished...(?)
    ... What happened, did I change something big, what new Updates was running in that timeframe, etc...(?)

    Then it cross my mind, I have also on this PC a Piriform CCleaner Pro installed, and Piriform CCleaner was recently have a huge buggy scandal scenario with erasing the Mozilla Firefox Extensions...:

    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ccleaner-deleting-firefox-extension-settings-firef

    https://support.mozilla.org/uk/kb/ccleaner-deleting-firefox-extension-settings-firef

    https://www.ghacks.net/2020/08/03/f...-wipes-firefox-extension-settings-by-default/

    So I was thinking at first, that this was somehow also damage my old and legacy AdGuard Assistant here... :(

    So, I investigate even that today, and that was not my issue at all.


    I also further try to reinstall today, my old and legacy AdGuard Assistant here, as you suggested, but nothing helped. :(
    I even test all this today, onto a fresh installation of Mozilla Firefox Portable here, but still not luck, that the old and legacy AdGuard Assistant show up ever again on this PC... :(


    At the end, it only leaves me to completely reinstall AdGuard for Desktop app., and/or the Mozilla Firefox Web browser, with all of its Extensions and similar on this PC... :(


    But, just before I did both of that, I figured out what is a culprit problemo all here - it is my new Malwarebytes Premium v4.2.0! :)
    You see, I figured out, that, when it is fully engaged in the Tray/Taskbar/(System) Notification Area, you can dream that you will be able to see engaged an old and legacy AdGuard Assistant here! :)
    But, the moment you fully shut down Malwarebytes Premium v4.2.0, the good, old and legacy AdGuard Assistant miraculously show up again, as it was never gone before some 2-3 weeks ago. :)


    So, now it is even a Malwarebytes problem in whole this mumbo-jumbo buggy scenario, and now I only need to figured out, how to exclude this old and legacy AdGuard Assistant or something, that Malwarebytes Premium v4.2.0 live him just alone and fully working:

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...-protection-blocks-the-adguard-web-assistant/

    https://forum.adguard.com/index.php...ction-blocks-the-adguard-web-assistant.36914/


    An again, all this, will actually and only temporary gives as all the solution here, since AdGuard Corp. will really eventually and probably even silently, just shut down this "old and legacy AdGuard Assistant", and it will do that in favor of this whole new "AdGuard Browser Assistant".
    And then, the real headache will again start, if Sandboxie in the meantime really does not think about something good, to resolve the bug with this whole new "AdGuard Browser Assistant" in the first place.

    So, my humble wish to fix this Sandboxie, still stands all here!

    Thank you all for help and best regards!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
  14. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    132
    @brunos I'm happy you found out what the problem was :)
    I really hope sandboxie will get an update (when the cert problems are fixed). With lot's of luck the Adguard problem will be also be fixable. If not for me sandboxie is more unique than Adguard and when forced to choose it will be an easy choice (bye bye Adguard as much as I love you).
     
  15. jclarkw

    jclarkw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    USA
    Me too! -- jclarkw
     
  16. Bellzemos

    Bellzemos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    Hello! I hope that Sandboxie will live on too and am patiently waiting for some good news. :)
     
  17. k_zeon

    k_zeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    just got my 1st error on SandboxieInstall64-533-6 SBIE2101 Object name not found: \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\ISWWH_BEACON@1900@EFR-controller, error CreateEvent (C0000022) access=001F0003 initialized=1

    so installed SandboxieInstall64-v5.43.exe but still have error and Firefox will not start

    Firefox 80.0.1
    Windows 10 Pro 2004

    Does anyone know how to fix this. thanks
     
  18. k_zeon

    k_zeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    so i deleted the sandbox, uninstalled SB then reinstalled SandboxieInstall64-533-6 and seems to be working again.
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
  20. Runitonce

    Runitonce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Hi guys,

    I've been struggeling to open programs sandboxed for a while , therefore I finally decided to ask for help.
    This is the error code I'm receiving:

    <Error>
    <Code>AccessDenied</Code>
    <Message>Access Denied</Message>
    <RequestId>C49762F201E6A9EF</RequestId>
    "); background-position: initial; background-size: initial; background-repeat: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; vertical-align: bottom; height: 10px;"><HostId>
    6sPhz78bZVVx0d59A7G/RAfY34LVNIlgLoOefyhlx2jIixDmRQ6dPE3x+vci/gX4KqBudC3280Q=
    </HostId>
    </Error>

    Any idea what to do?I would be very greatful for any help.

    Regards
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
  22. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,576
    Location:
    USA
    Has anyone heard from Tzur, the original developer of Sandboxie. I was wondering if there was any chance of him getting involved with Sandboxie development again.
     
  23. Runitonce

    Runitonce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK

    I've setup windows completly new to get sandboxie running again, there shoulnd't be anything hindering it from running smoothly.
    Funny enough I'm receiving a new error message now.

    <Error>
    <Code>AccessDenied</Code>
    <Message>Access Denied</Message>
    <RequestId>8C3070D9C1200405</RequestId>
    "); background-position: initial; background-size: initial; background-repeat: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; vertical-align: bottom; height: 10px;"><HostId>
    ducF2TnJkLuSULkPE4J1kDd7gTPzMVC3qULGKiMieWhG3zkilTx72WPtB5oS1SF1txggMLmP1B0=
    </HostId>
    </Error>

    Any idea whats going on?
     
  24. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, a thoughtful post. Me thinks it won't happen though.
     
  25. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    FYI; The Adguard desktop version works fine with Sandboxie just have to make sure DNS is enabled in the Adguard settings.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.