Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,765
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, glad to help.
    If in a folder you see the thumbnail for videos, it means you have that particular folder set up to display the preview thumbnail. But you can change it to Details. Right click the folder, and click Details (Detalles in Spanish). I set up all my folders to show Details.

    2.jpg

    Bo
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,765
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Go here to set Sandbox contents to delete on closing of sandboxed programs. Tick, "Automatically delete contents of Sandbox".

    3.jpg

    Bo
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see. But I don't have the knowledge for this stuff. But not a big deal, because Vivaldi is my primary browser, so it doesn't have to be portable. All other browsers I use only for testing, so I prefer portable versions of Firefox, Edge, Chrome and Opera.

    OK, so it's an online installer I guess. About Edge, I hope portableapps.com will make one, do they have to get permission of the developer in this case M$?
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,163
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    No knowledge required, Rasheed. 'Install standalone' is portable. You just have to select a folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My bad, so Vivaldi already offers this option, thanks.
     
  6. Deyomas

    Deyomas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I'm running into some steam issues myself (In both Sandboxie 5.33.1 and 5.33.6). I'm replying since you seem to be the only other one talking about Steam here for now. I have a near identical setup using Aster + steam, but I'm trying to work with Borderlands 2. It's worked for me before on my previous computer but now I can't get it to work on this new machine. Previously, my partner played steam and BL2 outside of sandbox while I ran steam sandboxed (Same steam download, just running in sandbox) and a separate download of BL2 in the sandbox.
    Right now I can't download another copy of BL2 (or any game for that matter) into the sandbox. We also can't both play the same instance of BL2 or else the second one to launch crashes. No SBIE error, program just crashes, but it makes me wonder: Are you playing the same instance of Monster Hunter or have you redownloaded it into the sandbox to use a separate install? Also, are you able to download any games through a sandboxed steam into the sandbox? I've mostly been trying a mix of file access restrictions, using steam's -no-cef-sandbox command, running in administrator mode, and downloading a separate steam into the sandbox but no luck for me.

    For anybody else, any ideas or leads to try? Would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    I don't own the game I just recognized to name. I just wanted to add the game is running Denovu (Incorporates 3rd-party DRM: Denuvo Anti-tamper
    5 different PC within a day machine activation limit) which could be a reason to give problems.
    Forcing an DRM into a sandbox is maybe not liked from some devs (just guessing).
     
  8. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US
    Problem with password manager

    Win7 Ultimate
    Sandboxie 5.331
    Sticky Password Password Manager
    -------------------------------------
    I'm relatively new to Sandboxie, and as I've chosen to stay with Win7, I'm trying to sandbox my browsers. SPW (Sticky Password Password Manager) runs in the background and connects to the extension in Firefox and Waterfox. I tried SPW both in the sandbox and out of it, and it won't work automatically either way, although it is running. Are there some settings I have to tweak? I'm not familiar with all the settings yet.

    One more thing--when SPW is sandboxed, it minimizes to the taskbar without the [#]
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2020
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,765
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi roboxie. I am not familiar with SPW or password managers in general but if SPW doesn't work outside the sandbox, it wont work inside the sandbox either.
    For sandboxed programs to show the #, the program has to have a title bar. If no Title bar, no #. Instead, you could use the color border around the edge of sandboxed programs. Look here:

    Sandboxie cotrol>Sandbox settings>Appearance, Click, Display a border around the Window.

    Bo
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,588
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ Sticky Password
    png_7412.png png_7413.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2020
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually I feel so dumb that I didn't know about this earlier. I can now finally run two different versions of Vivaldi side by side, great for testing! I currently run Vivaldi 3.1 and Vivaldi Portable 3.2, and as expected the portable version installs without any problems both inside and outside the sandbox. I wasn't able to install the non-portable version of Vivaldi "sandboxed" anymore, so this solves it. I wonder why Windows doesn't switch to portable apps, I don't see the need for full installers any longer.
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,467
    Windows don't care about the mode of software, anyhow portables* in general are vulnerable to attacks while regular installed* software is not.

    * you can't put portables in c:\program files\ (or c:\program files (x86) or c:\windows\ or other system folders), and it does not make sense to restrict folders with portables because malfunctions will occur. A matter of basic knowledge of windows.

    And malware is able to find its targets, running or not.
     
  13. login123

    login123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    169
    I've read all three main sandboxie topics.
    I have the paid lifetime license. It never expires.
    Every installation has always said "Your product key does not have an expiration date." but it needs to be reactivated every 180 days.
    I've used it for these long years but now it can't be activated, apparently because the servers are gone.
    I understand that "there are no plans" to create a version for xp, but is there a way to get this installation working again?
    I have tried changing the ini file to change the update value "SbieCtrl_NextUpdateCheck" to 2124300600 but it didn't change the requirement to activate.
     
  14. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    It works fine when FF or Chrome isn't sandboxed. I've had it for years. It detects the URL and fills in my ID and PW. Just doesn't work when the browser is sandboxed. Maybe there's some one here who's familiar with password managers.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,765
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You can't get your current installation to reactivate, licenses are dead.

    But you can try this release (get installer from link below) by David Xanatos created for XP. It ll give you what we had with the paid version, and no need to activate license. I havent tested this version but I recommended it to someone else who is using XP, and it is working for him.

    Make sure you get the SandboxieInstall32_xp.exe installer.

    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/v5.40

    Bo
     
  16. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    When I click on "yes," I get:

    "navigator.__defineGetter__("userAgent", function () {return "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:59.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/72.0"})AccessDeniedAccess
    Denied5D3E4946B9535807sQ1t4rs1Gczam63DUAJaaCgobLUQtLf0EnmgyA5xADQXER4hzYrHIPxKxs8oPOqr7JYgFPAleVE="

    I'm not a programmer, but it looks like an error message.
    SPW IS sandboxed, because I have a yellow border.

    And I'm revising my problem: it's working intermittently, which will make it harder to solve.

    I think there used to be a tutorial on their website, but now the site is just one page.
    https://www.sandboxie.com/
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,588
    Location:
    .
    I tried (as test) to get Sticky Password Manager to run in my browser sandbox.
    After an hour....I gave up. Sorry -
    FWIW ~ KeePass (daily rider) & Enpass (just in case) run okay, for me, in my browser sandbox ~ YMMV
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  18. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US
    I got no reply when I had previously posted the issue at the Stick Password forum. I'll have to choose between that and Sandboxie, or maybe another sandbox program. SPW is the least buggy of the 4 PW managers I've used.
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,588
    Location:
    .
    KeePass and Enpass are local database. I'm not used to cloud database.
    FWIW ~ as test - from Chrome. I need to Unlock Sticky from within Chrome sandbox and Download database from cloud backup ~ YMMV
    png_7441.png png_7443.png
    Maybe, all these holes are not needed. I'm done testing Sticky. Cheers
    Forced Programs
    spnmhost.exe
    Internet Access
    spnmhost.exe
    stpass.exe
    Start/Run Access
    spNMHost.exe
    stpass.exe
    spUIManager.exe
    Edit: #276
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  20. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,467
    Seriously? And its a fake.
     
  21. login123

    login123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    169
    Thank you, Bo and David. I'll give it a try.
     
  22. caduser

    caduser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    I started (today) to get the popup SBIE1242 - Monitor Buffer Overflow not had that before, long time user of sandboxie from Win 7 to Win 10. It seemed fine last week just started today when using my usual SB. Even when only opening a window not even a program. That prompted me to finally join as I have had some questions for a few months and with the old forums dead (the original SB forums had proved very useful over the years with some niche issues it is very sad it was all lost)
    I have killed everything and restarted and so far it is OK because hide was not keeping it suppressed. Any ideas what triggers that?


    OK as I had some catch up and questions I hope it is alright if I map it here (or should I start a new thread?)

    A bit of background. I have been having more and more issues throughout the end of lats year but especially this year:

    I upgraded a week or so ago to 5.33.6 I had been running 5.33.1 last year and 5.33.3 most of this year. I had initial problems in December when my machine was forced to Windows 10 1809 that I could no longer install several things the same issue most of us had. For a while I still had a laptop on an older update which was on an older SB release (I forget which) and worked OK.

    In July I was updated to Win 10 2004 and I found a mod pack I run for the game WOT by aslain (simple installers built in inno setup) no longer would install after being fine for years, it does not use msi but unpacks files into temp. It starts, does an update check and then just stops. I even tested versions from last year which I had previously installed. I also use inno setup but thankfully my installs still appear to run OK, they are much simpler and unpack direct to the specified folders.

    I had my Windows updates paused and read about fixes for 2004, thinking ah maybe that is causing the issue I updated late last week, ran fine for 2 or 3 days and now this overflow message pops up every 10 or 15 minutes.

    My laptop so far is my fall back and has served as a bit of a control test. It is currently on Win 10 1809 (and stuck on it thankfully due to an old copy of VMware blocking update) and Sandboxie 5.30 which still runs these particular installs. I have to install there and copy back to my workstation sandbox. Also so far no strange popups on the laptop, but it is the old copy so only runs 1 SB at a time. I hesitate to update as it works so far.

    I updated my workstation to 5.33.6 after my initial 2004 update hoping there was something updated from 5.33.3 that was a bit more compatible. I also had been finding after 2 or 3 days the performance was greatly impacted, simply opening a windows explorer window in sandboxie becomes very slow taking minutes when on my laptop and right after a reboot it is seconds.

    Some questions:

    - Can I assume the modpack fail which seems to fail to pick pack up the unpacked files is linked to changes in the API from Win 10 2004? (not sure if any other users play WOT or use those mods who would know)
    - Has anybody who was working OK on Win10 2004 started having issues after the latest roll up update this month - cumulative KB4566782 + KB4569745? (I tend to avoid them but had hoped it might help)
    - Should I take the plunge and update to the new version by David? I have held off to have an official version while it worked but would love to return to a version that let me install properly especially msi files again like I used to.
    - If it does not work can I reinstall 5.33.6 or once updated will I have trouble?
    - I read about a portable version, can I run that parallel with my current SB for testing or do I need to kill the current service? Do I need to rename the service to avoid conflicts?

    -If I do update to the new version to avoid certificate issues I just need to add an exception/exclusion to the install folder?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  23. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    SPW is a local database.
    Part of the problem is SB itself. There had been tutorials on the SB site, but are no longer there, except for the very basic functions. This is the Help page:
    https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?HelpTopics

    No explanation of "Forced programs" and "Start,Run Access," how it differs from "Internet access." No explanation of the Menu Bar entries. How do I get the files into those 3 categories that you have? Are there other tutorials somewhere?

    Haven't even tried it with Chrome because I can't get it right with FF, and I use Chrome only for 1 work site.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,290
    Location:
    UK
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,588
    Location:
    .
    Okay....local database. Maybe, I'll try Sticky with local database.
    @roboxie with Sync local or Sync disabled?
    I'm running W10 Home 1909 + Sandboxie 5.33.6
    I may have days left with Premium Trial.
    Are you running Free or Fee?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.