Sandboxie with Ramdisk

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Quassar, Mar 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    I found article how incerase vitality SSD and speed launch programs & other apps
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4wJlg53hlQ

    1)Ramdisk compare programs performance
    http://www.raymond.cc/blog/12-ram-disk-software-benchmarked-for-fastest-read-and-write-speed/
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1381131/ramdisks-roundup-and-testing

    Here I chosen SoftPerfect Ramdisk

    2)Sandboxie inside Ramdisk
    I created 1GB ramdisk NTFS format and moved sandboxie container folder to this ramdisk.

    And my Question is:
    Does it make sense to move
    "cache FireFox To RAM" or "change path of cache to ramdisk"
    when i have already sandboxied firefox inside ramdisk ?!
    http://lifehacker.com/5687850/speed-up-firefox-by-moving-your-cache-to-ram-no-ram-disk-required
    http://support.mozilla.org/pl/questions/768867
     
  2. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    I've had my SBIE container in a RAM disc for a number of years and never felt the need to do what you're asking. The container in a RAM disc method allows the whole browser session to run in RAM rather than just storing cache files.

    If you regularly run the browser outside the sandbox and do a significant amount of surfing un-sandboxed then you would potentially gain something I suppose but if you generally always sandbox Firefox I can't really see the benefit.

    Cheers
     
  3. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Germany
    Unless you've given firefox.exe direct access to its cache folder location, any writes to the cache should be redirected to the Sandboxie container folder on the ramdisk.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    If you put Sandboxie container on Ramdisk, you don't need to put FF cache there also. All write operations will be redirected there by SBIE.

    hqsec
     
  5. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    So good i think its will be overall
    becasue never mind how i setup programs sandboxie will still redirect for myself path
    but if i use firefox for update with out sandboxie than these setup will work and have sens
     
  6. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I run both SBIE Container and FF Profile Folder from my Ramdisk. Though I do have to redo the Ramdisk image everything I do manual updates to FF un-sandboxed, i.e. New Bookmarks, New\Updated Add-ons, etc.

    dja2k
     
  7. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    I gonna start do it also.
    how about Firefox i keep him still instaled on main disc
     
  8. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    If you mean the Firefox installation in Program Files, then yes that is ok to leave it as is.

    If you don't know how to move the Profile Folder to your Ramdisk, go here.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2014
  9. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    So I did as you suggested and just set the container to R; (my ramdisk) so that is all that is needed? If so if there any way to check to see if it is indeed working? Using chrome BTW
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  10. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Also, if this is the correct way for the internet cache, will they be removed as normal if I clean the browsing history as they normally do?
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    If you delete sandbox container when exiting Chrome, all browsing history will be deleted automatically. Just set it to delete sandbox upon exit and don't worry about browsing history ever again.

    hqsec
     
  12. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    The Ram Disc should be mounted for you to see like any other drive. Navigate to it and examine the contents.

    Yes, as hqsec says the Ram Disc acts like a normal drive, as such files can be created and deleted as usual. The advantage is even if you forget or something goes wrong everything is cleared on re-boot anyway.

    Cheers
     
  13. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    579
    I use the free Softperfect Ramdisk (http://www.softperfect.com/products/ramdisk/) with Sandboxie beta 4.09. Works great. Mount and dismount a ramdisk, no need to reboot computer. And a wipe-feature: "Tick Wipe Memory on Dismount to securely wipe memory used for the disk out on dismounting the disk."

    http://www.softperfect.com/products/ramdisk/manual/
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
  14. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Yeah I use it too. Very good, easy to use and works great. What you suggest is a nice quick way of clearing the entire Sanboxed session.

    Cheers
     
  15. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    579
    @chris1341

    Handy tip: Tick Mount as Removable if you do not want Windows to create the Recycled or System Volume Information folders on the disk. These folders are used by the Recycle Bin and System Restore features.

    Recovering files/programs from the ramdisk-sandbox doesnt always work as it should be. Dunno why.
     
  16. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Nice tip, thanks:thumb: . Don't have that issue though. I can recover files fine.
     
  17. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the tip. One question in regards to the cache: If the sandbox deletes the contents and thus the temporary internet files, wouldn't that take away from the concept of the RAM disk, if they need to be recreated each browsing session?
     
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    It all depends on what you want to achieve. If you don't want to delete browser's cache, you shouldn't enable SBIE's auto-delete and should save ramdisk to HDD when shutting down system. If you want to delete cache you can either enable auto-delete in SBIE (cache will be deleted after each browsing session) or not save Ramdisk to HDD when shutting down (cache will be deleted upon system shutdown).

    hqsec
     
  19. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the information hqsec and for your time:thumb:
     
  20. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    You're welcome :)

    hqsec
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    some aspects from inside
    you have cache laid into sandboxie with about:config and/or forced folders to prevent outbreak from cache.
    ofc Firefox must run outside sandboxie othrwise its a pointless configuration.

    it makes no sense cache laid into ram and expect firefox working properly after shut down ramdisk and/or windows without firefox letting know about. you need firefox to force to clean cache when ending otherwise you will get site errors for sure if you kick off cache while firefox expects data where no data exists.
     
  22. masterhunter

    masterhunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Good day
    a question:
    If i set this parameters with about:config in my firefox do i still need a ramdisk for put cache to ram with firefox sanboxedo_O

    browser.cache.disk.enable false
    browser.cache.memory.enable true
    browser.cache.memory.capacity -1 (or modify in the options)


    Thanks
     
  23. masterhunter

    masterhunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    No tryed today and doesnt work...a lot of files is written in sanboxie folder expecially when video streaming

    So dont change anything in about:config and simply:
    -create a ramdisk
    -put sanboxie container folder to ramdisk
    -ENJOY!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.