Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Okay....my bad. I was trying to run (test) Sticky from my daily rider browser sandboxes.
    I'd forgotten about my long time added Blocked Access.
    Okay...with new default SPTest sandbox + Sticky Sync disabled -
    Run Firefox in SPTest sandbox > call Sticky from Sticky extension button > Unlock
    png_7452.png png_7450.png png_7449.png png_7451.png
    Run Chrome in SPTest sandbox > call Sticky from Sticky extension button > Unlock
    png_7453.png png_7454.png
    Note: I'm not Sticky Password familiar. I've only created one login credentials. I'm not running Sticky as Sticky familiar user.
    @roboxie my apology for "my bad".
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  2. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US
    I use the free one, with Win7 and Waterfox2020--almost identical to FF52.9esr except for the telemetry. Uses exact same profile.

    I don't understand your reply because you're way ahead of me, and I have to go through all the directions first. I tried it some months ago, uninstalled it, then reinstalled it about a week ago.

    I've turned Sandboxie off temporarily, because I have over 200 logins in SPW and I can't function. Where is "Sandboxie SP Test"? What's a "familiar user?" SB asked me only about the stpass.exe file, not the others.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Okay....I've no way to reproduce Win7. I've no way to reproduce 200 logins in Sticky Password.
    Maybe, I can try Waterfox 2020 - https://waterfox.net/ IDK
    Regarding "Sandboxie SPTest" sandbox. I created a new default sandbox - labeled by me SPTest via Sandboxie Control.
    Regarding "familiar user". I'm not Sticky Password familiar....meaning, yesterday was the first time I'd touched Sticky Password. I'm not familiar with Sticky Password.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  4. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    Did you get it to work?

    Think of Waterfox as being structurally the same as FF pre-Quantum, but the problem isn't in my browser, and I don't think SB works differently in Win 7 and Win10.

    I'll be back after I look over the Help site or I'll try another sandbox program. I'm not getting any work done.
     
  5. caduser

    caduser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Big thanks to Stapp who was actually assisting somebody else but in sharing the help docs that helped me track down the message page (https://sandboxie-website-archive.github.io/www.sandboxie.com/SBIE_Messages.html) which is invaluable. This helped me see what the issue SB was reporting even if I was not sure why - First part of my post: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-sbie-open-source.428156/page-11#post-2942530

    I don't know why it was overflowing (maybe part of the roll up update). I rechecked my dates and found I actually concluded the majority of my SB testing last week prior to the Windows update so I had not been using SB post update last wee as I thought. The only test post KB4566782 update, was the World Of Tanks modpack to see if that installer worked again but as it failed same as before I terminated that SB and that was last use until today. This morning was the first use of my default SB and intermediately I had the buffer issue.

    Pleased to report killing the SB control panel and restarting SB seems to have resolved the buffer problem. So probably something and nothing.

    I realize now this is Toms SB thread so I will report my Dave questions in another location
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Hi @roboxie
    > Does Sticky Password manager Firefox extension support Waterfox 2020?
    png_7444.png
    > Does Sandoxie 5.33.6 support Waterfox 2020?
    png_7445.png
    When I launch Waterfox 2020 sandbox'd. I'm getting >
    SBIE2205 Service not implemented: CreateDesktop
    png_7443.png
    https://sandboxie-website-archive.github.io/www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2205.html
    > Does Sticky Password support Waterfox 2020?
    https://www.stickypassword.com/help/supported-operating-systems-and-browsers-101
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Hi @roboxie
    Please clarify for me. Your Waterfox 2020 is Waterfox Current or Waterfox Classic. Just now learning Waterfox 2020 has two flavors.
    png_7451.png png_7452.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Hi @roboxie
    Run Waterfox Classic in new default sandbox SPTest > call Sticky from Sticky extension button > Unlock
    png_7463.png
    png_7453.png png_7455.png png_7454.png png_7458.png png_7459.png png_7461.png
    Again, my apology to @roboxie et al....for forgetting about my long time added Blocked Access with my daily rider browser sandboxes.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  9. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    MI
    Any ideas what is the general cause of these errors? This is 5.33.3 running on Win 10 Pro v2004 19041.450

    Seems to happen when I go to Youtube or real estate sites mostly. It doesn't crash just displays this window.

    Capture.JPG
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,281
    Location:
    UK
    I get them too, no need to worry about them, just select close.
    By the way you can use 5.33.6 (over the top)
    https://community.sophos.com/produc...ndboxie-5-33-6-release-and-open-source-update
     
  11. arana

    arana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    I see that https://www.sandboxie.com/HelpTopics is no longer up, but https://web.archive.org/web/20200103004636/https://www.sandboxie.com/HelpTopics is, can anyone grab a complete download of HelpTopics section and put it somewhere? (I dont know if internetarchive keeps data for long, but I think it would be a good idea to copy it or make a pdf out of it) I tried using some crawler app but it downloaded too much files, I think i didnt do it correctly (lots of analytics stuff and things that have nothing to do with sandboxie helptopics)
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,281
    Location:
    UK
  13. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    I've been WF a few years, and it already has its own profile folder.
    Explanation of the 2 flavors. Classic refers to the UI, not the age of the version.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/waterfox/comments/iet7pv/noob_questions/ near bottom of page.

    I've been us using Sticky with Waterfox for a few years with no problems, because it's essentially Firefox. If a site doesn't recognize WF I switch to FF. I ran into a problem only when I installed Sandboxie, and the identical problem is in my FF.

    The XUL extensions are archived, and you D/L the extension from Github.

    The only online help for WF is https://www.reddit.com/r/waterfox
    ...................

    I've uninstalled SB till someone know how to fix this, because I have about 200 logins in SPW and I'm not switching PW mgers again.
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Okay.....Waterfox Classic + Sticky Password + 5.33.6 worked, for me, with my brief limited test. #283
    Thanks
     
  15. roboxie

    roboxie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Northeastern US

    The latest SPW is 8.2.3.43, not 5.
    I don't know what this means, from your #283 "Blocked Access with my daily rider browser sandboxes." And WF doesn't tell me it's blocking SPW. They've been working together for at least 3 years.
    How many passwords did you test? A few of my own worked, most didn't.
    How do I get the step showing SP Sandbox Test? I need a series of steps to do.
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,587
    Location:
    .
    Yes, 8.2.3.43 #283
    Forget about > "Blocked Access with my daily rider browser sandboxes". My daily use browser sandboxes are setup with restrictions.
    png_7514.png
    I was trying to run Sticky in my daily use browser sandboxes. I had forgotten about those long time added restrictions. I had to work around those restrictions to get Sticky to work. #269
    Once I remembered the restrictions. I started over with a new default test sandbox labeled SPTest. I should of started with a new default sandbox. My bad.
    I tested one login credentials for askwoody.com #276, #283
    Users may create new default sandbox and label new default sandbox whatever user wants. I've since removed SPTest sandbox.
    png_7513.png

    https://sandboxie-website-archive.github.io/www.sandboxie.com/HelpTopics.html
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2020
  17. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hello,

    I am having this errors very frequently, impossible to browse, Time to uninstall SBIE until Tom release a stable SBIE version?

    TBH, I don't trust David's project yet :oops::oops:

    Or what is the problem with SBIE and FF latest version?

    Win 10 Pro v2004 x64 SBIE 5.33.6, FF 80.0

    Thanks
    Camelia

    03 SBIE.jpg
    Capture.JPG
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,765
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Camelia. The 5 messages in the screen at the bottom, are you getting them with Firefox or a Chromium based browser, like Edge or Chrome?

    I ask because we all get them with Chromium based browsers, I never seen them while running Firefox sandboxed. I still haven't updated Firefox to 80, but with Chromium based browsers you can ignore the 5 messages or Hide them.

    The messages in the top two screens I haven't seen them with Firefox but like I said, I haven't updated to Firefox 80 yet. I tested 80 today installing it sandboxed, but it was only for a short while. So, I don't know if this is something new with Firefox 80. I ll test 80 tomorrow again and see if I get them.

    Bo
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    889
    Using Firefox 80 sandboxed a couple of days now but no errors as mentioned above by camelia (Sandboxie 5.33.6).
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,281
    Location:
    UK
    Since I updated to the latest Vivaldi... 3.3.2022.6 (Official Build) (64-bit)... I now get 7 messages and they start when I first click the sandboxie desktop icon to open the browser, and before going to any websites. Clicking 'close' works for now still.
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,281
    Location:
    UK
    After a reboot am back down to 6 messages which appear when I open a website.
     
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,466
    The Problem is not Firefox, but more the plugins or security hooks you installed on your system. at least your sandboxie settings.

    I cannot use Win10 2004 at the moment but a full featured 10Pro 1909 with same sandboxie/firefox throw nothing here.

    remember your latest questions here:
    - tiny firewall
    - netlimiter
    - privazer
    - EIS running
    maybe some more.

    at least all pointless and useless with windows 10, dont know why you install such rubbish software when it run you at least in trouble like this one.
     
  23. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    @camelia Running the latest FF 80.0 with no problems on windows 10 1909 , Sandboxie 5.33.6
    I didn't do a feature update to 2004 because I'd rather give the dev some time to catch up than a have newer windows version with features I don't care about at all.
     
  24. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    Mexico City

    My problem is I need a fresh Windows Install, I am having a lot of issues, never format my HDD since the first Windows 10 version

    Camelia
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Funny, I'm currently also testing password managers. Sticky Password looks interesting, let me know if you get it working with a sandboxed Vivaldi. I suppose Sticky Password should be installed outside the sandbox? And strangely enough I can't install Enpass, both inside and outside the sandbox I get some error, I wonder what that's all about. :thumbd:

    You probably already know this, but I suggest to always first install a new version as portable. This way you can first check if there are no problems, while retaining the older Vivaldi version.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.