Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,701
    Location:
    UK
    @Elwe Singollo
    When I fill in the form for the download I just put anything in the boxes. It still gives you the download.
     
  2. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Thanks Stapp, had assumed it was followed up by an email with download link. Good to know its not.

    Cheers
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,701
    Location:
    UK
    I just put a 10 minute email address in. Once all field are filled in it gives you the download there and then
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,076
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    For Office, I have been using Libre for a very long time. Is easy to configure with Sandboxie, the work is fluent and without errors. File Explorer is working just fine, you wont have a problem setting up a sandbox for File Explorer. I havent heard anything about C2R and SBIE in a very long time, but is likely the compatibility between both is about the same as when you used SBIE last. In other words, not good.

    I never used any Chromium based browser before but I have no problem admitting, I think I am going to like this version of Edge. I dont trust it yet with login credentials or passwords. That ll come over time. The only site I used it as of now to login anywhere is here at Wilders. I am pure Firefox but is good to have a second browser for emergencies. My Firefox never goes broken or unusable that cant be used so likely, I ll be using Edge when I want to test how some webpages or activies behave and work in comparison with how they do in Firefox. Lately, Firefox has become very noisy with distractions after updates and breaking userChrome.css code with every other update. I am tired of that. So, you never know, if Firefox keeps giving me headaches, I might switch. The main thing that has kept me a Firefox users all this years is NoScript, and NoScript is available for Edge. As far as I can tell, it blocks the same in Edge as it does in Firefox. Probably, in Chrome, NoScript is not allowed to block as much, so from the POV of using NoScript in a Chromium based browser, you are much better off using Edge. So far, I havent foud any site where I see more content running when using Edge than what I am used to seeing with Firefox. None.

    Microsoft is taking out a lot of Google stuff out of Edge but indeed, it is pushing some of their stuff, like Bing. I prefer to search with Google (go figure), and found a way to set it up like that, that gets rid of Bing, this is an extra benefit that you can have by using the Bookmark extension in Edge. It works nicely.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2020
  6. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    @stapp and @Brummelchen thanks for the info.

    Hi Bo, yeah I use Libre in Linux and I like it a lot. The problem on the Windows partition is I'm not the only user and occassionaly I'd get issues with stuff created in Libre not quite displaying properly in Office which I have at work or other family members at school. Rather than take risks Office became the default for us. Might give Libre another spin though as these things are less of a risk these days but. Might run both and see.

    As for Edge I had a look last night. Thought if Edge needs to be on the system anyway might as well be a version I can Sandbox. MS have done a good job with look and feel and the settings are very well laid out in comparison to other Chromium Browsers I've tried and the choice of add-ons is a major advantage over previous MS browsers. As you say a good back-up if FF won't play nicely with certain sites.

    As for SBIE on Win 10 its all going rather well. I get we're only one OS or broswer update away from potential issues as SBIE migrates to open source but so far so good
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats exactly how I see it .
    The look is perfect for me as it comes with the colors and shape of tabs according to my taste. It doesnt have the Menu bar or tabs on the bottom but Microsoft has indeed done such a good job with the feel and the looks that somehow I don't seem to be missing this features that till today, I haven't been able or willing to do away with using them.

    I really dont need a back up browser as Firefox never breaks for me, and all websites I visit work just fine with Firefox, but unfortunately, Firefox lately has become noisy and is perpetually creating problems with css code when the browser updates. It is continuously breaking the code, that gives us users headaches and annoyances as we have to spend time learning what needs to be done to fix the css code. It used not be like that, but lately, every other update, breaks the code. I am tired of Mozilla pushing users, so, for me as a user, new Edge is out at the perfect time.

    Best of all is that is working just fine with or without SBIE and with NoScript.
    Yes, I believe we ll be OK for at least one more W10 System update.

    Bo
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am using the Bookmarks Sidebar extension in new Edge.

    This is the file where Edge saves this extension (Bookmarks Sidebar) settings. And is also the file we allow Edge access to for saving out of the sandbox changes in this extension settings while running the browser sandboxed.

    AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Sync Extension Settings\jdbnofccmhefkmjbkkdkfiicjkgofkdh\000003.log

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2020
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,789
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOL, I didn't even know that NS now also works with Chromium based browsers. You might also want to check out Vivaldi if you like Edge and get fed up with Firefox someday. Vivaldi als works just fine with Sandboxie, except for the error message (see link), but that's related to Chromium. Any news on fixing this from Sophos?

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-acquired-by-invincea.357312/page-242#post-2887422
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,076
    Edge is superior to Chrome!
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,064
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I'm using Bookmarkie in new Edge.
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/bookmarkie/ahlphbdcaacfhkiajebghpngknafklbj
    with
    Direct Access
    Code:
    %Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Bookmarks
    %Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Favicons
     
  12. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,014
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    After some fiddling around, I have recently ungraded form Windows 7 to Windows 10 on my main machine but for now one of the casualties seems to be Sandboxie latest version. When I try to open Chrome now, I get the following errors. Never saw this many errors before in Windows 7. Are these serious? Can they be resolved? Should I just ignore them? Or, other steps needed to run SBIE on Windows 10 Pro? Would appreciate your help a lot in this and thanks as always. Pic of errors below.

    2020-02-01_165353.jpg
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Every Chromium based browser is getting those errors. So far, that's the only message I gotten while running Edge. I am using an unrestricted sandbox and haven't hidden them yet. I doubt they will be done away with by SBIE developers.

    Regarding NoScript. It is working great with Edge. I havent found any webpage of the ones that I am very familiar with where I see content that I do not see while using Firefox. In other words, to my eyes, the blocking of content is exactly the same.

    Bo
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,064
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
  15. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,014
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Thanks a lot and I will add these to my Chrome restricted sandbox as well. Would hate to have to give up SBIE right now.
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,064
    Location:
    .
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage= are added to [UserSettings_nnnnnnnn]
     
  17. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    291
    When is Sandboxie going to support YubiKey ? (fails in Firefox, fails in Chrome)
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,076
    yubikey in the box, seriously? seriously and hopefully not, this would ofc undermine general security.
     
  19. Sandblaster

    Sandblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    North America
    Virus Total reports the most resent version of Sandboxie 533.1 has One engine detected this file named Trojan.Shelma! anyone know what this is?
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,701
    Location:
    UK
    Which engine detected it, and where did you download the Sandboxie file from?
    I ask because my 5.33.1 comes up totally clean on Virus Total.
     
  21. Sandblaster

    Sandblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    North America
    I downloaded it through Sandboxie.com redirected to the Sophos software Export Compliance page. Engine Yandex,I just downloaded it again same result One engine detected this file
    Trojan.Shelma!

    Update: when go to https://www.sandboxie.com/AllVersions page and select 533-1.exe - all and scan with Virus Total I get the One engine detected this file Trojan.Shelma!
    If I select 5.33.1 SandboxieInstall32-533-1.exe I get the SandboxieInstall64-5.33-1.exe
    If I select 5.33.1 SandboxieInstall64-533-1.exe I get the SandboxieInstall32-5.33-1.exe
    When I scan the SandboxieInstall64 or 32 with Virus Total I get no engines detected this file.So whats that all about?
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,701
    Location:
    UK
    I can confirm what you say as I have just done the same tests.

    Same happens on this page, the 32 and 64 bit installers get no hit.
    https://www.sandboxie.com/DownloadSandboxie

    Perhaps Yandex doesn't like the combined installer. I just use the 64bit one which is why I've not seen this detection on VT.
     
  23. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,369
    Not all engines are the same. One has to question how prone to false positives a particular engine is.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandlaster, with Sandboxie installers is not highly unusual that gets flagged by one or two engines. Another thing, always the engine or engines that flag SBIE, are very minor. I dont remember ever seen an engine from a major AV like Avira, Avast, Avg, ESET, Kaspersky, Microsoft, flag Sandboxie. Is usually a little, not well known and not highly regarded AV.

    I recommend you always get installers from the developers site. Another thing. Usually, when an installer has been out for a while, like as long as 5.33.1 has been out, if there was something malicious about it, by now, we would be seeing at least 10 to 20 engines detecting the installer as malware.

    Bo
     
  25. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Is anyone using Sandboxie with Eset Internet Security? I'm finding some sites that indicate that there is an issue with Eset and Sandboxie together?

    I cannot get Chrome or Edge to run Sandboxed. I uninstalled Sandboxie and re-installed it and the same thing happens.

    I'm not positive that I deleted the entire Sandboxie folder before re-installing, but I think I did. Anyway, this is frustrating.

    P.S. I right-click on the Edge desktop icon and click on run sandboxed and choose the Edge sandbox that I just newly created and it opens but just spins and spins and no page actually is visible.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.