Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    10,972
    Location:
    Here
    I can download installer ATM.
    Screenshot that you posted looks like browser tried to open executable similar as trying to to open it in text editor.

    upload_2019-5-1_22-1-21.png
     
  2. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Canada
    Well so much for my plan to stay in 5.28. I was bombarded with numerous stack file notices to upgrade to 5.30 of which I was unable to. The more I tried to hit o.k., more stack files would just keep coming, it was like I was being hit with a hacker. Eventually, had to end process for Sbiesrvc and SbieCtrl 5.28 and uninstalled, and then over to the Sophos site and downloaded 5.30 64 bit and installed. So far things are running O.K.. Unbelievable.
     
  3. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    The situation seems to be different from user to user. I for myself until now have no problem to continue with version 5.28 (on Windows 7 Home). When all this confusion started (about two weeks ago), as most of the other users, I could not get rid of the window "Check for Updates". Then I read Bo's comment and followed his method ("clicked Next week"):
    From now on 5.28 worked fine. And as long as it will do so, I will stay with this version until Invincea will have resolved all this endless confusion concerning website, forum, updating, licensing etc.

    I think, this is a good moment to express my appreciation for this thread that exists here at Wilders Security as it has become my main source for information about Sandboxie during the last weeks. It is good to find here so many reports and comments by various posters. And special thanks deserves once more Bo with his useful advices and all the interesting background information he can provide. :)

    Concerning the purchase of a Sandboxie license:
    ATM? (I don' t know what it is.) But anyway, I would not be so optimistic. Since some time (already before the confusion had started) users can only buy a "One (1) Year Subscription". I remember that in the Sandboxie Forum the Invincea team has written that this restriction is due to the fact that they reorganize their licence policy (something like that). But you could also see it as a sign that Sandboxie possibly might cease to exist in the near future.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    So true. Bo is one of those rare heart and soul guys who gives constantly of his time, energy and knowledge strictly out of kindness and the desire to help.

    Losing the SBIE forum, even for the time its been down (and who knows how long this will extend into the future) is a major support resource loss. The forum was comprised of years of topics with all sorts of valuable input. Gone like a cool breeze. :thumbd:
     
  5. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Canada
    Just to see if that would work here, I clicked on "next week" and uninstalled 5.30 and installed 5.28 again and sure enough no more stacked file notices to update to 5.30 :thumb: I think I will now stay with 5.28 for now. Thanks for the tip and thanks to Bo. :) Yep Page, so true about Bo, he is who got me started with Sandboxie many moons ago.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,715
    Location:
    UK
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,715
    Location:
    UK
    Installed and auto-activated ok (so far!)
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,452
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,177
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: May 2, 2019
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,822
    same here after i rad "henry g" in redirected forum (@sophos) - installed & activated on 2 machines!
    awaiting december a decision, dont like "workarounds" here.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,172
    With all the issues there is only one thing that matters to me. Sandboxie is still doing it's job for me!!
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    Amen, brother! That said, I could do with a little less drama. :)
     
  13. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    994
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    On two of my other Windows 7 laptops cannot get 5.30 to activate. It does activate on my main laptop that I use thankfully. If I continue to have these broblems though, will regretfully remove it. Will stay with 5.28 on the two laptops since it is still activated for now.
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,177
    Location:
    .
  15. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Canada
    "Discretion" being the better part of "valor", I went ahead and installed sandboxie 5.30 64bit and at 4 bells, all is well.:cool:
     
  16. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    The same here (with 32bit). :)

    I decided to upgrade too as Barb explained in the meantime why they want us to do it so quickly:

    ( https://community.sophos.com/produc...andboxie-why-can-t-we-have-reasonable-answers )

    So I see the upgrade not so much as a matter of security for myself but as a service for Invincea respectively for the community of the Sandboxie users. ;)
     
  17. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    Edit:

    At the moment there is a problem with Firefox add-ons, but it has nothing to do with Sandboxie 5.30 as I thought originally. So I deleted my report again.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,101
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  19. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    Hello Bo,

    thank you for the info. After writing my above posting I saw completely by chance also this thread here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/firefox-addons.396377/

    It's title "Firefox addons" attracted immediately my attention. ;)

    So indeed the issue has nothing to do with Sandboxie 5.30!

    I definitely upgraded Sandboxie in the wrong moment. :D
     
  20. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    994
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Still cannot successfully activate my lifetime license on my other two laptops, total of 3 altogether, which have worked fine until all this happened. With my lifetime license, am I supposed to be able to run the program on at least 3 different machines or is it only 1 computer and thanks.
     
  21. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,549
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    It is only one license by machine unless you bought a multi-seat license.
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,715
    Location:
    UK
    A lifetime licence as far as I remember entitles you to run Sbie on machines you own in your home.
    I have the same licence on 3 machines at the moment.

    See this
    Unfortunately I cannot link to the Sbie forum area where this was posted so will have to just do a MT link. (A google search for above words will also show same results.)
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/sandboxie-no-more-lifetime-licence.19037/
    I believe the FAQ's on licencing posted here apply to the one year licences now in use.
    https://www.sandboxie.com/FAQ_Licensing.php
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
  23. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,842
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    Lots of pertinent info in this sbie webcache wherein it is eventually confirmed that early lifetime licenses are for multiple computers.

     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,715
    Location:
    UK
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.