Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    298
    I figured it out!

    To get the Brave Browser private tab with Tor to work sandboxed in Sandboxie you have to give the Tor.exe located in your users-appdata-local-brave-app-0.23.31-recources-extensions-bin folder internet access and start run access in your sandbox settings.

    Then you have to the same for conhost.exe located in your windows-system32 folder.

    Once you have done this the Private tab with Tor should connect, at least it works for me.
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    5.25 Beta Available (Latest version 5.26RC)
    Changes in 5.26 Release Candidate
    1) Added compatibility for Opera v54 /dev + -no-sandbox flag.
    2 )Fixed crashes related to the latest versions of Chromium, affecting apps such as Chrome Canary v59 .
    3) Improved OpenPipePath functionality for Windows 7 OS (see previous notes for more info).
     
  3. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    582
    Location:
    UK
    Sandboxie updated to 5.26 today. Everything's working fine.
     
  4. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    298
    Mine updated now it thinks my Brave Browser is an email reader and I get this error:

    SBIE2212 Email reader 'Brave.exe' is not configured to run sandboxed

    I deleted my Brave sandbox then made a new one and Sandboxie still thinks it is an email reader?

    FYI for anyone else that may run into this problem:

    I found a fix from 2012 that someone else posted about and modified it for Brave;

    Go to Sandbox Settings > Resource Access > File Access > Direct Access
    "Add Program" button: Brave.exe
    "Edit/Add" button: %DefaultSpoolDirectory%\*
    Then press ok


    I am not sure exactly what this does nor what changed to make Brave get this error in the first place but this fixes it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018
  5. cooldays

    cooldays Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    usa
    I'm having trouble going to you tube and google on sandboxie.
    I get the following error.

    Can’t connect securely to this page
    This might be because the site uses outdated or unsafe TLS security settings. If this keeps happening, try contacting the website’s owner.
    Try this:


    • It has happened since the last windowns 10 update.

    • I can go without problem on internet explorer not sandboxed however.


    • thanks in advance


     
  6. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    Canada
    I think this may be the latest version of Chrome doing this.
     
  7. cooldays

    cooldays Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    usa
    it is happening only with internet explorer when I use it with sandboxie, not when I use it with normal IE

    thanks
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,027
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have updated to SBIE 5.26 and Firefox 62 (installed inside sandbox) still acts weirdly, with or without extensions, what a shame. I wonder why they can't fix this. I don't see how this problem can only be related to my system, or perhaps only to Win 8 users. Strangely enough, Vivaldi is working very smoothly.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    Just now re-checked (w/wo security.sandbox & multi-process) my Fx 61.0.1 (installed outside 5.26) still acts like #4647
     
  10. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    The latest Chrome browser is causing some issues with the current Sandboxie release. My screen would just freeze and I have a warning that my Sandbox folder isn't big enough as well. It doesn't matter what kind of adjustments I have made, etc.
     
  11. StillBorn

    StillBorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    Vivaldi rolled out a "minor update" roughly 10 days ago and the Vivaldi/Sandboxie combo has been a real riot ever since. Gave it a shot with the Sb beta version referenced in post #4652. No cigar.
     
  12. PocketAppZ

    PocketAppZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Source: https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=24008
     
  13. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,904
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
  14. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    Australia
    I’m currently on an update detox, due to the wasted time and frustration of trying to get everything working again after the harmony and balance being regularly disrupted. Six months without W10, Sandboxie, and Chrome updates has led to unheard of tranquillity.

    The combo of Sandboxie and Chrome has been a nightmare for years with a short window of compatibility ending with one of them updating.

    The question is, what do you get from a new version of Sandboxie or your browser if the current combination is working well for you?

    Most of the endless updates are for security, which kind of seems redundant as most of the us here have extreme security in place.
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I'm about one+ month w Chrome, as daily rider (long time w Firefox).
    Sandboxie + Chrome feel happy for me, at this time.
    YMMV
     
  16. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, I’m slightly melodramatic. Over the last 18 months it has happened twice, with compliments to the Sandboxie team producing a Beta to solve the problem.

    Firefox has always taken forever to load and display first webpage, being my last resort if needed for some reason.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    Firefox feels heavy (random slow page load) since around time of Sandboxie Quantum "fix".
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2018
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,678
    guess why ;)
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,027
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's why don't always update, old versions of Vivaldi run just fine. The newest Firefox doesn't, so then you have no choice but to drop Sandboxie for browser protection.
     
  20. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    Australia
    That is never an option, always have a few browsers in the chamber ready to be fired off sandboxed.

    I feel dirty using IE, but if it is the only one that will run sandboxed, so be it.
     
  21. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    For me a sandboxed browser is more important than having to wait one second less for a site to load.
    For my taste Firefox is running ok. But i'm not living in a location with fiber internet or so.
    So when a website is 2s to load ( and clicking links on the page is faster) i'm used to it :D
     
  22. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,959
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I use that browser head on now-Thanks for sharing that experience.

    Always felt the newest updates-upgrades to any soft is not always as good as the previous, sometimes yes, other times not.
     
  23. StillBorn

    StillBorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    @EASTER and Rasheed... thanks for your acknowledgement, gents. As always, all due respect.
     
  24. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    105
    worried about bo elam. i know there is a lot of unrest in his area(has internet been taken down?). he hasn't posted since june 13.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,027
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have just noticed that Firefox 52 will use 100% of CPU time even with no tabs open. When it's not running inside the sandbox the problem is gone. I'm really starting to wonder if SBIE is the cause of sluggishness in both newer and older versions of Firefox. I believe Sandboxie needs a redesign, perhaps they should focus mostly on virtualization since browsers already use their own sandbox.

    Yes, I hope all is well with him, haven't seen him in a while.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.