Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,003
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    FWIW. This problem is not happening between SBIE 5.33.6 and latest Edge 88.0.705.56.

    Bo
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    with --no-sandbox?
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    The issue is still present on version 5.47.0 (classic) btw. I'm not sure what could be causing it at this point.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2021
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,003
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes. I am using --no-sandbox.

    Bo
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    Okay. Thanks
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,003
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome. Hopefully that information is useful to David.

    Bo
     
  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    5.47.0 should fix the issue on windows 7 it was already reported on the github issue tracker
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    try build 0.6.5

    i would say we can make her also many threads as its a dedicated sbie forum secton.
     
  9. 100

    100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    -
    Tested with 5.47.1 (5.44.1 was completely uninstalled before and remaining files in the installation folder were deleted manually) and with a new default sandboxie.ini. It did not solve any problem with Vivaldi (even with Vivaldi add-ons disabled).
    I'm back to 5.44.1 again.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 1, 2021
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I can't say I know why, as nothing I've seen in the changelog stands out to me, but I think my issue with Vivaldi (and Brave) not terminating when closed was fixed in version 5.47.1.
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    thats what fixed it
    fixed issue introduced in 0.6.5 with recent edge builds
    -- the 0.6.5 behavioure can be set ona per process basis using "RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=POPPeeper.exe,n"
     
  12. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    please try instling gain and re download the provisional windows 7 driver it was not up to date, ups....
     
  13. 100

    100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    -
    With the redownloaded and reinstalled 5.47.1 classic: Youtube and Vimeo are working again on Vivaldi. Thank you very much, David!
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2021
  14. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Good news: 0.6.5 fixed the Outlook problem! :)

    Bad news: 0.6.7 broke Outlook again - it causes the same errors with gmail/IMAP communication as Sandboxie-Plus versions earlier than 0.6.5 :(

    Any idea what changed in 0.6.7 to break Outlook again?
     
  15. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    Yes I reverted a change that broke chrome,
    but anticipating that this change is what helped with this login issue,
    it now can be configured on a per process basis
    Code:
    RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=POPPeeper.exe,n
    
    in your case replace POPPeeper.exe with outlook.exe I presme,
    or just go for RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=n
    and don't use chrome in that box

    I mean we could also go for a more verbose debugging of the problem, that would be actually quite helpfull.
    First check which process needs this change in behavior probably outlook.exe
    then enable the IPC Tracing and save resource monitor log and send it to me.

    If we can find which particular COM interface makes problems the setting could be applied much more detailed to that interface only instead of to the entire process.
     
  16. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Right now I've backed down to 0.6.5. I will reinstall 0.6.7 and try your suggestions, but two questions before I do:
    • How/where do I make the RpcMgmtSetComTimeout entry? I have multiple sandboxes. Do I put a "RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=outlook.exe" line in sandboxie.ini for the appropriate sandbox?
    • For an IPC trace, do I start it in the UI with the Options>Resources menu item?
     
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
    "RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=outlook.exe,n"

    after the program name there must be a , and than the preset value here n

    upload_2021-2-3_19-2-36.png
     
  18. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Thank you very much @DavidXanatos! It works perfectly!
     
  19. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Good news! I added "RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=outlook.exe,n" to the sandbox I use for outlook and it now starts without getting errors connecting to gmail/IMAP.

    I also created 3 IPC traces:
    Trace 1: Outlook starting successfully in version 0.6.5
    Trace 2: Outlook starting unsuccessfully in version 0.6.7
    Trace 3: Outlook starting successfully in version 0.6.7 after adding "RpcMgmtSetComTimeout=outlook.exe,n"

    Hopefully these can give insight into what causes the outlook problems. How can I send them to you? Trace 2 is too large to upload to the forum. Zip files aren't allowed.

    Thank you very much for supporting and enhancing Sandboxie!
     
  20. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,263
    Location:
    Viena
  21. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    748
  22. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Since these are text files, I decided to split Trace #2 into 2 parts.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    206
    I'm on classic 64 version 5.47.1 now and got problems with playing .mp4 files with VLC player version 3.0.12.
    I can open files with 4gb and more in the sandbox as long as they are .mkv but as soon as the file is .mp4 even an 128mb file gives me the following error.
    1 - Copy.jpg

    So big .mkv files are ok but even the smallest .mp4 gives an error in the exact same sandbox (nothing was changed).
    Never had this problem with the old sophos version as far as I can remember.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,003
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I dont use VLC so I can't check, but according to the Sandboxie message, you should have a file with the name "1.mp4" (it should be located inside the VLC folder in Programs files).

    That file has a size of 138.13 mb.

    Solution: You need to either increase the size for files that are copied into the sandbox, or allow vlc.exe (or whatever the program's exe is called) direct file access to 1.mp4.

    Bo
     
  25. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    206
    Thanks Bo elam for the answer, but thats not what my problem is.

    Let me rephrase it:
    File 1, size 138 MB, *.mp4
    File 2, size 4.000 MB, *.mkv
    Both files are in the same folder stored and run inside the same sandbox with the same settings (of course not at the same time).
    The big File 2 (.mkv) opens without any error, the 30 times smaller File 1 (.mp4) says I need to increase the file size limit.

    The sandbox gives me errors for every .mp4 file I have no matter the size. While huge .mkv files are opend without any error.
    I can open an 4.500 MB .mkv file in a sandbox with a file mitigration setting of 48MB (with no error or popup), but not a 128MB .mp4 file.

    @DavidXanatos Is it a bug or so?
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.