Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    900
    Location:
    Viena
    @PalladiaMors MSFT said drivers that pass WHQL testing will be signed for windows 7 but they are not,
    nothign I can do about MSFT promissing things thay don't hold.
    Old style self signing of w7 drivers expirers in march so no point in buying yet an other certificate for 3 months use.
    Its a mess but a mess MSFT caused with their attempts to forcefully kill 3rd party windows 7 support.
     
  2. Rinel

    Rinel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Hey! I am using Sandboxie 5.33.6 and want to upgrade to Sandboxie Plus. Can I just download Sandboxie Plus and install over my old SBIE?
     
  3. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    .
    No, uninstall first.
     
  4. Rinel

    Rinel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Will do. Will I be able to import my sandboxie.ini to Sandboxie Plus?
     
  5. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
  6. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    uk
    I have always used "drop-rights" for my main sandbox, but it is increasingly giving me issues with programs not working. Is it sufficiently/reasonably safe given the nature of Sandboxie for me stop using drop-rights?

    Also, please can anyone tell me why on the forum page I see this
    upload_2021-1-20_12-13-18.png
    rather than new message indicators etc? Hovering over the arrow shows it as "redirect" but to where and can I go there directly?
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
  8. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    uk
    Thank you very much.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,790
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the feedback, so I'm not the only one who saw this. The question is, has this been fixed in the newest SBIE Plus?

    Why not switch to another AV? BTW, I don't have this problem on Win 10 with Win Defender.

    To be honest, I have never understood why this feature was offered in the first place, since Sandboxie will keep the system safe anyway. I think it will only cause problems when you're trying to install software in the sandbox, so I never used it.
     
  10. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    .
    Totally unrelated but OMG thank you Stapp for that picture, you just let me know from it that there's an actual good skin for these forums in under preferences.
     
  11. waylo

    waylo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Posts:
    42
    Hi,

    Long time sandboxie user who just upgraded to sandboxie-plus.

    Thank you for carrying on this project.

    I had the hardest time, since I'm running Win7, getting either one to install, due to the provisional drivers. Then I finally realized that the drivers are specific to each release version! (couldn't use the driver zip I had from a month ago).

    One question (apologies if it's been described in the past but my google search did not reveal it), is that I get 2 icons in the taskbar tray. The old yellow standboxie, and a new purple sandboxie-plus icon. Do both need to be there? I could not find a way to selectively turn the purple one off.
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
    @waylo
    If you installed Sandboxie Plus 0.5.5 there should be no classic sbie icon. There should just be the purple plus one.
    Can you look in the GUI under Help.. About and see what version it says?
     
  13. MGhell

    MGhell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    @DavidXanatos: Just installed classic 5.46.4 on two machines...working perfectly! Thanks for your hard work! Will send you another thank you via Paypal :)
     
  14. tp2

    tp2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    US
    Odd, I have tried everything. Fresh installs, chrome is upto date. I do not run anything else special that I can see would cause the issue. No problems with FF sandboxed either and my sandbox settings have been the same for years.

    Nod32 and Roboform are the only things extra involved and have been unchanged. Any ideas what I could check?

    Chrome crashes on maybe 20% of the sites visited. Ones without issue run fine without ever a problem, but certain ones youtube, fedex, etc will crash it every time quickly. No issues with chrome when not in the sandbox.

    Thanks.
     
  15. steve123455

    steve123455 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2020
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    china
    hello sandboxie is there a linux version:)
     
  16. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    I have just now an idea. Do you use the installed or the portable version of Chrome?

    My experience with the portable version was that in Sandboxie it runs o.k. only after taking the following actions:

    - I had to execute the installation file of Chrome (= the .paf.exe in case of the portable version) as administrator. (At least this was necessary to run afterwards Chrome as forced program within the sandbox.)

    - I could not check the DropRights option in the Sandboxie settings (= not check the box for "Drop rights from Administrators and Power Users groups"). (Otherwise Chrome did not start at all in the sandbox.)

    I know that you can start Chrome and that you have problems only with certain sites. But if the issues continue you could tried to take these measures.
     
  17. waylo

    waylo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Posts:
    42
    Very odd. It looks like after several rounds of failed installs and uninstallations (was using the wrong Win7 driver version), when I finally realized my error and installed sandboxie-plus, BOTH sandboxie and sandboxie-plus were installed. The latest version for both.

    I uninstalled sandboxie-plus, and both uninstalled together.

    I reinstalled sandboxie, and only 1 installed this time. Very strange.
     
  18. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
  19. Soban

    Soban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    .
    In Sandboxie 5.46.3 64-bit (classic) the sandboxed browser seems to forget cookies for certain sites (Currently noticed on google, youtube & twitter).

    All logins and possible cookie questions pop-up again, as if the websites have never been visited before. No information available on reproduction but the bug has been around for several Sandboxie versions now.

    Starting up a non-sandboxed browser and visiting each of the websites seems to make it where sandboxie has the cookies for said websites if sandboxed browser is opened afterwards.
     
  20. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    That's no bug but a feature I would say. ;) And an important one: When closing a sandbox (and deleting its contents), all informations (including cookies set during the Sandboxie session) are gone. Please take a look at the following thread where the same question was discussed: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/website-logins-not-being-saved-in-sandboxie.428945/

    ---> If you want cookies to be remembered, you should visit the specific site (Google, Youtube etc.) for one time outside of the sandbox (and of course allow cookies in your browser). Then these cookies will be existent also when opening the site the next time within a sandbox.

    Alternatively you can allow direct access to the cookies in the settings of the sandbox. (But I think this would always apply to all websites, not only to specific ones. So for reasons of security respectively privacy I would not prefer this method.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  21. Soban

    Soban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    .
    Hey there, Thanks for the reply.

    I noticed now that my reply was lacking in details. Here is the revised issue in a nutshell.

    Sandboxie seems to forget pre-saved and existing cookies/logins after they have been opened/saved in a non-sandboxed browser. Example below

    1: Browser that I'm using has cookies and logins from previous websites (Not opening it here, just stating the situation)
    2: Open up a sandboxed version of said browser and begin using
    3: Notice that Google does not have me logged in, is asking the cookie question on google search, no youtube or twitter login either.
    4: (This can be done while sandboxie is open or closed prior to this and sandboxie purged) Open up the same browser that is not sandboxed, visit google, youtube and twitter. Everything works fine, its as cookies are still there working as intended
    5: Open up a new sandboxed browser and now for the websites that the issue was present at, the cookies seem to be working as they should be.

    So. As I stated previously. The issue is that Sandboxed browser seems to forget pre-existing cookies which are present already in the browser. Visiting the websites that have the issue fixes this, but far as I know Sandboxie should not out of nowhere lose/forget cookies which are present already from non-sandboxed sessions prior to sandboxed browser being opened. The weird thing is that this bug seems to be random in how severe it gets. Sometimes it also includes reddit and imgur when it comes to losing cookies, sometimes not.

    I have tried to fully clear non-sandboxed cookies and files and visit each site again, log in, make sure the cookies get saved but the bug seems persistant.
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
    @Soban
    Just checking that you aren't using CCleaner or something similar which would wipe out the cookies.
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,662
    no recovery (see options) or missing OpenIpcPath means losing data when box is deleted after use.
     
  24. tp2

    tp2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    US
    I use the installed version of Chrome. I also uninstalled/reinstalled. I did also just try the portable, and had the exact same issue. Some sites can run totally fine without issues, others within 30 seconds will freeze chrome every time. Been doing this for a long time, cannot figure out the issue at all.
     
  25. Soban

    Soban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    .
    Not using CCleaner or anything, nor does the browser clear cookies upon closing. That's the weird thing. I have no clue what possible could be causing it. Sometimes it can happen several times a day, sometimes it doesn't happen for a week.

    Sometimes youtube for example (in the sandboxed browser as the bug is happening) seems to start me as logged out, but as the page loads it refreshes with the account logged in/cookies loaded, which is very weird.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.