Plasma secrets: Remove shadows in screenshots

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    Screenshots without shadows. Like Doctors Without Borders, only far less important. I've written this short tutorial explaining how to take screenshots of windowed applications in the Plasma desktop without any shadows or border transparency, including theme edits, compositing, GIMP and Gnome screenshot alternatives, some other tips and tricks, and more. Enjoy.

    https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/plasma-screenshots-shadows.html


    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  2. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,352
    I use gnome-screenshot on Kubuntu 16.04 like this:

    Code:
    Name=WholeScreen GSS
    CommandURL=gnome-screenshot -p -f /home/vasa1/Dropbox/Screenshots/"GS$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S)".png
    Key=Meta+Ctrl+W
    
    Name=Active GSS
    CommandURL=gnome-screenshot -wp -f /home/vasa1/Dropbox/Screenshots/"GS$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S)".png
    Key=Meta+Ctrl+A
    
    Name=Delayed GSS
    CommandURL=gnome-screenshot -p -d 10 -f /home/vasa1/Dropbox/Screenshots/"GS$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S)".png
    Key=Meta+Ctrl+D
    
    Name=Interactive GSS
    CommandURL=gnome-screenshot -a -f /home/vasa1/Dropbox/Screenshots/"GS$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S)".png
    Key=Meta+Ctrl+I
     
  3. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,274
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2017
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    Not yet, I hope they release a togglable feature soon.
    Mrk
     
  5. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,274
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Ow, pity.
    Yes, let's hope so.
    Thanks, Mrk.
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Funny, I've never come across this with Spectacle. Works perfectly here on Kubuntu 16.04 with Naked theme.
     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    I did mention themes can affect this - also do you use compositing?
    Mrk
     
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes, I do. Check screenshot - there is no solid black border.

    Screenshot_20171116_180333.png

    Spectacle.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2017
  9. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    But there's no window border - what if you do take window borders also.
    Mrk
     
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Ok, here with window borders..

    Screenshot_20171116_182106.png
     
  11. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    So you do have a significant transparency area around the window borders.
    Mrk
     
  12. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Actually you are correct, I didn't notice because I usually select 'rectangular region'. If I select 'active window' there is a narrow transparent border, but being transparent it is not shown when pasting for example in an email.
    If I select 'rectangular' region there are no borders, transparent or otherwise.
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    Well, hopefully, they will fix it and give us a switch.
    Mrk
     
  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,274
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    A late reply, but perhaps it can be helpful to someone.

    In Kubuntu 18.04, I have been using Shutter screenshot tool.
    For Kubuntu 20.04, I decided to choose GNOME Screenshot, mentioned as option 4 in Plasma secrets: Remove shadows in screenshots.
    Instead of pinning it to task manager, as suggested, I added it to the Plasma menu, Kickoff Application Launcher, as shown in the How to add and pin custom applications in Plasma article.
    For the command, I used the one mentioned in Plasma secrets: Remove shadows in screenshots:
    gnome-screenshot --interactive
    Works great.
    Thanks very much.
     
  15. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,274
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    As the border issue is still the same with Spectacle in Kubuntu, and as Shutter is not in the Ubuntu 18.10+ repositories and as I am not overly enthusiastic about using a limited Shutter snap version nor about using the unofficial PPA, I was using GNOME Screenshot instead, as I mentioned earlier.

    I thought GNOME Screenshot was OK. However, yesterday, I noticed the 'Select area to grab' option results in screenshots with a blue tint to it that shouldn't be there. Web searching, I find more reports of such issue with GNOME Screenshot (1),(2),(3). I didn't notice before. Perhaps I never used GNOME Screenshot's 'Select area to grab' option before? Or something changed, now causing that issue for me. Anyhow, that issue makes GNOME Screenshot unusable to me.

    Now I use Xfce4-screenshooter instead. It's mostly like GNOME Screenshot, but without the blue tint issue.
    Xfce4-screenshooter was also examined in the dedoimedo OCS Mag article Xfce apps - In the land of Tux, where the shadows lie.


    [Edit: links to reports added; 1,2,3]
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2021
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,967
    New versions of GS now also add alpha for no good reason. The xfce one does the job (or an older version of GS).
    Mrk
     
  17. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,274
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks. I see that you mentioned that in the Fedora 33 essential post-install tweaks article, last December.
    Let's hope no one is gonna mess up Xfce4-screenshooter as well.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.