Online armour and Spybot INCOMPATIBLE ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by cortez, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had a different partition with XP's "internet connection" meltdown (no internet connection at all) with the new Comodo version installed (my assumption based on Comodo not turning on/working).

    Now on this XP partition with "online Armor" not even a week old, the same meltdown occurred. And I repaired it in a similar way (I first had to uninstall IE7 as it was already installed on this XP partition).
    See https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=196969.

    The only two possible causes I can think of is the installation of Spybot on each of these XP partitions.

    I am wondering if Spybot is allergic to some firewalls or it takes time to adjust?

    Any connection or is it just a coincidence??

    I am wondering if others have had this problem or is it only a fluke to my set up?

    (Note: the other common connection is that both partitions are TI10 images (on DVD restored to different partitions) but this problem has not occurred until I tried out Spybot, so I am inclined to say that this is unrelated).
     
  2. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Sorry to say this but SPybot is old and out dated. Use SuperAntiSpyware and Spyware Terminator.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,938
    First, did you set SPybot to trusted in OA.
    Second, I would also agree that Spybot is not the best choice of AS

    Pete
     
  4. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,161
    Hi folks:

    To echo this: just look at SpyBot S&D's paidware clone: spy remover.

    Usually it will issue a new update whenever SpyBot releases a new data base updates. Now it has lost the drive to do so, why ? reason is very simple, and answer is right at Dieselman's post.

    Take care.
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Thank you.
     
  6. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Chicago
    To Dieselman, Peter2150, Perman: Thank you for the heads up---cortez
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.