Online armour and Spybot INCOMPATIBLE ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by cortez, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had a different partition with XP's "internet connection" meltdown (no internet connection at all) with the new Comodo version installed (my assumption based on Comodo not turning on/working).

    Now on this XP partition with "online Armor" not even a week old, the same meltdown occurred. And I repaired it in a similar way (I first had to uninstall IE7 as it was already installed on this XP partition).
    See https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=196969.

    The only two possible causes I can think of is the installation of Spybot on each of these XP partitions.

    I am wondering if Spybot is allergic to some firewalls or it takes time to adjust?

    Any connection or is it just a coincidence??

    I am wondering if others have had this problem or is it only a fluke to my set up?

    (Note: the other common connection is that both partitions are TI10 images (on DVD restored to different partitions) but this problem has not occurred until I tried out Spybot, so I am inclined to say that this is unrelated).
     
  2. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Sorry to say this but SPybot is old and out dated. Use SuperAntiSpyware and Spyware Terminator.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    First, did you set SPybot to trusted in OA.
    Second, I would also agree that Spybot is not the best choice of AS

    Pete
     
  4. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi folks:

    To echo this: just look at SpyBot S&D's paidware clone: spy remover.

    Usually it will issue a new update whenever SpyBot releases a new data base updates. Now it has lost the drive to do so, why ? reason is very simple, and answer is right at Dieselman's post.

    Take care.
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Thank you.
     
  6. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    To Dieselman, Peter2150, Perman: Thank you for the heads up---cortez
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.