Online Armor FREE, Configuration

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Hardov770, Mar 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hardov770

    Hardov770 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Hi everybody

    Im running Windows 7- 64, Avast 7 Free, and Online Armor Free

    Any one can tell me what is the best configuration for Online Armor ?:cool:
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Set all your internet facing software (media player, mail, webbrowser, etc) to run as "run safer", that is all
     
  3. Hardov770

    Hardov770 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks so muchs :)
     
  4. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Hi,

    It's not necessary when using w7 64 bits if uac is on.
     
  5. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Under Vista with UAC and Run Safer ON, run safer prohibited to elevate the program which ran as safer. You can check for Win7 whether it still holds by running IE as "run safer" and try to install an on-line scanner like Panda ActiveScan for instance. With Run Safer it should not install. With UAC you would get a prompt.

    Run unknown programs as run safer is also a good add-on
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    agree with kees,i tried it my self;) :thumb:
     
  8. Hardov770

    Hardov770 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks to all !!
     
  9. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    And...

    Thanks :p.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Something that may help is to run Process Explorer which shows the integrity level of running applications. For instance Internet Explorer with protected mode enabled runs at low integrity.
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    do you mean run the browser in run-safer modeo_O
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Here's a short bit about integrity levels in Vista/7:

    http://www.symantec.com/connect/articles/introduction-windows-integrity-control

    Most apps run at medium integrity (standard user). IE can run at low integrity if protected mode is enabled (which also requires UAC to be enabled). I believe that Online Armor "run safer" sets apps at medium integrity, which is where they are already in Vista/7 if UAC is on. It's debatable whether there's any advantage in using "run safer" in Vista/7 with UAC enabled. It sounds like it suppresses the UAC prompt and simply doesn't allow elevation (haven't tested this myself), but I don't really see the value in that. However it's definitely desirable in an XP admin account.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  15. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Totally agree with victek
     
  16. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Run Safer mode is very useful and powerful feature of OA...it was always obligatory used on my home computers both in version Free and Premium. But I want to add one "trick" to OA settings that was very useful for me.
    After installation of OA we have always configuration wizard - after it we have in processes list "tons" of processes, files, services, drivers, etc. that are completely not recognised by most of users and "say nothing".
    So in my next move after wizard was always...removing all detected names on processes list, enabling "learning mode", system reboot and by this way I allowed the system to load only that what is necessary and needed to normal work. After enabling "normal mode" I received of course sometime many alerts, but always if I executed apps important and needed for me.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.