NoVirusThanks OSArmor: An Additional Layer of Defense

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by novirusthanks, Dec 17, 2017.

  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    I purchased, but I might not want to install this straightaway.

    However, the clock is ticking, and it says [automatic] renewal is due on 11 October 2021

    Not appreciative of this renewal method.

    OSArmor_Purchase_automatic renewal_01.JPG

     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    This is awesome. Would like to hear more about the Remote Management feature. Cheers!
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,224
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    You can't make and import your own custom .wav for the block sound any more? Is it still that creature in the jungle-like noise, like the ERP produces? Aw darns-ville! :'(

    Meh, just kidding, sort of.

    PS: this subscription is auto-renewed? Is there a means to opt out of that?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Must there be auto-renewal? Not a fan of this at all.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,740
    Location:
    UK
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Unfortunately, I am not interested in opting out of auto-renewal. If I choose to buy a subscription to a program for 12 months that is all I want, unless I opt into auto-renewal.

    ... But that's just me. Each to their own of course.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,740
    Location:
    UK
    Just passing on info, that's all :)
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    As always, much appreciated. :thumb:
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,379
    Location:
    Hawaii
    1- I bought license via PayPal. There was no "auto renewal" action passed to PayPal. Therefore, OSA cannot be auto-renewed in my case, can it?

    2- OSA's Settings provide no option to load or to NOT load OSA at start-up. I do not want ANY software to load at start-up except when I so specify. For certain reasons, I do not use security apps when I am working offline. By using Autoruns, I have removed OSA's auto-load at startup. I tested it. It works. I can now use OSA "on-demand" only when I am online or as otherwise needed. However, I think an option to load/not-load at startup, in OSA's settings, might be warranted for some users. Or maybe I'm the only weird-o, in which case I already fixed it to my preferences by using Autoruns.

    3- OSA's Settings provide an opt-in for auto installation of updates. I do not want auto installation of any app. I request an additional option be added whereby the user can request merely to be notified of each update so that user can decide when to download & install each such update.
     
  10. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,134
    Location:
    Italy
    @Tarnak @plat1098 @Krusty

    Thank you a lot for the purchase, you can manage orders and subscriptions (e.g cancel a subscription or update payment details) via this link:
    https://osarmor.onfastspring.com/account

    Enter your email used during the purchase, you will receive a link to manage your orders and subscriptions.

    You can find more details about billing in the faqs page (if some Q&A is missing please let me know):
    https://www.osarmor.com/faqs/

    - What happens if I do not use (activate) purchased licenses?
    They will expire normally after 1 year from when you made the purchase.

    - What happens if I cancel my subscription?
    If you cancel your subscription you will not be re-billed on the next charge. Your subscription (license key) will still be considered valid by our product until it will expire.

    - Will you notify me before the subscription will expire?
    Yes you will receive an email 2 weeks and 1 week before subscription expires.

    We use auto-renewal because it is more common and all is automatic (easier for customers and businesses), you can manually cancel the subscription at anytime.

    To use a custom wav just overwrite loon.wav file located here:
    C:\Program Files\NoVirusThanks\OSArmorDevSvc\

    PS: We changed it to a more non-jungle sound =)

    @bellgamin

    Thank you a lot for the purchase, here are answers to your questions:

    1- PayPal should have created a recurring payment / automatic billing for FastSpring (our payment provider), this link may be useful:
    https://www.paypal.com/li/smarthelp...ling-agreement-i-have-with-a-merchant-faq1067

    2- Due to the nature of OSA to add real-time protection in the system, we choosed to remove the option to auto-start OSA (in the very first version 1.0 I think it was present) and made it mandatory by default (better also in terms of security). A possible solution for your use-case would be to set OSA in Passive Logging so it will only log blocked events without actually blocking them (OSA uses very low memory and CPU that you would not even notice it loaded at startup).

    3- Yes, the option to only "notify user when a new version is available" will be added in the next version.

    We will also notify all customers and newsletter-users via email when there is an update.

    @Trooper

    Will make a video about remote management features in a few days. They are useful to manage/change/update OSA custom block rules, exclusions and settings from a single location (particularly useful for enterprises to simplificate the management of OSA installed in multiple computers). If you have any specific question don't hesitate to ask.
     
  11. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,595
    I bought a personal license a couple of minutes ago. Thanks for the Wilders coupon, Andreas.:)
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Uninstalled v1.4.3 an have v1.5 running on two Win 10 instances. Looking good so far.

    Will buy coupon :thumb: licenses shortly, second also discounted.
     
  13. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,134
    Location:
    Italy
    @Buddel @paulderdash

    Awesome, thanks for the purchase =)

    We're working on adding support to use variables like %MSISIGNER% to match signer of a MSI file and %MSIPATH% to match MSI file path, so users can write custom block rules and exclusion rules by matching these new MSI-specific variables (e.g: you can block any MSI file, except the ones signed by a defined list of signers of your choice or you can allow MSI executions only in specific folder and signed by only specific vendors). We plan on adding also option to block execution of unsigned MSI files in Configurator -> Advanced tab.

    If you guys have other requirements or ideas, just share them.
     
  14. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Thank you Andreas....you the man!!
     
  15. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,595
  16. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,310
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    After installing V1.5 i was logged out of all my email, google and social accounts. My chrome autofill did not work for username and passwords. After i turned sync back on for chrome and signed into Gmail, all seem to be back to normal.
     
  17. matra

    matra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    I have reinstalled version 1.50 on Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit. No Protection is always displayed and I cannot change this. When I want to activate the license and click on License, no window for input opens.
    Already uninstalled and re-installed with the same result.
    Does somebody has any idea
     
  18. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,134
    Location:
    Italy
    @Dragon1952

    Did that happened after you installed OSA or after you activated your license?

    @matra

    If protection remains disabled after you change it via system tray icon, then it means OSADevSvc (service) is not running.

    If you click on Help->License Status and nothing happens, it means OSADevSvc (service) is not running or that NVTActivator.exe was blocked from running, example:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...layer-of-defense.398859/page-121#post-2955796

    Please follow these rules:

    Make sure your current antivirus/HIPS/security software is not blocking executables and dlls located here:

    C:\Program Files\NoVirusThanks\OSArmorDevSvc\
    C:\Program Files (x86)\NoVirusThanks\NVT License Manager\

    Then try to restart the PC and then re-install OSA if problem persists.

    Important is that NVTLicenseManager (service) and OSADevSvc (service) are running.

    // EDIT

    Added other questions & answers in the FAQs page:
    https://www.osarmor.com/faqs/

     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2020
  19. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    @ novirusthanks
    How are you getting on with blocking ransomware / blockers like Petya and others?
     
  20. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    I am having very similar issue and when I do a fresh install I have access to adding the code
    but does not take....Windows 10 64bit..no VPN or proxy blocking
     
  21. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Tried downloading exe off of website and wont download??
     
  22. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    As a new user, I purchased yesterday (thanks for the coupon!) and installed 1.5 with no problems. I had to uncheck the anti-exploit for MS Edge as it was rejecting an extension (Roboform) installed from MS store.
    As I am new, I am only using the default protections for now.
     
  23. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    downloaded off personal option
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2020
  24. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,595
    Check your inbox, Mr. G.
     
  25. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    OS.png

    this what i get when entering key Andreas
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.