NOD32 ver 2.7 On VISTA not Updating

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by asslan, Feb 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asslan

    asslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I have installed Nod32 ver 2.7 64bit on VISTA Bis. But the update does not work. I have tried Automatic and specific servers. But the Program start and Says updat.ver and stuck there, then disconnect with error download intruppted. I have uninstalled and reinstalled, but it does not work.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi asslan, welcome to Wilders.

    Please go to the NOD32 Control Centre> System Tools> Information> Copy to clipboard and then paste the results here.

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • Copy.jpg
      Copy.jpg
      File size:
      80.2 KB
      Views:
      2,344
  3. Genghis Khan

    Genghis Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Ulan Bator
    You can try proxy.
     
  4. asslan

    asslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    NOD32 antivirus system information
    Virus signature database version: 1869 (20061116)
    Dated: éåí*çîéùé 16 ðåáîáø 2006
    Virus signature database build: 8407

    Information on other scanner support parts
    Advanced heuristics module version: 1.040 (20061027)
    Advanced heuristics module build: 1126
    Internet filter version: 1.002 (2004070:cool:
    Internet filter build: 1013
    Archive support module version: 1.050 (20060926)
    Archive support module build version: 1176

    Information about installed components
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Base
    Version: 2.70.16
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Internet support
    Version: 2.70.16
    NOD32 for Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Standard component
    Version: 2.70.16

    Operating system information
    Platform: Windows Vista (TM) Business
    Version: 6.0.6000
    Version of common control components: 5.82.6000
    RAM: 2046 MB
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (3000 MHz)
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please check that the following files exist (these are XP instructions, Vista will be slightly different):

    C Drive> Windows> Temp

    C Drive> Documents and Settings> (User Name) XXXXXX> Local Settings> Temp

    Do the "Temp and TMP" folders exist in "Environmental Variables" when you right click on My Computer as per the screenshots found in this link? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=764434#post764434

    When you then navigate to the folders mentioned in "Environmental Variables" are they actually there?

    Sometimes the only method is to delete and reinstall the Temp folders.



    After the above, please check the following:

    NOD32 Control Centre> Update> Setup> Server is set as "Choose Automatically".

    Click on Advanced and make sure LAN is set for Broadband ADSL/Cable or Dialup is set for Wireless Broadband, Dialup and Satellite connections.

    Check Proxy Server Setup> setup to make sure there isn't a tick in there (99.99% of people do not use a proxy).

    Check that LAN servers connection> Setup is set to System Account (default).

    Beyond this NOD32 will update unless a firewall is blocking the Internet connection for NOD32.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. asslan

    asslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I have verified all of your instructions and they are correct. the environment variables and thire relevent folders exist and accessable. however the temp folder in VISTA is in differnet location. It is at:

    users\khalil\AppData\Local\Temp

    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp


    I have Also disabled the firwall and windows defender with no help/
    My nod32 on another machine with XP Pro on the same router works fins.


    My Log looks like this

    Time Module Event User
    2/20/2007 22:15:20 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/20/2007 0:32:17 AM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/20/2007 0:09:31 AM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/19/2007 23:29:37 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/19/2007 21:24:40 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/18/2007 23:56:39 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
    2/18/2007 23:22:11 PM Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure) Khalil-Vista\Khalil
    2/18/2007 23:08:33 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.) Khalil-Vista\Khalil
    2/18/2007 22:54:27 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.) Khalil-Vista\Khalil
    2/18/2007 22:21:23 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.) Khalil-Vista\Khalil
    2/18/2007 22:06:23 PM Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.) Khalil-Vista\Khalil
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It looks like a connection drop-out. If you are using wi-fi, perhaps the signal gets poor intermittenly.
     
  8. asslan

    asslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    No I am not using HI-Fi wire it is Wired ADSL 1.5m with a router. On my router, At home, I have connected 4 other PCs. All of them have XP Pro Spk2and nod32, and I have no problem with updating. On this computer that has the problem, I have 2 operating systems with dual boot, one is XP Pro spk2 and the other is VISTA Bus. I have no problem updating the XP Pro version on the same computer, the problem is with the VISTA. I have 2 different licence one for each operating system.

    It look like I am going to switch to different Antivirus programo_O?

    I have contacted the ESET help, but I did not get any answers...
     
  9. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    You could try the uninstall, remove ESET folder, then reinstall the latest version (2.70.32) from here (link).

    Any other connection problems with vista and your router? Latest drivers for your LAN connection?

    I'm running Vista Business as well, and although NOD32 updates just fine on my Wireless Lan, network support feels a bit unstable with the current drivers.
     
  10. asslan

    asslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I have uninstalled and removed the folder, even searched the registry for any leftover from eset and nod32. I have downloaded the latest vergion from eset and installed, but it did not help. I am experinced tech man, and I have installed nod32 on many VISTA machines and never had this problem. My computer works fine with the router, I have tried automatic IP and DNS, and Also Manually entered the IP and DNS. It did not help. Iam working with internet daily downloadin, uploading with no problem.

    Well ................................. I will find the problem I am not going to give up.

    :(
     
  11. bemis

    bemis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    same issue for me - virgin vista build, NOD32 2.70.32 trial, internet works fine, firewall off

    if you hit the update button:
    hangs at 21 KB OR
    says "no updates necessary"

    XP pro machine on same router updates fine, already switched ports etc.

    definitions

    anymore ideas?



    MORE INFO:

    Trial version
    Days left: 30

    NOD32 antivirus system information
    Virus signature database version: 2047 (2007020:cool:
    Dated: Thursday, February 08, 2007
    Virus signature database build: 9030

    Information on other scanner support parts
    Advanced heuristics module version: 1.050 (20070203)
    Advanced heuristics module build: 1142
    Internet filter version: 1.002 (2004070:cool:
    Internet filter build: 1013
    Archive support module version: 1.052 (20070115)
    Archive support module build version: 1179

    Information about installed components
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Base
    Version: 2.70.32
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Internet support
    Version: 2.70.32
    NOD32 for Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Standard component
    Version: 2.70.32

    Operating system information
    Platform: Windows Vista (TM) Business
    Version: 6.0.6000
    Version of common control components: 5.82.6000
    RAM: 1022 MB
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz (2128 MHz)
     
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    First Windows Firewall should be ON / enabled !

    Then , would you please try to press the Update now a few times

    Can you also try the suggestions above / Blackspear's post
     
  13. bemis

    bemis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    it doesn't mater if the firewall's on or off really. Same behavior.

    If I hit update a few times then, as I said, it'll start to download from one or another server and hang at 21 KB and time out after a few minutes (?)
    OR
    it'll say no update necessary even though my defs are 2047

    I reinstalled but didn't delete the temps - I can do that later but I think I'll have the same luck as my predecessor

    I'll check the system account etc but it's a very standard config - no proxy or anything PLUS it is getting out but choking so it looks like a bug, right?
     
  14. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I meant that the firewall must be ON in order to have protection against intrusions.


    Please , try everything suggested inclucing the TMP/TEMP
     
  15. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Hi!

    Just installed Vista Ultimate and NOD trial. I had the same problem.

    I added nodkernel.exe (or summit) as allowed program through Windows firewall. Update is working now.

    That should be automatically done by NOD imo.

    Cheers,

    Technic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.